Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

809 students|Palm Beach
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


H. L. Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The biggest reason we decided to buy our first home in Royal Palm Beach was because of the excellent ratings that HLJ had. We have 4 small children and wanted them to go to a highly rated school. We're really impressed with all of the help HLJ offers and are excited with the upcoming STEAM initiatives.

H. L. Johnson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Rachel Uffer has been amazing to my Kindergartner this year. I was really worried that it would never 'click' for him to put together that his sight words help him with reading and writing. He now writes me notes and is eager to read everything he sees in our daily errands. I admire her patience with him and hope that our daughter gets her when she starts Kindergarten in 2018!


H. L. Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The school is going through some changes. It still has some changes that need to be made. We need to make sure parents are comfortable coming here and we want students, staff, teachers and parents all working together to make this a great place to be.

H. L. Johnson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank my son's kindergarten teacher, Ms. Brandofino. Her dedication to her students and the quality of the education is amazing. She is so deciplined with their time while still having fun. I am amazed every day with what they learn and what he retains. She loves watching their progress and has been an amazing building block for the rest of his school career. I am truly grateful for her dedication and caring nature. And a special thanks for allowing our "in class" tadpole to frog project!!! We had a blast!!

H. L. Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
HLJ had a rough year or so with a principal that was the worst. Thankfully she is no more and a new one will be coming in with the 16/17 school year. The interim principal is great, the staff has always been very helpful and courteous. My daughter's teachers are responsive and caring, usually replying the same day to questions or inquiries. She wants to be dropped off early and picked up late! And that is the best review a school can receive in my opinion.


H. L. Johnson Elementary School 2

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Although there are so many wonderful teachers the office staff is very rude . My son is in fourth grade at HLJ. Over the years the office staff has become very rude and lack patience . Even when you call the school to ask simple questions they rush you off the phone and never have an answer. The data processor is the worst one . I think the school would be so much better with new nicer office staff . My son has also complained to me the office ladies are always mean and in a bad mood. Just give the school a call and see for yourself . You will be lucky if they greet you nicely and give you an answer. Such a shame .

H. L. Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves H.L.Johnson. This is her second year there she can't wait to get up and go to school in the morning the teachers are great in every area of learning. I highly recommend this school.

H. L. Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
HLJ is fabulous! The teachers and administrators work together to challenge my children and provide high quality education. It is a very caring group of educators. Thank you for all you do for all the children!


H. L. Johnson Elementary School 3

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
my daughter is in 4th grade and my son in Kind. and i am very disappointed in the school now. The office staff is extremely rude when you call and they never have any information about what is happening in their own school. I have had my daughters teacher investigated by DCF and removed but the school would barely even speak to us about it. I have been lied to several times from this office. We went through a lot of effort to try and get our kids in this school and i was hoping for more. I am not a fan of the new principal at all!!!

H. L. Johnson Elementary School 3

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Not the same since getting a new principal last year. Moral is at an all time low, principal doing everything she can to stop parent involvement. We used to love this school and its' small town appeal. Everyone was proud. Now it is just like every other mediocre school. So hard to watch our school be destroyed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

H. L. Johnson Elementary School
1000 Crestwood Boulevard North, Royal Palm Beach, FL  33411
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (561) 904-9300
Last modified H. L. Johnson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top