Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crestwood Community Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1045 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2010

My daughter goes to this school and its very wonderful! shes learning all kinds of matireal and the teachers are great! (exept a 7th grade civics teacher named Mr.Towne, the students say hes extremely mean and unfair and makes very rude remarks) other then that ,wonderful school:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

Considerd One Of the BEST if not THE BEST Middle School in PBC. Crestwood is a cluster school which means we meet the needs of both ESE and Gifted students as well as our other 6th, 7th & 8th graders. On a regular basis we have approx. 550 students on the A and A/B honor roll. We are an A rated school with the top scores in FCAT and other testing fields. The reason this is happening is because we LOVE our students and strive to help them succeed. We are proud to be a Crestwood Eagle!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2009

This school is a great school with a great program for your child. Crestwood teaches your child[ren] everything they need to know to get ready for high school and the teachers are very good teachers. My child loves the school and is involved in extra-curricular activities. Crestwood has great programs for honors and gifted students. Personally this is one of the best middle schools in Palm Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

police officers on campus all day, dirty walls, rude staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

It's too bad more people are not aware of this site, there would be a great deal of positive feedback about this wonderful school! Crestwood has an amazing hands-on principal that is there for both the students and parents. Her door is always open! This year the school revitalized the PTO and had increased parent/teacher involvement. This school received the highest FCAT writing score in all of Palm Beach County and has been an A school for the past 8 years. They have programs for both Gifted and ESE students and offer numerous activities to all Crestwood students. The teachers care about the students. No school will ever be considered 'Perfect', but this school is making it's way there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

Well i have many diffrent comments about the school. And what the parents are saying is not true what so ever. They dont make you pay for the planner. And when u pay for a planner it is because your child has lost it. Teachers dont give attitueds they try to help...And they listen so bad things dont happen in crestwood....It can get very boring i have to admit but they encourge you to work your hardest and when a student fails thay have a program called pass and this is when a student gets and f thay make your child come in an hour earlyer and retake what he/she was failing...And it helps alot and i want to add i have been in crestwood since 6th grade and i do enjoy being there i am in 8th grade and i am going to miss this school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2008

This school is okay. Im in th 8th grade and ive been there since 6th grade.The school gets boreing but has a lot of extra activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

Worst school my child has attened to date. They don't post homework on line. They make you buy a planner that the teachers don't use. Very unsatisfactory progress with children with disabilities. Teacher communication is very poor, they do not respond or when they do they have an attitude. Find a different school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

As a mom of two and a aunt of two that went to Crestwood, I would have given great reveiws 2 or 3 years ago but, in the last 2 years the school to me has taken a big drop in there program. I have not been happy with there safety programs, and as another mom had comented you usually don't find out or here from a teacher until your child is in great trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

I was told the overall school was an a+ school.I haven't been very impressed with them at all.I have sent notes to the school for teachers to contact me, to no avail. The only time they will call is when things get out of control.I wouldnt be this upset if there were more parent teacher phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

This school has many great teachers, but they are lost amidst the phoney hype and red tape. 'Problems' are swept under the rug. Children who need more attention are regarded as 'blemishes' and transferred out or left behind to fail. Only children who are actually getting an F as a grade are offered any help - by then it's usually too late. I am disappointed in this school and it doesn't deserve an A rating. Credit is given for things which have no bearing on education - but it sure makes there scores look better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

Good school, my son was in the gifted program and got a lot of hands-on teaching and left with a strong sense of self. There are multiple clubs, sports, etc. They could do with a bit more arts programs but overall I was satisfied with the extracurricular oppurtunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

Most of the teachers are this school were very good..the principle on the other hand leaves alot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I think this school is great. The principle is very involved daily with the kids, and the teachers are very enthusiastic with the kids. My daughter and son have done great in the school, and other kids I know that attend or have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

I think this school was very good. I had a great experience there. My teachers were the best and I had the oppurtunity to have them for all three years of middle school. The only thing I did not like was the fact that they do not provide an art class.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2004

Crestwood Middle school is an awesome school. My kids have great education there. The teachers are outstanding. Ms. Garcia is an excellent principle at Crestwood Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Im a student a Crestwood Middle school, This school gives a great educational program and all the teachers really do become your friend.... I would recomend this school to anyone who is wondering.


Posted August 4, 2003

my son went to crestwood for three years and he got a great education at this school. we highly recommend this school for anyone looking for a middle school to send thier child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

341 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

359 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

401 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 35%
Black 30%
Hispanic 28%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%73%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 20%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. STEPHANIE NANCE
Fax number
  • (561) 753-5035

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

64 Sparrow Drive
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 753-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Western Academy Charter School
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Hooked On Learning
West Palm Beach, FL


Ideal School
Royal Palm Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT