Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is one of the best kept secret in Palm Beach County. As a business owner and parent I can see the passion the staff has for teaching the students that attend. Over the years I have followed and watched this school take what little they have and give back to the students and the surrounding community 210%+. The teachers and staff members really care and want these students t to be successful in years to come and that is evident through their interaction with the students and the individual time they take out of their day to make sure that happens. The children that attend this school are not a number, not just another student, they are recognized as individuals with goals and personality that make that student who they are. The staff at RBMA strives every day to do the best they can to educate and guide these students in direction to make those goals and dreams a reality for the students. There is a saying "You can not judge a book by it cover", I encourage any one who has a child that will be attending 9th grade in the upcoming years to not just look on line at this school, but go there. Talk to the staff, meet the students you will not be disappointed..

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
As a parent I can say that this school has NOT helped my child be college ready. As I was inquiring at another school, when I mentioned what school my child attended, the school official laughed and stated they have heard all of the horror stories of this school. They also warned me that students transferring from RBMA most likely will have a hard time "catching up". It is true that your child's progress is based on $ you donate. The most telling sign about this school was the open house we attended before the school year began. Two-thirds of the faculty was dressed as if they lived on the streets. What a horrible representation to our children. How do you expect a child to respect you when you dress like trash! This school is a joke. AP classes are a joke. Discipline is a joke! Don't call and talk to the principal, you won't get a word in edgewise. Your opinion does not count here.


Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 4

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
This is an awesome school. Two of my four kids attend, and the other two will be starting there next year. The teachers really care about the students and their learning. This is one of a handful of "A" rated high schools in Palm Beach County (which was acheived during a four day school week)! With their small student body (150 students), the teachers have smaller classroom sizes & go ABOVE & BEYOND to assist struggling students. Their PTO is active and hosts quite a few events thoughout the year (Spaghetti Dinner, Super Bowl Tailgate Party etc.) My son is in the SCUBA club, but they also have the ROV (underwater robotics) club, Fishing club, Garden Club, Computer club & the National Technical Honor Society (which my daughter is a member of). They also have a floating classroom (large boat which they take out often) & many trips they take to Peace River, Venice Beach, Sea World and even the Florida Keys! They have a bus schedule, that is strategically placed around the county to get our children to and from school safely. I am confident that my kids are learning what is necessary for them to attend a good university!

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 1

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
I would not send your child to this school!We made this terrible mistake and I would hate for other caring parents to do the same...Let's start with the Principal, Mrs. Hicks.My experience dealing with her was shocking to say the least.She speaks to you as if you are having a conversation on the "streets".She is not professional or consistant at all.She makes all the decisions regarding the student body.She makes choices based upon parents who give $ to the school.The teachers and very limited staff do not make any decisions pertaining the students. The students wear their pants hanging off their bottoms.The students are rough and the environment of the school is poor.The children eat lunch outside in the heat...This is not a good school, please do a surprise walk of the school during operating hours and you can make an informed decision yourself.I rate this school one star for a couple of good teachers.Also you will see random students hanging around the school while class is in session.They do not have any consistency with rules for the students.

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Unfortunately my family and I have had to move around a lot these past few years. RBMA is the first school my son has really felt comfortable at. He has made friends easily and has been excelling in academics. I highly recommend the school to anyone who does not want their child to just be another number out of the 1000s in the schools.


Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 4

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a student at RBMA. He has only been there for this year and has adjusted well. He seems to like his teachers and they seem to like him. He feels that his science classes are chalenging and likes his boat and yacht classes (he built a boat today and says it is quite the experience). If you are interested in marine related fields, this is the place for you.

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
This school is the WORST when it comes to education. The teachers are interested in what goes on outside the school, rather than teaching the children. Good luck with getting your kid into a fine college if they go to Riviera Beach Maritime Academy!!!!!

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
This school is great, has 147 students (2/10/2010) very small teacher/student ratio. Active PTO, great learning field trips, a 40' floating classroom, active teachers and staff. Great for children who want to learn about maritime studies and boat/yatch building and repair.


Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 0
no rating

Posted December 02, 2009
- a parent
If your child is truly interested in the Maritime Industry, I would consider enrolling them into the academy, as it's a great school if the child has those interests. I think some students enroll just so they don't have to attend the overcrowded public high schools, which disrupts the learning environment for those students who are interested in Maritime academics. The students do have the opportunities for fishing, boating, and club days, all which make learning enjoyable. Yes, to sending your child their if they have the interest, other non-interested students...need not apply. The school has small enrollment (150 approx.) of both boys and girls. Nice small class sizes, uniforms are worn, teachers all seem interested in education, and administration does a good job.

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
It is a fun school with many extra-cirricular activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy
251 West 11th Street, Riviera Beach, FL  33404
(561) 841-7600
Last modified Riviera Beach Maritime Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riviera Beach Maritime Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top