Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,449 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spoto High School 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
My daughter and I loves this school she's also a honor roll student. I highly recommend it!!

Spoto High School 1

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
1. The phone goes unanswered for hours. Last week I called at least 10 times student affairs and I had to call to guidance 5x's to transfer me to student affair. 2. The teachers or administration don't answer their emails. I am only trying to get in touch with them to try and get help for my who is struggling and need help in a class. I literately have to take off work and come in the office and hope I will get someone to talk to. It is the worst school in Hillsborough county. Spoto doesn't care at all about education. They only care about discipline. Every time I come up to the school there are at 5 kids in the office that are in some kind of trouble. They don't even have an updated list for their staff on their website. Don't send your child here if you want them to have a decent education.


Spoto High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
The entire guidance department is wonderful and helpful. The sad part is they can't make teachers do their jobs.

Spoto High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
They need to give extra work if needed to help a child to understand their school work

Spoto High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
They aren't professional. The parent's should be able to talk to teachers and administration concerning their child's education.


Spoto High School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
My step son went here... The staff is amazing! Job well done ... I would recommend this school ...

Spoto High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
This school has done so much changing ... Its amazing.. Job well done Spoto !

Spoto High School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
My son goes to USF ! Thanks to the staff at spoto.. Kisses Job well done!


Spoto High School 4

Posted September 26, 2014
- a community member
The school is small yes comparing to transferring from Tampa Bay Tech. The teachers & adminstration actually care and are involved and hands on. Everyone knows everyone. Yes there is a bad crowd but its up to the child to distant themselves from negativity. Those who are freshmens have to learn to adjust to being in a more mature world & become less depenent on the parent to help get things done. As long as you focus on the grades and get involved with knowing other classmates that you dont know or join a club like TBK(To Be Kind), sport or etc. You will be okay . I have been to three different highschools. And Spoto is the only one who has made me fill comfortable to be at as a student academic and social wise.

Spoto High School 3

Posted September 13, 2014
- a student
I go here class of 2015! the school is fine. yes there are fights periodically just like other schools. a lot of bad reviws from the parents are because those parents are over protective and are babying there children. we have great organizations like TBK (to be kind) SGA, reading club, and tons of sports. we always welcome new kids because since its a small school everybody knows everybody. I'm not going to beat around the bush there is a "bad crowd" so to speak. but everyone sticks up for everyone. the school is find and we are not huge. teachers come and go because thanks to the school they get great offers for higher positions. we welcome all and don't be afraid to come to the school because some parents are afraid of their kid seeing the truth of the world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spoto High School
8538 Eagle Palm Drive, Riverview, FL  33578
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (813) 672-5405
Last modified Spoto High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top