Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Julington Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1068 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

In response to the person's response to the review dated Dec 13, their statement is false and was posted under false assumptions. I have one student in gifted and the other is in the "general population," so I am not speaking strictly to the gifted program. At times my general population child has more work than that of my child in the gifted program, but there are still high expectations and a variety of assignments for both. I am not blowing smoke - I've been in several elementary schools and JCE ranks at the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Do not put you child in this school if they have a learning disability. They will not help much and will make you do all the teaching.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 22, 2013

In response to the prior review, this parent is speaking strictly regarding the gifted program. Your child's academic experience within the general student population at JCE won't be anywhere close to this stellar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

I have read so many reviews admonishing this school based upon their focus on the FCAT that I am compelled to respond. This is a great school, and among the best you'll find in Northeast Florida (we moved from Duval county and our kids have attended 3 elementary schools in the last 5 years). My kids are challenged each day with assignments way outside the FCAT realm. They are reading 200-page books with written questions to check understanding, diving into history by reading biographies, and giving oral reports based on interviewing military veterans to create posters to honor them on Veteran's Day. They are tasked with doing science experiments at home, including using recycled items to create a boat with some form of propulsion. These kinds of tasks are fertilizing little minds to help them grow in their understanding of the world around them, to fuel their curiosity, and to equip them to be critical thinkers. The goal is to do well on the FCAT, but I have found that it is balanced with the mission of educating our children. Florida has tied financial penalties and rewards based upon test results, so it will always be important, but at Julington Creek it isn't the MOST important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

First the pros: 1) some really good, caring teachers/staff who actually do their jobs; 2) the asst. principal is smart and hardworking; 3) the resource teachers (art, music, computer) are passionate & it shows; 4) high parental involvement = mostly decent kids & higher levels of achievement. Now the cons: 1) Adm. & PTO are both VERY political; 2) parental involvement seems to be waning in recent years; 3) some teachers are burnt out,/unconcerned/otherwise mediocre; 3) agree w/others, the principal blows off parental concerns. It's still better than a lot of schools out there, but for St. Johns County, probably average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

We moved from another state and my daughter has attended a few different schools. I was looking for someplace to settle in and found the high ratings for this school. It is only the beginning of the year and I am so disappointed already. They may have good test scores but all they do is teach for the test. The teacher nearly said as much during curriculum night. Their transportation is a nightmare. I have had a safety concern and went to the principal and transportation with no results. I've made sure to put everything in writing to leave a paper trail. The principal couldn't even pull the correct information out of my letter to provide to the transportation dept. Good thing he is not taking the FCAT this year. Our teach admitted to barely knowing how to send email let alone update her webpage. She voiced multiple times how busy she is with her own life and my daughter reports her taking cell phone calls frequently during class. This may be a dream school for some who have nothing to compare it to. However, I am most disappointed and may even move in the middle of the year if I am able to find something better. Poor resource classes as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Very disappointing. Several poor teachers and the administration turns a blind eye despite complaints from multiple sources. They don't care about the children or their eduction. Their only focus is the FCAT scores. They are more concerned about teaching to the test instead of teaching them what they actually need to be successful. Unfortunately, the children lose out on a quality education while the administration wastes time playing games or just completely ignoring the issues. The administration is very political - they tell you what you want to hear but don't actually do anything to help the children. Nothing but excuses and poor attitudes. Pathetic that they call themselves educators and advocates for children when all they are truely concerned about is their own hidden agendas. Sad that this is supposed to be one of the top schools in the area. Highly recommend looking anywhere but here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Admin is EXTREMELY political. This school works very well until you dare to have a problem. And may God be with you if you do have a problem. Not only will your problem go unresolved, everyone from teachers to admin not involved in your issue will know about it. I agree with the reviewer who said the principal is a poor problem-solver. Not only is he a poor problem-solver, he is very unprofessional in the way he handles problems. If you are one of their 'favorite' parents, your child will get all the best teachers (You need only look through the yearbook to see this unfortunate pattern.) But if you are not, your child will get the scraps. If you are someone who can smile when there is a problem and pretend it isn't an issue, then this is the perfect school for you. If you are a fierce advocate for your child, I strongly suggest you go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Disappointing first year. Fifth grade teachers make it very clear that they do not want parent involvement. Administration does not follow through. Cafeteria workers are harsh. PE teacher sarcastic and music teacher shrill. I agree with posts that topics are rushed through and not given proper attention when a child needs extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

This is our 1st year at JCE, & I was excited b/c of the good rep, but my actual experience has been disappointing. PROS: parent & Community involvement, nice clean facilities, active PTO, safe environment, friendly staff. CONS: academics geared toward the average ( my son is bored & is clearly not being challenged), the admin & PTO are very political (don't get on their bad side or else), not good communication home from teacher ( if I do not reach out I am left in the dark), I had some concerns about the discipline in the class and felt I was given the brush off (later I heard from my son it had improved, but the teacher didn't tell me that she had addressed my concerns. I think she wants me to stay out of her way.) Teachers are very worried about assessments like the FCAT (this is a problem statewide in FL public schools.) My son has encountered the "mean girl" phenomenon, and I do not think a strong emphasis is placed on moral teaching (I think the school relies on the parents for this which works because of the nice community, but there is little reinforcement at the school.) It's not THAT bad, but we are strongly considering switching to private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

We moved to the Julington Creek area mainly for this school but we have so far been very disappointed. This school is all about FCAT scores and nothing else. They rush through the topics without a care for the students understanding. Most parents I speak to face the same problem. I really regret moving my child from private to this school, it is hopeless. The gifted/blended program is a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I have to say that where no school is perfect, this one STRIVES for it. Mr. Story is an amazing principal. He truly cares for the students. My daughter does not warm up to men and she ADORES him! We have had some major issues with the school, but in the end we wouldn't dream of moving our children to any other school. Mr. Story is always willing to work on the solution to any problem. I have seen first hand how big of a difference that can make in the academic and social success of a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

My youngest child (of three) is now in 4th grade and has attended JCE since Kindergarten. Overall, we have been very pleased with her education, as well as the special services that are provided. My daughter is in the gifted program. The school and the district go out of their way to ensure that each child has an individualized plan of instruction. As a parent, I couldn't ask for more from a public school. This school is large for an elementary school with over 1,000 students. Great teachers. Very involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

This school is the reason we moved to this community. The academic quality exceeds most private schools and provides a nurturing environment that my 7 and 9 year old children flourish in. Every teacher we have had goes out of their way to communicate how our child is progressing and how we can help them improve. Daily email are almost the standard for each teacher. They share pictures, activity updates and every parent is ALWAYS invited to participate to the extent their schedules permit. I can not imagine a more ideal setting for my children to grow both academically and socially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

I have two children who just complete their first year at JCE. We LOVED it. No school is perfect, but I can tell you that my 4th grader has been in three previous schools (two private and one public), and JCE is her favorite. My Kindergartener grew by leaps and bounds, both academically and socially. My kids have a great deal of enthusiasm and school spirit, and I truly believe it is due the warm and caring attitude we have experienced from both the staff AND the teachers. I hope we never have to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

The attitude the staff show is absolutely bewildering. I have nieces and nephews who attend this school and I thought this school was a great school for my child to start at, but I was proven wrong. They lack in giving you information on how your child is doing. They just smile through their teeth and say "Oh, they are such a sweet child." Then when my child comes home, I hear from them that the teacher didn't let them play. They sat on the floor next to them while the other kids played. It makes me very angry to know that they can treat a 6 year old like that. When I ask how my child is doing I want to know the good the bad and the ugly. They're treated just their like herd,they teach them nothing. We send them to school and all they do is eat and play(thank goodness for at least that). The teachers have no interest in these kids they only care about going to work and getting paid. When the day is done they look relived to leave. When I was in elementary school my teacher showed love and compassion for not only the children but for teaching as well. Something Julington Creek Elementary School is lacking very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Julington Creek Elementary is truly an exceptional school. The staff focuses on the fundamentals of education and provides a nurturing environment for students to excel. The level of parental involvement is exceptionally high, which only re-enforces what is taught in the classroom is also complimented at home. I am fortunate that my child attends this school and looking forward to my youngest attending in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Julington Creek Elementary is an exceptional center of learning. The teachers and staff are dedicated to providing the best academic education possible to the K-5th grade students attending there, as well as life lessons and what it means to be a good person. They know that character counts and a sense of community and responsibilty makes all the difference. Community service projects abound; food and clothing drives, spending time with the elderly, collecting for the Humane Society, mentoring programs, Relay for Life, Jump Rope for Heart, these are all part of the fiber that makes up Julington Creek Elementary. Art work jumps off the walls, chorus and band music drift down the hallways, physical endurance is tested, books fly off the media center shelves, academic excellence is achieved; children and adults alike are challanged daily to be the very best they can be. It is truly a magical place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

We have the best teachers around!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Julington Creek Elementary has the BEST teachers. I have 2 boys and both have wonderful, loving, caring, and highly intelligent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

201 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

201 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 10%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2316 Race Track Road
Saint Johns, FL 32259
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Promise Land Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Loretto Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT