Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Royal Palm Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 386
 

5 stars
Based on 56 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

29 reviews of this school


Western Academy Charter School 1

Posted April 21, 2015
- a community member
The lottery system is a scam. Just admit it. Its all about who you know. Hence the bogus claim that the school is so great that kids never leave. Who would leave when your friends got you in? I personally know of several students parents that know people within the school and often brag about getting in the school because of the "push".

Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a community member
The lottery that this school uses is all electronic. It is not done clandestinely. Unfortunately they do not get many open seats each year because when families join they seldom leave. The Florida Law dictates that teacher and staff children get priority in a charter school lottery. This is not the school doing it secretively. It is spelled out in the law. I know people who waited 2 or 3 years to get in and finally did and they are still at the school and very happy with the teachers and the high academic program. Great free schools usually have high demand and in this case few open seats because families do not leave. Just because you did not get in does not mean there was something backhanded being done. Don't be a poor loser. Be patient and you may get in next year.


Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Love LOVE love this school. I have two girls attending this school for 6 years now and I couldn't ask for some wonderful great teachers and principal.

Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
This is our child's first year. I was not sure what to expect of this Charter School being that it is very small. We are used to public schools. So far my child is very happy, loves the teachers and the extremely friendly and family like atmosphere. Academics are high standard.

Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
This is my son's first year (6th grade). He is learning a lot and has excellent teachers. The school is run very well and has excellent communication keeping parents informed of everything your child is doing. To the parents that complain about sending children with learning disabilities to a charter school, I think that's just silly. The public school system is designed to help children with disabilities. I would never even think to send a child with a disability to a charter school.


Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a teacher
Unfortunately, this school like all schools can not always help students whose parents do not follow through or take the professional recommendations of teachers. It is impossible to make every family happy but this school works very hard for All children and was in fact started for children with disabilities who were struggling in district schools. If they did not care they would not have the huge success rate for this group of children and all children that they do. It is a school of choice for parents. If it is not a fit for a child or family then the parents have the luxury of the choice to seek a better fit program. Over the 12 years they have been open they have made all types of families and students happy by proving a very high quality education. I love working at this school and will continue to help ALL children that walk into my classroom.

Western Academy Charter School 1

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
This school is outright discriminatory toward children with learning disabilities and ADD. My child was there for one school year and it was a horrible and traumatizing experience. The staff is very clique-ish and rude..Since we left I have met several other people who have had common issues. They need to be reported and shut down.

Western Academy Charter School 2

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
I really enjoy this school but if you child is learning challenged or ESE please do not send your child to this school. They have limited resources to assist you and your child. Its almost as if they no longer want to handle ESE kids. Otherwise everything else about the setting of this school is good.


Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
The principal is very involved. She knows the children and parents by name. She really cares about the students. She is fair and treats the students with respect. Children here are not just a number like the other schools in the area. My child absolutely thrived here and I wouldn't have him anywhere else. The teachers are caring, patient, and truly concerned about their students. It s too bad that this area goes not have more schools like this!!

Western Academy Charter School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Wester Charter Academy school is the best that happens to us, everybody is so good, make us feel like home!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western Academy Charter School
650 Royal Palm Beach Boulevard, Royal Palm Beach, FL  33411
(561) 792-4123
Last modified Western Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western Academy Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top