Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

H. L. Johnson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 910 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

HL Johnson Elem. my girls attended here (ages 26 and 22 now) and my son age 10 is attending now(5th gr). has always been an excellent school. Teachers we have had in the past 20 yrs there are very caring and hard working to make sure a child is recieving the best education they can give. thanks HLJ , this will be our last year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

I started at HLJ in second grade. I switched because it had the gifted program, and my other elementary school did not. I graduated from HLJ and went to Bak MSOA for middle school. I found out about it through HLJ. I am now in 10th grade, and attend Dreyfoos School of the Arts. Some of my best memories are within HLJ's halls. I would not be where I am now without going here.


Posted August 21, 2013

I love this school!! I went here when I was a child from kindergarten to 5th grade & it was great! I am now a mommy of 2 & my 5 year old daughter started kindergarten today just like I did 24 years ago & it is still GREAT! Everyone there is so friendly and helpful; & you can tell that they truly care about the children. My daughter came home from her first day today ecstatic! I think that I was more nervous than her!! I would recommend this school to anyone who wants to put there kids in a private school, but just can't afford it right now, like me. It is just as good & ALOT less expensive! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

i love the school. everyone is so nice. They help the kids, and i always can reach my sons teacher for any questions concerns etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

We are new to H.L.Johnson, but, all comments about this school are the best. so i'm so happy with my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

We are new to HL Johnson. I must say after Visiting several Public schools in our area, I had just about decided to go Private. I saw lots of negative. Lots of teachers with a less than child friendly attitude, and one princapal who was entirely off mark when she made a very unprofessional remark to me about how they deal with children, and what they do and don't have time for.... I met a Quality person at that same school "Marianne Marooney". She was very happy to talk with us, very patient, spent some time understanding what our needs were, and was in NO HURRY to get rid of us. After meeting with us she recommended we Visit H.L Johnson. I frist emailed the school to get information. I am pleased to say that I recieved a phone call the next day from the Principal "Mrs Hench". Not only did she call me, but called me on her day off. She took my sons files, read them, got to know us and what his needs where and had him enrolled in 24 hours. She has a warm and carring personailty which is exactly what I look for in anyone dealing with my son. I would recomend this school and Mrs. Hench to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

We were concerned when we switched our student from a small private school to the gifted program at HLJ but our concerns quickly vanished. The teachers in the program are top notch and pay attention to the students not only academically but socially as well and intervene right away when they need to. If the need for special accommodations for injuries arise, they are quick to act and assign someone to help the student move throughout the school while recovering. This is a large school with high parent involvement and an excellent staff. This is our second year at HLJ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

I was very impressed when I read thru all of the parent ratings for this school that we decided to put our child in this school. Unfortunately experience has not been what we expected. When our child started school this year we were told he was below his grade level. What happened the year before? Did the teachers just ignore this or does each teacher have a different opinion. This year our teacher is also very difficult to get thru. She does though communicate very well if she has something negative to say about our child. I am very dissapointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

Gifted program is superior and my son has advanced so much in the few years that he's been there. Parent participation is high and the teachers are informative and communicative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

how can you rete a school when your kid(s) have not go through every teacher, all schools have their differences in teachers and learning styles etc..., what can one say about the parents with bad experiences? my child just started his first year at HL J. which every morning he want to go to school but wants to change class already. what would you say to a 5 year old that tells you " do you think my teacher like me?"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

They keep children interested in learning with creative modalities. If we inspire to learn now they will continue to be inspired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

We have had a great experience with this school, the teachers are very helpfull. They really encouraged and push my son to reach his full potencial, especially in reading, in wich the teacher set monthly goals for them to reach and he had received encouragment and awards for good results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

It is a wonderful neighborhood school. My granddaughter goes there and does exceedingly well - she is an A student. She likes her school and her teachers.


Posted August 21, 2009

Not good with watching the children very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

We are going into our last year at HLJ in the fall and could not have asked for a better school! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

My daughter attends here and she says she loves her teacher(Ms. Foster). No complaints
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Both my son and daughter attended HLJ in the gifted program from Kindergarten through 5th grade. The teachers were very dedicated, enthusiastic, experienced, and highly qualified. Mrs Hench, the principal is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Mrs Hench has a problem with accepting responsibility for her teachers. We informed the teacher at the beginning of the school year that our child was having difficulty w/ reading, and that we were ready to assist in any way she thought helpful. We regularly requested meetings and communication to discuss our childs progress only to be told everytime that everything was fine and there was progress. Then suddenly mid February we are told 'that progressing to the next grade would not be possible'. We since have been using a tutor at great expense in the hope of salvaging the year knowing that if the teacher would have spoken with us as we had requested we could have been providing extra help for our child since the start of the year and clearly progressing with the other class mates. Now our child will pay for that lack of communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2006

I am a parent of 4 children who have and are attending hlj. Sharonhench is a caring devoted sincere, honest and a very dedicated principal and mentor to all kids. Donna eldrige has a big heart , shes all the above and a wonderful asst pricipal.The school is a great school with great teachers and a great staff. The school is serious about academics and making the children feel good about coming every day to learn and share. We have been to another school in palm beach county many yrs ag and its was unruly, not safe. And a terrible learning experience for my older 2. Hlj is an a school with a plus plus plus faculty, we love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

Absolute awesome staff whose goal of producing well-rounded students shine through and through. I am very honored and blessed to have my son attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Black 20% 23%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Crestwood Blvd N
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 904-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Kids Club
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Western Academy Charter School
Royal Palm Beach, FL



Ideal School
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT