Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,474 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shields Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
This school can be a nightmare for a new student without any friends there. There's many kids who might lead yours down a bad path, too.

Shields Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
No, but I don't see how this would be possible for them anyway, especially with this group of children.


Shields Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
It doesn't, but most of the students don't let them. The kids just do whatever they want and don't listen to staff at all sometimes. So this one is not entirely the school's fault.

Shields Middle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
Only because it could teach students that things aren't always easy, sometimes you need to do most of your learning yourself, even when someone should be guiding you. Either it could develop grit and determination, or the children could decide to just give up on their education. I've seen many students on both paths.

Shields Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
Not all of them are bad, but you can't only know half of what your supposed to know when it really matters later. (High School, College, Careers)


Shields Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
It really depends on your classes, but it's not too bad for the most part.

Shields Middle School 3

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
A lot of the staff run things poorly. I didn't get my schedule until the actual first day of school. When I did, it had mistakes and I had to have it changed multiple times. Teachers were getting suspended, fired, and quitting all the time, too, which really disrupts our learning. Many teachers don't do a great job, either. A certain teacher wouldn't let anyone finish a 50 question test, when most of the class didn't even get half of it done. We had only one 50-minute period to take the test. This was an advanced honors class, too, and was for high school credit. Bottom line is, this school deserves its 3/10 rating. If you have another option, you might want to take it.

Shields Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
They don't respect the students so we refuse to respect them at all. We curse them out more than we respect them


Shields Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
Nope. This school does not teach the students anything to strengthen us in anyway at all

Shields Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
No. Not at all. They don't even dish out proper punishments. They're to busy giving dress code to girls with showing bra straps.

Nearby schools

Shields Middle School
15732 Beth Shields Way, Ruskin, FL  33573-4901
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (813) 672-5338
Last modified Shields Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top