Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crestwood Community Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1045 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

We all have different experiences with this school, I have tried to forget some incidents at this school but in my opinion, the district should have more attention in the form of education there, there is a lack of attention and consideration by the directives, the information is unclear, educational assistance is limited, and the options are very confusing. I do not recommend this school to anybody, if you have the opportunity to help your child with other educational options is better to look for an alternative middle school, this school needs much improvement and understand that middle school is a difficult stage and changes, which children and parents need more help in understanding what "seems obvious to everyone" but maybe, does not apply to all cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

We are new to the school this year and after a little bit of a bumpy start I find the teachers and staff to be very approachable and helpful. They have started a program for children with Asperger's syndrome to help them learn the skills that they will need to become successful adults. This is a blessing because it is difficult to have a child who is extremely intelligent but cannot make friends or is so disorganized that it is detrimental to learning. They are helping my child to learn how to read expressions appropriately, how to make friends by learning the skills of two way conversation, how to not hurt others feelings with their blunt but honest thoughts (their brain has no filter). These are all skills that most people learn without thinking about it. I am grateful for any help they can share with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

What a difference a year makes. Crestwood has gone from an A school for over 10 years, now to a B, and in reality it is a C. It's only been a week since school started, but my child hasn't had one night of homework, compared to last year when all the good teachers (who have now left or retired) bombarded him with homework - which I consider a good thing. Thankfully we are moving out of the area so my 2 smaller children will not have to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

My child attends Crestwood and I have experienced good and bad within the school. Some Teachers like Ms La Flocke, Ms Jerado,, Mrs Finean, Ms Tanebaum are just wonderful and very caring towards their students. My Child had a good 7th grade year. Although one of her Teachers seem to preach more than teach. Her 6th year was very upsetting to her because she was blamed for something she did not do. I honestly felt it was a race issue and my child is white. It was unfair what happened to her especially when the person who did cause the problem took responsibility and was not given the punishment my child received. I felt like I had no rights and neither did my child. I have learned a very good lesson from this situation. My child has gone through all of her classes with Teachers commending her on her manners and behavior. Except for this one Teacher who made her afraid to go to school thinking she would be blamed again for something she did not do.. This Teacher will have to live with that! Otherwise, Crestwood is a good school and my child is learning. The big problem is some of the students behavior in class. They distract teaching and the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

I am a mother with two children attending Crestwood Middle School. My son is an 8th grader and in his third year at Crestwood, He has thrived in all areas, particularly academically as an honor student. My daughter just began her 6th grade year and is thrilled to be attending Crestwood with her brother. She already loves school and is off to a great start in all of her classes as well. Crestwood has a great Principal/leader in Dr. Nance, excellent teachers and staff for both of my children, and wonderful community involvement and support.. I am both proud and pleased that my children are receiving such a top-notch education from Crestwood We feel fortunate as a family that my children are attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

Mr.Gorman was the nicest and greatest 8 th grade math teacher ever!'he actually teaches u the material so that it is implanted in ur brain, not literally!and he is very funny and he treats u like family!hey mr.Gorman this is sydney rallo from 1st hour in 2011-2012


Posted August 26, 2012

My daughter attended this school from 2002-2005 and it was horrible. Kids would be sitting on cars, making out . . . Just 8 years later and it has been a complete turn-around - for the better! My son now attends and is in AP/Honors classes. He LOVES his teachers, has maintained honor roll even though he didn't come from a gifted school, and we couldn't be happier! They are implementing FLVS classes, have a new building in the back, eliminating the portables, and Dr. Nance is doing a great job putting the children first. We were offered another middle school for our son and are so glad that he chose to remain with his friends and go to Crestwood. It truly deserves its A rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

The administration at this school has demonstrated regardless of any mouth piece they have in place to say otherwise, that the entire program here is all smoke and mirrors. It is astounding to me the there is derogatory comments about Mr. Towne right on this site yet he continues to work there, now under going anger management for behavior at the school. This school is not honest with the community, my child attended when there were cameras in the girls bathroom. The cameras did move and have a power source yet the principal said they were not working cameras. When parents wanted to see, touch and examine the cameras they were escorted off the property and threatened with trespassing. The administration here has been know to call parents and reprimand them how how they will or will not speak to staff members yet all kinds of offensives against the students too numerous to count happen daily. Ms. Nance should not be employeed at a school. It seems she is more of a teacher advocate then a student advocate, not what anyone in PBC wants for students! Get out already!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

Im a seventh grader in crestwood and im not sure i like it. I'm treated differently because im extremely small and i get bullied all the time and the teachers around me dont do anything about it! the classes are somewhat hard, somewhat easy, saying that im in all gifte. the only thing i highly disapprove of is the lunch seating. i understand the idea the principal was thinking to make it an organized way out, but i know no one at my table so i'm very lonely. kids also pick on me the most there, and throw juice cartons and emty things at me. all in all, it's a great school academically, but some students here are downright rude and need some consequences;


Posted January 23, 2012

I'm an educator here at Crestwood and have been for the past 11 years. We have a family here that cares about kids and wants them to do well. The problems I have with education come from the county and state level, not our principal. I'm impressed enough with our teachers, my own children come here rather than attending the middle school by our house. For the negative reviews, I would say to consider the source. People are very willing to complain, but not to compliment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2011

I thought of relocating but this school among others in palm beach have everything so private I can not see if this is a good school or what it looks like and edline is to private how is anyone supposed to see where to place there children. Only if you are living there, but not fare to those having to relocate for work. I don't know where to place my kids!


Posted July 28, 2011

My daughter has gone here one year. Teachers were always available to talk to and she was happy. I have never had a serious issue. A couple of time grades were reported wrong on Edline. I e-mailed the teacher, my daughter showed the teacher her paper and the grade was changed. So, I would recommend to keep up with your chlid's grades on Edline. Each teacher has over 130 kids, so mistakes can be made, teachers are only human. Crestwood was again an A, so the previous person did not get it right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

I was a 6th grader here and it was horrible. i was on the trailblazer team and some of my teachers were HORRIBLE ! Mrs.Baker was really nice but sometimes raised her voice but only when kids were being disrespectful.Mr Inzerillo was nice but he reitired and we got Mr Thornton the WORST TEACHER EVER! I had and A in history but since Mr.Thornton came i had a D ! People would make fun of me right near him and he would say NOTHING . Mr.Jenness I think is kind of bipolar sometimes he's fun and cool but other times he's a jerk! Ms. Romero was nice but kinda strict and sassy. Mrs. Ward was really nice though. Anyways i wouldnt recommend Crestwod to many students because the bullying rate is high and some of the teachers are just jerks. and the food is DISGUSTINGG ! the taco meat iis tan and looks like it could make a person sick so i wouldnt reccommend toeat it.


Posted June 16, 2011

I feel this school is terrible. My child has been bullied several times involved in altercations starting in the classroom where are the teachers they don"t seem to care. Then resulting in altercations outside where are the teachers, and staff. This school is discusting and very dissapointing. Iagree they are rude and liars that want to seem as if thier school is A rated wonderful, but for the children that go there it is not safe and not a good leaning expierance. I wish for my child to go somewhere else anywhere but crestwood, WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS SCHOOL TO ANYONE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I have to agree with the last two posts, Crestwood was a A school for a very long time. My oldest daughter went there is 2003 to 2006, and I could not say enough good things about it at that time. I now have my last child in this school, this has been the worst year for her, the teachers don't care about the students. The students pay the price for bad teachers. Mrs Bakers, Mr Jenns, Who I beileve are the Trailblasers team, are the worst. I now also heard that they are busing kids in from Belle Glade. Good bye to the A school, I think they are now a B, but I only see it going down from there. I really wish I could change my daughters school, we are now thinking about homeschooling her. Just to get her out of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Very poor school. The teachers and staff are liers, all about the money they get from the goverment, they dont care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

okay , well to start with all the kids and teachers call it "cwood" all the kids think they are ghetto . the teachers are rude i was there for 6th and half of 7th , this school is very herific . the girls are very rude and they start drama because of jelousy , most of the boys try to get in troble because it makes them cooler to everyone around them and the staff isnt good ethier . DO NOT GO TO CREST WOOD MIDDLE!


Posted October 10, 2010

The teachers are wonderful!!! Really care about the students!!!


Posted October 9, 2010

We have teachers that want to help kids be better than they think that they can be!! We have been an A rated school in Palm Beach County for 10 years which puts on the bottom for upgrades in buildings, supplies, and technology. If we were an F school we would have already had a new building and AC system that today rarely works. We have limited and old computers even though the county says that they are encouraging us to ready the students for the 21st century. We are over-comers and continue to find success on standardized testing even amongst any trial or tribulation that may come our way!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2010

Bad and troubled kids are being bused in from Belle Glade and other areas, this is not why I moved here... Some teachers are great and some not. If your kid is in advanced classes, the students and teachers are better. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

341 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

359 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

401 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 35%
Black 30%
Hispanic 28%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%73%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 20%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. STEPHANIE NANCE
Fax number
  • (561) 753-5035

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

64 Sparrow Drive
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 753-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Western Academy Charter School
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Hooked On Learning
West Palm Beach, FL


Ideal School
Royal Palm Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT