Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Riviera Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 839
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John F. Kennedy Middle School 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
JFK is the most horrible middle school that our son has attended. They believe in test scores to better their average in the school system for a better budget. They have a reading program done on a computer that is managed by the head reading coach (this reading coach, with genuine pride, informed me that due to this program, her son finally managed to pass the ASVAB after three tries. For those of you who don't know, that's the military entrance exam, in which you only need to score an 11 out of a 99 possible.) On a different note, Palm Beach Post wrote an article announcing the beginning of an African American History honors class at JFK, this being done only so the majority of black students could understand and grasp where they originated from. This is literally as reported in the PB Post news. The school, inadvertently, teaches racism by showing that there is a divide between whites and blacks. My son felt this on a daily basis. The last 4 months out of an entire school year was spent studying FCAT methods and questions so to improve overall test scores for the school itself. The school will not say that though, but that is what my son brought home on a daily basis.
2 people found this helpful

John F. Kennedy Middle School 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
I realy hated this school. Students dont barely learn anything, Teachers are trying their best to teach,but students just dont listen. Students get BULLIED, Alot of Fights, Low FCAT scores, and most important students in thier Gym period's get "JUMPED" by other students causing most of them to leave the school including Me. I was once a student of JFK, students thier would always bully me for things I would do,and when i change in the lockerooms, They would always jump me for no reason.The only fun i had was when we went to orlando for a feild trip. Thats why I rate this school a 1.


John F. Kennedy Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
John F. Kennedy is a very good school a good learning facility for young minds... I approve this statement

John F. Kennedy Middle School 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
Worse school ever. The students do no respect teachers or staff members. The bell schedule is messed up. It is a dumping ground for new teachers that do no want to be at the school. Kids will disrupted learning and nothing will be done.

John F. Kennedy Middle School 5

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
Starting in 2010 JFK began their IB program accreditation that will enable children of PBC schools to focus on an international education and on giving back to the community through volunteer work. The new staff and teachers are dedicated and they run a very tight ship - with a great student to teacher ratio and a school that is only 3 years old.


John F. Kennedy Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2010
- a student
This school, like any other schools, will have some flaws. The children fight almost everyday and they think they're extremely 'grown'. So they have raging hormones that just distort their personality. BUT, also like any other schools, the majority of it is really good. I have made sooo many friends here and those are students that DO care about their future and DO care about their education. The teachers are also awesome!! You can really tell they care about the students and the success of them. As an honor roll student, I can tell that although this school has a bad reputation, you can tell that within almost every student, there is a spark of goodness and common sense in them that will change your perspective of this school. I recommend this school.

John F. Kennedy Middle School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
My husband & I appreciate jfk middle school, our older daughters attended & did very well now our youngest is attending...she's an honor roll student. The teachers & staff seem to really care about the students and their futures...it's a great school!

John F. Kennedy Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
This school is the best because all the teachers are great. They communicate with another to see what is wrong in each of your class and then do hands on activities with you or with the class. It is a biomedical enviornmental agriculture technology magent program.


John F. Kennedy Middle School
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
The child fight almost everyday, and some of the teachers are horrible.

John F. Kennedy Middle School 3

Posted September 04, 2008
- a teacher
What a difference a year makes. Any animosity that was bestowed upon Mrs. Crutchfield was obviosly unwarranted and that being the case, the Palm Beach Post needs to write a rebuttle. Honestly, it's hard to believe that it's the same school as years past. Yes, fights still occur, but nowhere near the capacity of prior years. In fact, you could easily say days go by without a fight. Furthermore, walking the halls of the school, students seem engaged in each classroom and are quiet as their teachers lecture. Also students are leaving and arriving on time and whatever confusion might have been before with the administration is now very confident and organized. I honestly feel that this school is going to become a true magnet school that leads to Suncoast High.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John F. Kennedy Middle School
1901 Avenue S, Riviera Beach, FL  33404
(561) 845-4500
Last modified John F. Kennedy Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John F. Kennedy Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top