Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,449 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 96 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spoto High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
Not really, teachers are there to go thru the motion and collect a paycheck. Even though they do not deserve one.

Spoto High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
Maybe one teacher care the rest are just looking for a paycheck. Or they are bragging about the ROTC program.


Spoto High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
Don't really know since the teacher do not post grades in a timely fashion. usually a month behind.

Spoto High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
We only support the ROTC and football team. If you ADD good luck and sit in the back of the class. Adult school will take care of you.

Spoto High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
They want the child to grow up and be adults. They do not foster a caring environment.


Spoto High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 20, 2016
- a parent
The children are bullied. If a substitute is there they do not look at a child's 504 plan they just suspend the child and work it out later. If a child is failing let them fail and the adult school will fix it later. If an electronic item was stolen, they should not have brought the item in the first place and we are too busy to check on the item and see if we can find the student who stole it.

Spoto High School 5

Posted July 09, 2016
- a community member
Great school down the road from where we live. Definitely recommend it to anyone looking for new location.

Spoto High School 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
My daughter and I loves this school she's also a honor roll student. I highly recommend it!!


Spoto High School 1

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
1. The phone goes unanswered for hours. Last week I called at least 10 times student affairs and I had to call to guidance 5x's to transfer me to student affair. 2. The teachers or administration don't answer their emails. I am only trying to get in touch with them to try and get help for my who is struggling and need help in a class. I literately have to take off work and come in the office and hope I will get someone to talk to. It is the worst school in Hillsborough county. Spoto doesn't care at all about education. They only care about discipline. Every time I come up to the school there are at 5 kids in the office that are in some kind of trouble. They don't even have an updated list for their staff on their website. Don't send your child here if you want them to have a decent education.

Spoto High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
The entire guidance department is wonderful and helpful. The sad part is they can't make teachers do their jobs.

Nearby schools

Spoto High School
8538 Eagle Palm Drive, Riverview, FL  33578
(813) 672-5405
Last modified Spoto High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top