Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Saint Augustine, FL
Students enrolled: 1,350
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pedro Menendez High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
The landscapers top all of the trees so they grow in ways that they shouldn't and there are weeds growing all throughout the courtyard. For the areas that do have plants there was obviously no planning and whoever

Pedro Menendez High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
rate this school low because they treat the students like children and not as adults. Some staff have favorites and let those favorites do whatever they want. They will not let any legal adult students to check out during exam week when they do not have an exam


Pedro Menendez High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
to much favoritism .......The teachers with the exception of a few are just lacking. The way I understand according to small town rumor is that this school gets the bottom of the barrel in teachers. I really think the school

Pedro Menendez High School 1

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
This school is just ridiculous. The deans there have their favorites and let them do whatever they want. If you're not popular or a good athlete, they will treat you differently. This school is just unfair. Oh not to mention that today my daughter got her phone out during lunch to take a video of her friends, now there's a rule saying that you may have your phones out during lunch you just can't take pictures or videos on them. Now her coach caught her and took it away, my daughter without giving any trouble gave the phone to him. So after school I went to go pick her phone up, but turns out he didn't turn it in to the front desk like he's supposed to, he had already left campus, so my daughter has to wait until tomorrow morning to get it. This is just ludicrous.

Pedro Menendez High School 1

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
School has gone down hill! The grounds are unkept weeds everywhere, huge ant piles, and it's just plain filthy! Front desk lady is not friendly or welcoming, The athletics department is a hot mess! The only decent coach they have is the new basketball coach and I imagine because he is decent he won't last long. The weightlifting coach is good too actually. They hired a little league dad to coach baseball and he only puts his kids friends on team (daddy ball at its finest) he curses the players and really has no idea how to coach he is quite possibly the biggest jerk I've ever encountered. The football coach /Dean well he is just an odd guy very difficult to communicate with on any level. I don't know the rest of sports coaches but from what I understand they aren't much better. The teachers with the exception of a few are just lacking. The way I understand according to small town rumor is that this school gets the bottom of the barrel in teachers. I really think the school needs a whole new administration to come in a get some changes made!


Pedro Menendez High School 2

Posted February 14, 2015
- a student
The campus is god-awful. Landscaping needs to be redone entirely. It's really a shame because the architect/engineer that designed the school layed it out in a way that it could have been beautiful. The landscapers top all of the trees so they grow in ways that they shouldn't and there are weeds growing all throughout the courtyard. For the areas that do have plants there was obviously no planning and whoever did it had no clue what they were doing. A professional landscaper needs to be hired and fix this place up to give the students a better learning environment. More money needs to be allocated towards upkeep as well. The teachers are getting ready to get new laptops while the school bathrooms hardly ever had paper towels or even soap. The walkways have gum and dip spit all throughout it. The parking lot is just gross. The entire thing needs to be power-washed. Some of the doors throughout the school are broken and they can't even be bothered to life the gates at the end of the day. Have you tried cramming upwards of 500 kids from two double doors? It isn't a pleasant experience. This could easily be fixed with a wireless mechanism that makes them lift at the press of a button.

Pedro Menendez High School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
The community that supports this school is excellent. The staff works hard to provide a quality education especially the IB program. My child is learning excellent life skills.

Pedro Menendez High School 1

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
I rate this school low because they treat the students like children and not as adults. Some staff have favorites and let those favorites do whatever they want. They will not let any legal adult students to check out during exam week when they do not have an exam. I will admit that there are a handful of teachers and staff that are very nice and welcoming. They are the few that actually care and treat the students as if they are adults and mature. I have met with some students that are friends of my children and they agree that this school is not being fair. I am raising my children to be mature and learn the value of being an adult and this school is holding them back.


Pedro Menendez High School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
I can say honestly, that I have been very happy with Pedro Menendez High School for my children and wouldn't have chosen any other school. Both of my children have been a part of the IB program, but there are a number of programs and academies to choose, so you can find the right fit for your child. There are athletic teams for them to become involved in, of course, but if they are not athletic, there are other clubs to choose, band, drama, literary club, Best Buddies, Anime Club, etc. so, again, they can find what interests them. I think all kids would feel a part of this school!

Pedro Menendez High School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Pedro Menendez High School is great because it offers an IB program and a Model UN club!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pedro Menendez High School
600 Highway 206, Saint Augustine, FL  32086
(904) 547-8660
Last modified Pedro Menendez High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pedro Menendez High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top