Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

H. L. Johnson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 866 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2006

This school with its staff go above and beyond in all areas. Awesome gifted program is a gift to the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

Wonderful supportive teachers. Great administration. Positive learning experience for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

The staff at H.L. Johnson are truly commited to the education of our children. They seem to go above and beyond to ensure their well being as well as to meet their individual needs. The children truly enjoy school as the staff works to create thoughtful and meaningful lessons that will engage their minds. I feel blessed to be able to send my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

H. L. Johnson not only met my expectations, but exceeded them. My family relocated to royal palm beach from rhode island four years ago, and i was worried we wouldn't find the same caliber schools my children had previously attended. Mrs. Hench, the principal at h.L. Knows almost every child and treats them as if they were her own. The school felt my son should be in an advanced program and tested him to be sure. He has been in the gifted program for four years now and loves every minute of it. The teachers set high standards for the children and provide the help they need to meet those standards. Parent volunteers are a valuable resource for this school and are well appreciated. This school has a wonderful arts program tailored to blend with the curriculum. I cannot say enough good things about our experience with hlj!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

HL Johnson is exactly what we were looking for our children. We are so lucky. It is our home school, but they offer a gifted program here. My son is in the 1st grade gifted program. There are two teachers that work together and they are wonderfully organized keeping the kids moving and challenged everyday. My son loves it. they have an open door policy which I truly believe in. I volunteer as much as possible and we are really loyal to our school. Our principal and assistant pricipal our outstanding citizens and very easy to talk to and to approach. That is why we are what we are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

H.L. Johnson has been wonderful to my daughter. She was falling behind (6 months to be exact) in her reading from her previous school, where she went to Kindergarten and no one noticed until she was in 2nd grade, at HLJ. I am proud to say that she just completed 3rd grade and according to her FCAT scores, she is reading on grade level now! I could not be happier with the work we have done together with her. Thanks for another great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I absolutely love this school. Parents are made to feel welcome and the staff is terrific. The gifted program is awesome and my son is progressing so well in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

I'm very satisfide with this school, my son attend since 1 year ago and fron the very fist moment I found out involment teachers and principal in develoment of knowlech, that result in increased student learning, highter academic grades and improved test scores. I'm very happy whith this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

The staff, parents and volunteers are a wonderful and dedicated group! Achievement is excellent and has been maintained through various adminsitrations over many years!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 10, 2004

This school is definatley one of the best schools in Palm Beach County. They are organized in the mornings so well, that dropping your children off will be a pleasurable experience as you calmly see your child start their day, instead of the panic I see as I drive passed others schools. Teachers stick around at this school, so you know that a school that is established, then so is your child. I cannot say enough great things about this school- my son could not be more content at HL Johnson, as are my husband and I. 11 out of 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

168 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Hispanic 23%
Black 20%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Crestwood Boulevard North
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 904-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Kids Club
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Ideal School
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Western Academy Charter School
Royal Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT