Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Giunta Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 983 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2012

You are not alone. My child has has a substitute teachers in 3 of her 6 classes for the whole year so far. it is a mess. and you do not seem to have a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

I recommend every parent to send there child to giunta because it's diverse and the teacher's do care about your child education,it's the kids choice if they want to be anything or even be successful if you hangout with the kids that get in trouble you will be face with the consequince you are the company you keep,i should know because i use to go to giunta half of 7th and 8th grade year 2009-2010 the best year at gms lol, but anyways at this age you should know right from wrong i'm lucky that i was well known only got in one fight but i'm still cool with the dude today but overall if you stay out of drama middle school will be great at any school i wish i could back to middle school.


Posted February 24, 2011

Apparently, this school is known for it's issues with bullying. Also, I was told by another faculty member from Riverview high that they always receive poorly written up IEPs for incoming students. As a parent, I was not impressed with this school at all. I was even told that my son no longer needed speech & languages services. His high school was appalled. Schools today are failing miserably as it is. My son's reading level actually DROPPED.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

i will say this is the worst school I've ever been to, but all my teachers this year are fantastic.! their fun and strict, and we always finish our work . yea, there fights but the quality of the school has been improving this year. if your kid says someone else got them into a fight, or got them a referal, they were hangin out with the wrong people, who stand out like sore thumbs, so u can easily avoid them. trust me, ive done iit for 2 years now.:)


Posted January 6, 2011

All that yall be doing for what ? Giunta is a great school . But don't come but here and thin kyou all that ... that how stuff happens . And fights what school doesnt have fight ! people make it seem like you walk in and you get CUSSED OUT AND JUMPED ! no not at all i lovee Giunta and i wouldnt trade it for nothingg ! YOU AINT DOING NOTHING IF YOU DONT GOT THEM HATINGGG


Posted April 8, 2010

I am not happy with Guinta. Teachers pick on certain students for no reason. I know my son is one of them. You can never get ahold of the principal and messages are not returned. Rules are not enforced. (Just look at all the boys with their pants down below their butt showing off their boxers. Seriously! What happened to the rule of having a belt?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

There is nothing wrong with the school so wat if there are fights fights happen at every school you go to I am in 6 grade. That is way I think
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

This school has some serious issues. The kids are so disrespectful and teachers do nothing about it. Its rough but the most important thing is the teachers lack of diseplene
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2009

There are always going to be fights at every niddle school and any school at all Giunta I will admit is rough and there are fights but if your children know how to stay away from trouble then you should be fine. My daughter was attending Giunta and she had a very good experience and there was never serious trouble and she knew how to just walk away and she enjoyed the relationships she had with her teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

im not impressed of guinta middle school.There are way to many fights and bullying.My child has been going there for a about a month now and i dont know if i want him going there anymore.The students are very disrespectful to the teachers and fellow classmates.And nothing is done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My child is in his 3rd year at Guinta and the violence and bullying continues. When my son complained to the assistant principals about the bully incident, nothing was done. This past week their were serveral fights. The same students continue to get into trouble and the administration continues to protect the 'troubled' students. They do not value nor care about the safety of the children who are 'really' trying to get a good education. I am going to pull my child out of Guinta this week. Enough is Enough! I am not going to wait until my child ends up in a body bag in order for this school to address the discipline problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

My child has attended Giunta for 3 years. The first year was decent in 2006, but mid-way through 7th grade the school began to decline. The disrespect for authority and violence has swiftly increased with NO increase in disciplinary action by the administration to combat this. My child constantly remarks of distractions in the classes and weekly fights on campus. As a parent I have been extemely displeased with several of the teachers/admin ability to follow through after personal meetings, and the extreme lack of response to emails and voicemails. There is not much parental involvement here, but I am starting to see this is due to the lack of follow through by the teachers and administration when parents do reach out and volunteer their time. I personally filled out several vol. apps this year and have yet to be contacted. However, there are a few GREAT teachers here treading water.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

This is the second yr there for both of my sons and this 2nd yr for some reason has been a bit of a problem for me. I am worried about my kids safety. There have been multilple fights in the school and a teacher actually got hit during a fight. another issue is the dress code. It is not being enforced as it should be. Pants sagging, mini skirts are way to short and I was not aware that they can wear flip flops. My son states he can't focus in class because of the rude talking during class or the fighting occuring every other day. Don't know what is happening in the school but administration needs to step it up!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Giunta is an amazing school. Im an 8th grader there and the teachers are hard working and fun, there have a great connection to their students. Most of the teachers are fun to talk too when your done with work but there are 2 i can think of that dont belong there because they are mean, uncooperative and really quite lazy. The rest of the teachers have a really good understanding of the students and know just how hard to push us to do our best. I would like to thank my teachers for being awesome mr. Harada, coach rohdus, ms. Shroeder, ms. Wylie and ms. Colburne. I would like to give even more thanks to ms. Wylie who hasnt giving up on me even tho i still dont do my homework as often as i should
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Very dissatisfied with the school. Teachers are great, administration is not. Discipline is not enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

i love this school it is aw they have sports like track,basketball,soccer,vollyball,flag football giunta idol! GOOOOOOO GIUNTA GIANTS
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

I love this school and it's only been about 5 weeks!!!!!! There of cource are some bad things that have happened which includes the fights (about 4 so far) and the bathrooms need some cleaning up but, The good things we have started our chocolate sell, going to natures classroom tomorrow, and having are wheel classes (which lets you try out a subject (band, chorus, cooking, orchestra, PE, etc.) this is one of the coolest schools!!!!! The best teachers of 6th grade (in my opinion): Mrs.Davis and Mr.White rule!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

This is my daughter's second year at Giunta Middle School. She had a great year there last year, and so far this year is on track to be just as great. All of her teachers have been very friendly and communicative. If I ever have a question, I can send an email directly to the teacher, and it is usually answered the same day, and sometimes even within the same hour. The office staff and principals have been wonderful and very helpful. Also, most of the teachers post the homework on the school website, which is very helpful if you want to check to see if your child is doing all of their homework or if they were absent and need to see what they missed. There are sports programs offered for the students to participate in, and a wonderful music program, too. I highly recomment this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

great school and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

Giunta Middle School is an average school overall. The teachers are dedicated to preparing the students for their future. The administrators are top-notch and do everything possible to provide safety and sheltering of the students. However, some students have discipline problems and give the teachers and other students a difficult time. The school sports are okay. The track team is outstanding but there is no softball or baseball team. Other then those few mishaps, I am glad to say Giunta was where I spent my 7th and 8th grade years.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

357 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

356 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

373 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
48%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 39%
Black 36%
White 21%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 179%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 214%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%67%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MICHAEL BOBO
Fax number
  • (813) 740-4892

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4202 South Falkenburg Road
Riverview, FL 33578
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 740-4888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL



Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT