Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Western Pines Community Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1184 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2013

After spending 3 years in Western PInes, I had a terrible experience. With clear backpacks and strict uniforms, we never had any freedoms. The assistant principal gives detentions for no reason. They waste weeks focusing on the FCAT. Trust me, don't go here...


Posted June 1, 2012

WPMS is still using portables, which, if you are late from one part of the school to a portable on the other side on a day with severe thunderstorms, and a flooded path, you get detention. They supposedly focus on bullying, yet it happens everyday. If a bullied kid says something back to the bully, he/she gets detention. Only thing taught here is hypocrisy and how to take the FCAT, though this seems to be par for all of Florida. If you really need to teach a kid how to pass a test, teach them the knowledge to do more than just pass a standardized test, but how to succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

Both my kids go to this school. I think it is a great school. The principal is very committed. The kids are getting an great education. I like the use of edline. It is a tight knit community and most of the kids are well behaved. Sometimes the teachers are too busy to pay attention to the kids and they are very strict with the homework policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

GLAD MY CHILD ATTENDS HERE. GREAT TEACHERS AND GREAT COMMUNICATION. LOVE THAT TEACHERS USE EDLINE ON A REGULAR BASIS (SOMETIMES) WHICH GIVES THE PARENT KNOWLEDGE TO KNOW HOW STUDENT IS DOING CURRENTY WHICH IS SO IMPORTANT. EXCELLENT AWARD INCENTIVES FOR GOOD GRADES
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

it really is a bad school and people get bullied for nothing so no dress code dont have your child attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

this is an excellent school,students and teachers,i'm glad my daughter is going there is a good future for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Western Pines is a good school if you want your child to get a good education, but they aren't too many electives . If you have an artistic child you might want to send them to a different school because my school doesn't even provide an art class. But there are great teachers at the school. and next school year we will be having uniforms so depending on your opinion it could be good or bad. but i would prefer to go to oceola creek middle school because i hear they offer a lot more electives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2009

Western Pines Middle is a great school for those who want to be able to further their middle school education.Western Pines is an 'A' rated school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

This school has a safe enviroment and your kids can always make new friends here they also provide back up lunches for those picky eaters. They also have nice teachers who will do anything to make your child learn alot
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

I have worked at WPMS since it opened and have seen many changes in the staff and school population over the past 12 years. I think that we offer the best education for middle school students in the area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2009

This School is amazing I like how it has ala carte and vending machines and other cool things. The teachers are fun and treat you nice. I would totally recomend this school to people who moved and are looking for a middle school. WESTERN PINES MIDDLE ROCKS! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

This school is the best! It has the best education ever! Also, the best activites!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

this school put lots of pressure on new kids, my kid come home and is 11:OO PM AT NIGHT and still doing homework,is tottally insane,the dress code is a joke,the attendance office person is rude and if you do not bring the note from the doctor right away,they wont excuse it even if you child has a note from the doctor and is out home sick,the guidance office is a joke,you call the teachers and leave message on their phone ,they dont call you back,i am not please with this school at all,to me they dont care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

There is no doubt that Western Pines is a great school, but I wish a few things were different. Like the dresscode for instance. Yes, i understand that we shouldn`t be wearing super-short shorts or tank-tops but I think that we should at least be able to have words on our shirts as long as they are not mean. Another thing is that everyone in the school (6th, 7th, or 8th) has to get at least 50 reading counts points each nine-weeks! That is only if they are in a regular language arts....if you were in an advanced class (like me) you have to get 75 points! But, the principal said he will work on lowering the points (thank goodness!). Lastly, the principal doesn`t think students take the Diognastics serioulsy, so he has made our score 10% of our exam grade! Diognastics aren`t made to be a grade!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2008

We are now entering year 3 at WPMS. In all the time my children have attended this school I feel that they have been treated well, that the teachers care about the students. The dress code is in place to help avoid distractions among the student population. I think that athletic jersey's should be allowed. I am personally very involved in my children's education and have found that the other WPMS parents are very involved as well. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is looking to relocate to western Palm Beach County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

Western Pines is an excellent school and I can not say enough about the teachers. They have a passion for what they do. Mr. Maris, Miss Cassi, Miss Rush, are just a few of the exceptional teachers at this school. We will miss Dr. Shoemaker and the morals he brought to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2007

Western Pines is a good school but i hate the school dress code and how Dr. Shoemaker makes us have a holiday packet. We are suppose to have this time off for our family's we don't need to worry about school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

western pines middle school is a cool school but we seriously need to retink the dress code. and let cheerleading become a sport at the school and cheerleders shuld get awards at the end of the year just like the soccer and baseball team our school rock!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

wetsern pines is okay the teachers r kool like mrs.reid-thomas and mr.knoess but i hate the dress code!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2006

This school has not many academic programs as it has in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

378 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Hispanic 23% 29%
Black 14% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%73%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Robert Hatcher
Fax number
  • (561) 792-2530

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5949 140th Ave N
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 792-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL



Western Academy Charter School
Royal Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT