Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Riverview, FL

3 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


52 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Spoto High School 4

Posted September 26, 2014
- a community member
The school is small yes comparing to transferring from Tampa Bay Tech. The teachers & adminstration actually care and are involved and hands on. Everyone knows everyone. Yes there is a bad crowd but its up to the child to distant themselves from negativity. Those who are freshmens have to learn to adjust to being in a more mature world & become less depenent on the parent to help get things done. As long as you focus on the grades and get involved with knowing other classmates that you dont know or join a club like TBK(To Be Kind), sport or etc. You will be okay . I have been to three different highschools. And Spoto is the only one who has made me fill comfortable to be at as a student academic and social wise.

Spoto High School 3

Posted September 13, 2014
- a student
I go here class of 2015! the school is fine. yes there are fights periodically just like other schools. a lot of bad reviws from the parents are because those parents are over protective and are babying there children. we have great organizations like TBK (to be kind) SGA, reading club, and tons of sports. we always welcome new kids because since its a small school everybody knows everybody. I'm not going to beat around the bush there is a "bad crowd" so to speak. but everyone sticks up for everyone. the school is find and we are not huge. teachers come and go because thanks to the school they get great offers for higher positions. we welcome all and don't be afraid to come to the school because some parents are afraid of their kid seeing the truth of the world.


Spoto High School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a student
Spoto high school is one of the schools I would want to recommend to someone else.

Spoto High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a student
wat up i go to spoto im on the football team im da only and best asian on da team but uhh the school its straight i had alot of fun coming here when i thought i wouldnt like it coming from east bay but is cool i dont understand why all these people are complaining i mean i had fun and dont think im some delinquent i have a 3.6 gpa as of right now going into sophmore year so yea my review is legit and dont judge a school because of the area i mean its fun and i didnt worry and if your great at sports get on football coach cap would be glad to have newcomers have fun

Spoto High School 3

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Spoto from 9th - until graduation. There is a bad element at this school, just like every other high school in the county. If your student is involved in extracurricular activities and wants to learn, he/she wont have an issue. The Principal has this school under control and the teachers are very good. The comments about this school being in a "poorer area" are semi-correct. The school is located near Progress Village, but there are students of all socio-economic backgrounds attending this school. From Lake St. Charles, Bloomingdale Hills to Progress Village.


Spoto High School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a student
This school has its fights yes, but so does every other school in a poorer area. The teachers are amazing and caring and the programs offered are FREAKING AMAZING! The stuff you get to do here as a student is so liberating and challenging that none of the fights and fires matter. Its high school. Come on now. Get involved in the fashion program, band, ROTC, SGA or Theatre. You'll see what the hype is about!

Spoto High School 5

Posted June 14, 2013
- a community member
Spoto High School is an amazing school. Most of the students have positive attitudes and come to school everyday ready to learn. Our principal, Mr. Carr does an excellent job to make sure we are safe and that we are learning what we need to learn. In addition, academically this school is strong. The teachers here are awesome and know what they're doing. Because of their outstanding success I recieved high scores on all exams, EOC's, and FCAT Writes. To sum it up, at Spoto we believe in PRIDE. It's what keeps us pushing through. I take much pride in representing my school and I refuse to be sent anywhere else. Spoto is my home and I plan on riding out the rest of high school here. I am proud to be a Spartan!

Spoto High School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
The school was suppose to be better than King. It is not, it is a regular Florida High school. They have fights and now they are afraid of what has gone on in the rest of the country. If a school gets shot up in another state Florida schools will have a lock down to make sure it does not happen here. Remind your children to watch what they say because it might be misinterpreted and you may find a cop at your door saying they are afraid. The only thing Spoto brags about is the ROTC so if your into the ROTC you will do fantastic.


Spoto High School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
We transferred to the Brandon area for work and looked at a few schools before making a decision on Spoto. Yes, it is new and clean school, but there are many down sides to this school. We weren't informed that because of the location of our house, we would have to drive our child to school. This was after he had started and our house is only 7 miles away. It seems like they have a revolving door with teachers. My son had two substitute teachers for an extended time. One day he came home and said they had to color a tree in class. A tree??? This is high school! The biggest point is if you are choosing this school because it's more focused and your child wants to study film there is absolutely no chance of that if they haven't been going there since 9th grade and you better register early or your child will be stuck with a bunch of useless classes like agriculture and cooking classes where they only bake things and don't learn other aspects of cooking. The counselors or student advisers should be open and upfront with new parents and students instead of filling seats.

Spoto High School 5

Posted August 25, 2012
- a student
The schools campus is so beautiful and i am a student and a freshman the school is so nice , the teachers speak so clearly and are so nice the students are equally nice to and treat new students well , the upperclassmen don't really pay attention to any of the lower class men so there is a little crowd in lunch and you might not know where to sit but all schools are like that , plus there are barley any altercations , you just have to know who to hang out with and there aren't any real "clicks" but there are little groups of friends that hang out with each other daily , but aren't close minded. All in all Spoto High is a GREAT SCHOOL ! just keep your priorities straight :) But the dress code is a bit extreme i mean its Florida why cant we wear tank tops !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spoto High School
8538 Eagle Palm Drive, Riverview, FL  33578
(813) 672-5405
Last modified Spoto High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Spoto High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top