Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Saint Johns, FL
Students enrolled: 1,883
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Creekside High School 2

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
Terrible administration at this school. They are unresponsive and lack responsibility for their actions. They teach for testing because it benefits their pockets. There are few teachers that are here that care about the actual students. The counsellors are terrible in providing guidance to the students. The administration thinks because they have an "a" grade (mind you, based of Florida's terrible set of standards) that they are invincible. Policies are only enforced when they want to show their "power". Unfortunately, most of the time it is with the wrong students that they choose to demonstrate this. They have policies for students against "bullying" other students and staff, but maybe they should consider a policy of staff "bullying" students. They also don't tell you how many students are transferring out of this school to neighboring schools because of these things. I understand that Bartram Trail is a far superior school than Creekside. Unfortunately or fortunately, my child does have goals for after graduation and Creekside is the only school that offers an academy that aligns.

Creekside High School 3

Posted October 15, 2014
- a community member
Creekside was a decent enough school. I attended all four years and did learn a lot from certain departments (e.g. English, History) but one department in particular, Mathematics, needs a lot of work. With the exception of Mr. Johnson, most of the math teachers at Creekside have little to no knowledge about the subjects that they teach. It amazes me that a woman like Lydia Wiles is allowed to continue to teach with the amount of students that consistently receive low scores on not only standardized tests, but they tests that are given in class. For most people living in the Julington Creek area, it is almost impossible to transfer to another school; and you don't have to. Creekside is a good school, just needs some work in certain areas, like guidance and mathematics


Creekside High School 3

Posted August 15, 2014
- a student
Creekside is an aesthetically pleasing school to be at; I have found this to be true through my last two years of attending. I have also found this school to be, in every way, placed on a pedestal for its greatness and superiority over other St. Johns schools. Unfortunately I do not rate CHS a 5 star school like most parent-submitted reviews. My reasoning lies behind what I believe to be a lack of staff "involvement." Involvement means more than preparing for the next district test. The purpose of public education is to provide knowledge for the learners future, whether they decide to pursue a path involving it or not. I do understand that when teachers teach around 120- 150 students a day in a matter of 7 hours, making sure every student understands the topic is near impossible. But I feel some teachers at this school do not care for the students actual understanding, but rather that their students will just remember the information for the quarterly district exams. I suppose that's a lot to expect from a limited staff that must teach 1800+ kids, but I was hoping for a greater quality from something that's been glorified to me since elementary school.

Creekside High School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a student
I may not be a genus but the comment that rave about the school look fabricated by the Administration. The truth is the academic are good, if you are looking to be taught to the test. Teachers are so concerned about the standardized test scores that their pay is based off of that they lose sight of actually engaging students. The Administration doesn't care about the students especially the Principal, who is more concerned about dress code than anything else.

Creekside High School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
A GREAT school! Creekside is ranked 155 in the nation by Newsweek's 2013 America's Best High Schools list, and 155 by The Washington Post's Most Challenging High Schools list. This is no small feat as there are 30,000+ public high schools in the U.S.. Principal Randy Johnson is doing an excellent job despite the rapidly growing student population...everybody wants to go to Creekside. Students always are smiling and polite. Deans Helmly and Highsmith handle a myriad of jobs and are always a steadfast presence for the students. The administrative staff is responsive caring and there are many excellent teachers. There is also a great TV news show featured daily on the school's excellent website, and there is a large number of parents who volunteer, another reason why this school is so great.


Creekside High School 2

Posted May 05, 2013
- a student
Most of the students are drug addicts. The teachers and counselors are great, but the principal, deans, and assistant principals, only care about stats, not their students. There is also favoritism, as long as you're part of the football team, you can do whatever you want and never get in trouble.

Creekside High School 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
AMAZING SCHOOL!! On Newsweek's Best High Schools in America list, this high school doesn't disappoint. It is an academic and athletic powerhouse with the brightest and most well-mannered students and teachers. The administration is totally supportive and responsive. School spirit is %100. AMAZING SCHOOL!

Creekside High School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Principal R. Johnson is doing an outstanding job. The school offers a vast curriculum. The students seem to get along really well. They offer AP and Honors classes and the teachers are readily available for tutoring if students need it. The teachers try to make all the class subjects interesting. We moved here from another state but it did not take long for our children to make friends.


Creekside High School 5

Posted February 05, 2011
- a parent
Just an all around fantastic school! The teachers are great, the kids are friendly, the administration is wonderfully responsive and shows real concern for the students. I can honestly say that we have zero complaints.

Creekside High School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
Creekside HS is an A+ school for our child. We are new to the state and the staff, kids and teachers have made strides to make us feel welcome and go that extra mile. Ms. Dowling and Ms. Godfrey are outstanding teachers and Dean Highsmith is a good role model for the kids. I chose this community for the 10 schools and I got 10 schools and a whole lot more!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Creekside High School
100 Knights Lane, Saint Johns, FL  32259
(904) 547-7300
Last modified Creekside High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Creekside High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top