Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spoto High School

Public | 9-12 | 1354 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2014

I go here class of 2015! the school is fine. yes there are fights periodically just like other schools. a lot of bad reviws from the parents are because those parents are over protective and are babying there children. we have great organizations like TBK (to be kind) SGA, reading club, and tons of sports. we always welcome new kids because since its a small school everybody knows everybody. I'm not going to beat around the bush there is a "bad crowd" so to speak. but everyone sticks up for everyone. the school is find and we are not huge. teachers come and go because thanks to the school they get great offers for higher positions. we welcome all and don't be afraid to come to the school because some parents are afraid of their kid seeing the truth of the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2014

Spoto high school is one of the schools I would want to recommend to someone else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2014

wat up i go to spoto im on the football team im da only and best asian on da team but uhh the school its straight i had alot of fun coming here when i thought i wouldnt like it coming from east bay but is cool i dont understand why all these people are complaining i mean i had fun and dont think im some delinquent i have a 3.6 gpa as of right now going into sophmore year so yea my review is legit and dont judge a school because of the area i mean its fun and i didnt worry and if your great at sports get on football coach cap would be glad to have newcomers have fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2013

My son attended Spoto from 9th - until graduation. There is a bad element at this school, just like every other high school in the county. If your student is involved in extracurricular activities and wants to learn, he/she wont have an issue. The Principal has this school under control and the teachers are very good. The comments about this school being in a "poorer area" are semi-correct. The school is located near Progress Village, but there are students of all socio-economic backgrounds attending this school. From Lake St. Charles, Bloomingdale Hills to Progress Village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

This school has its fights yes, but so does every other school in a poorer area. The teachers are amazing and caring and the programs offered are FREAKING AMAZING! The stuff you get to do here as a student is so liberating and challenging that none of the fights and fires matter. Its high school. Come on now. Get involved in the fashion program, band, ROTC, SGA or Theatre. You'll see what the hype is about!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2013

Spoto High School is an amazing school. Most of the students have positive attitudes and come to school everyday ready to learn. Our principal, Mr. Carr does an excellent job to make sure we are safe and that we are learning what we need to learn. In addition, academically this school is strong. The teachers here are awesome and know what they're doing. Because of their outstanding success I recieved high scores on all exams, EOC's, and FCAT Writes. To sum it up, at Spoto we believe in PRIDE. It's what keeps us pushing through. I take much pride in representing my school and I refuse to be sent anywhere else. Spoto is my home and I plan on riding out the rest of high school here. I am proud to be a Spartan!


Posted May 26, 2013

The school was suppose to be better than King. It is not, it is a regular Florida High school. They have fights and now they are afraid of what has gone on in the rest of the country. If a school gets shot up in another state Florida schools will have a lock down to make sure it does not happen here. Remind your children to watch what they say because it might be misinterpreted and you may find a cop at your door saying they are afraid. The only thing Spoto brags about is the ROTC so if your into the ROTC you will do fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

We transferred to the Brandon area for work and looked at a few schools before making a decision on Spoto. Yes, it is new and clean school, but there are many down sides to this school. We weren't informed that because of the location of our house, we would have to drive our child to school. This was after he had started and our house is only 7 miles away. It seems like they have a revolving door with teachers. My son had two substitute teachers for an extended time. One day he came home and said they had to color a tree in class. A tree??? This is high school! The biggest point is if you are choosing this school because it's more focused and your child wants to study film there is absolutely no chance of that if they haven't been going there since 9th grade and you better register early or your child will be stuck with a bunch of useless classes like agriculture and cooking classes where they only bake things and don't learn other aspects of cooking. The counselors or student advisers should be open and upfront with new parents and students instead of filling seats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

The schools campus is so beautiful and i am a student and a freshman the school is so nice , the teachers speak so clearly and are so nice the students are equally nice to and treat new students well , the upperclassmen don't really pay attention to any of the lower class men so there is a little crowd in lunch and you might not know where to sit but all schools are like that , plus there are barley any altercations , you just have to know who to hang out with and there aren't any real "clicks" but there are little groups of friends that hang out with each other daily , but aren't close minded. All in all Spoto High is a GREAT SCHOOL ! just keep your priorities straight :) But the dress code is a bit extreme i mean its Florida why cant we wear tank tops !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2011

".....This is by far the worse school ....when they are schedule....Alggebra teachers.....Thank God for military orders. --Submitted by a parent" No, Thank God your children arwen't home schooled.


Posted September 7, 2011

My son has only ben atending Spoto for a few weeks but is loving it. He is taking an AP class as a Freshaman, is in honors classes, ROTC, Swim Team and Wrestling Team. The school is only about half full and the opportunities are great. He was afraid to go at first after all the negative information we had heard, but he jumps out of bed every morning excited about school. The also just opened a Pharmacy tech Magnet School as well as a Film and Fashion Design Magnet School here so there are even more specialized opportunities for the kids. My kid does not see the fights and stuff that others have reported so I guess he knows who to hang out with! The teachers, Principal and Guidance Counselor have all been responsive any time we have had questions or concerns
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

We moved here during the 2009-2010 school year. This past year my children attended Spoto. This is by far the worse school I have ever seen. yes they have a nice Clean building but that is about it. Lucky that my children had a solid foundation in school in North Carolina. The buses dont come when they are schedule. The constant rotation of teachers is Extremly high. When the principle retires in the middle of the school year that states alot. I never know from day to day which teacher my children have. In English they had 3 different teachers, my daughter had 3 different Alggebra teachers. 3 differnt reading teachers. I am a parent that checks Edline at a minimum of 2 to 3 times a day. I ave a email trail of the lack of interest the teachers have. The amount of fights are so scary, that i find myslef texting my children throughout the day or just driving up to the school to make sure they are okay. the kids are setting fires to the bathrooms, fighting during games. had we known then what we know now our children would not be in Spoto. Thank God for military orders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

I am not yet able to review Spoto High School, Almost everyone I talk to says my son should NOT go But I am unable to have him go to another school which is preposterus....As I would provide adequate transportaion! What reason could there be for this.. could it possibly be to get more kids from a more affluent background? Or were the FCAT test scores just no up to par?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

I've been going to Spoto High School from my freshman year all the way to my year (Class of 2011!!) and it's not a bad school. The teachers are great and they will help you with every problem you have. Sure it may irk you or annoy you but that is high school. Also, it's true what they say, it depends on who your child spends their time with. I have great friends and I turned fine and I grew up in poverty. This school isn't bad at all. (side note: For other students attending Spoto, ignore the immature things that happen like planking -_-)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

i've been attending spoto for my sophmore and junior year and i have to say, its not as bad as i perceived it to be. i thought i wasnt going to survive but im a-okay so far and im not worried for my future. every highschool has its problems with pregnancy, fighting, and drugs; so spoto is no different from any other highschool. it truly just depends on who your child associates with and how they manage their school work and personal life. the staff are great. i've butted heads with a couple of them but it doesnt hinder the fact that they are compassionate about their students. spoto offers a great diversity of students and offer ample opprotunities to be their best. spoto wasn't doing so well for awhile but their changing their bad ways and i see great things to come for this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2011

My daughter is currently in her sophmore year at Spoto. Basically, I hate this school. From year one she's had none stop bullying. I've talked with the principals but realize that it's only so much they can do being that it's so many occurances. Next year I may just move so that she won't have to attend this school...if you can call it that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

I love Spoto. I did all this research before I started going there & I thought it was going to be horrible, turns out I like it more than my old school. It just depends on the type of kids your children hang around if they'll get in trouble. If you don't let people influence you and you stay away from all the bad kids you'll be fine. Also, there WILL be bad kids at every school, there's always at least one. I love the teachers I got :) My 8th grade fcat was like a 2 and I'm getting 5s thanks to my English teacher :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2010

worst school ever and they just keep getting worse. beware of all the school violence
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

i currently attend this school and it is an ok school. people say it is ghetto but it really isn't. i just wish that spoto wasn't so weird with the way they work. other then that they are ok..
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

I attend Spoto High and will graduate in 2011. Personally, I love this school. My peers are all diverse and accepting, the teachers are cordial and involved, and Mr. T is by far an outstanding principal.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

309 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
43%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

295 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
60%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

330 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 37%
Black 35%
White 20%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 166%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 212%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%67%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PHILLIP CARR
Fax number
  • (813) 672-5423

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8538 Eagle Palm Drive
Riverview, FL 33578
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 672-5405

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL


Pivot Charter School
Riverview, FL


Riverview High School
Riverview, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT