Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Safety Harbor Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1424 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2013

This school is very fun. The campus is clean and tidy and the teachers are fun and nice (besides a rare few). The MEGSSS and IMAST programs are very important because they seperate the higher level students from lower-level ones, so they don't get dragged down or forced to do something they already know. Also, the 'one-way hallways' are helpful, because you can get to class easier, without people pushing and shoving from all directions. I've learned a lot going here, but there are still flaws. Mainly, the principal is horrible and strict. She focuses on keeping kids off the grass and trash off the floor, making our school look good instead of improving the academics. It seems like every day we have to "walk to lunch with our teachers" or "get detention for running at a school party" or some other useless thing, for practically no reason. Other than that, I think this school is very good.


Posted November 9, 2011

what are your guys talking soo bad about the princibal i mean shes not that bad i mean taking one day too do fun stuff wont hurt us.and all of our test scores are pretty good and the people that usually get bad test scores either dont care and wont listen i recommend safety harbor to anyone


Posted October 11, 2011

Our daughter has been at Safety Harbor Middle School since September of this year and we are very pleased with the experience so far. She is in the gifted program. We've been impressed, not only with what she is learning, but with how much she seems to be enjoying the challenge, as well. Fantastic teachers, strong administration...excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I suggest this school for kids it is awesome it certainly has lots of sports activities


Posted June 12, 2011

This school is pretty good. It's not overcrowded, the students generally learn at least something useful when they come home, and the test scores are pretty good, too. However, I think that the school keeps hiring teachers who are too young and don't know what they're doing. I don't think the young teachers get much support from the older teachers, because they don't really talk to them and instead make friends among themselves. I also think that the principal focuses too much on things that are unimportant overall, such as keeping students off the grass and forcing students to be led to lunch by their teachers. What she should really focus on is making sure students learn things and score well on tests because they learn things, not having little parties for everyone who wears a Rays shirt on a certain day. I also think it would be nice if they offered gifted language arts and social studies classes, because there are many students that are unchallenged in those subjects. But other than those things, it's good. Also, if it matters, the band and chorus teachers are excellent.


Posted June 6, 2011

Over all the best middle school around. The older teachers work well with younger ones, good balance of experience and enthusiasm. Wonderful parent support and great guidance counselors.


Posted May 22, 2011

To all student body at Safety Harbor and anyone reading this, the Special Needs Program needs your help.Your Principal is not standing up for the kids in this program instead of Carwise kids coming to Safety Harbor Special Needs program they Our kids have to move to a school with unsuccessful Special Need teachers a recent school resourse officer stabbing and no life skills learning area like kitchen stove washer dryers etc that are currently in Ms Russell's room. Ms. Russell has been at Safety Harbor for 22 years. Please help our students. Call 7241407 or 5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

This school has provided my daughter with an excellent transition from elementary school. The gifted classes are challenging and engaging. But, all of her teachers are challenging and engaging. The principal is strict and no nonsense, but cares about the students and the teachers, which I think creates a safe and comfortable environment. PTA seems to be strong and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

Seriously...Safety Harbor was amazing...no faults
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

The School is great but the Administrator/Principal Mrs. Kennedy has a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

I have been at SHMS for all 3 year. I think it's an overall an okay school. I admit it is clean and enthusiastic. Though, the teachers are friendly, they usually always chose favorites and i would like to put in or advise the up coming students to not take chinese for a class, the class is horrible, and sloppy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2006

MEGSSS, IMAST and gifted programs are excellent. Band program is excellent because of teacher who is tremendous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

General academics are good, as are arts, music and band. Our experience was that ethnic discrimination kept our son out of higher level classes until we challenged the school. Never placed in any advanced courses, he was all of a sudden found to be in the 'gifted' range. Principal was not supportive and was very condescending. IEP protocol is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

The academic programs are outstanding. The ESE Department works hard to ensure that ESE students are successful in the general education curriculum. Extracurricular activities are ongoing throughout the school year. They are offered both before school and after school. Parent involvement is welcome and appreciated at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

bottom line - no great communication tool being utilized to keep parents informed of classroom activities - the promises of the school website are getting extremely old. It's all about the FCAT and not the individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

Never would have went to another school! I loved it!! Taught me all I could ever need for Highschool. Excellent MEGSSS, IMAST and Gifted programs!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

448 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

444 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

456 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

456 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

480 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

481 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

451 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
84%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 22%
Black 10%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%60%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. MARY KENNEDY
Fax number
  • (727) 724-1407

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 1st Avenue North
Safety Harbor, FL 34695
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 724-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Northbay Christian Academy
Safety Harbor, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT