Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Julington Creek Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a community member
Transportation DOES NOT EXIST. I sit in the pick up and drop off parent LINES FOR HOURS. If your child has a LD, this is NOT the place for you. They cannot help you, they won't. Teachers ( several) in 4th grade DO NOT CARE. KIds are very nice. School is clean and well done. Education, FORGET IT

Julington Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
In response to the person's response to the review dated Dec 13, their statement is false and was posted under false assumptions. I have one student in gifted and the other is in the "general population," so I am not speaking strictly to the gifted program. At times my general population child has more work than that of my child in the gifted program, but there are still high expectations and a variety of assignments for both. I am not blowing smoke - I've been in several elementary schools and JCE ranks at the top.


Julington Creek Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2014
- a teacher
Do not put you child in this school if they have a learning disability. They will not help much and will make you do all the teaching.

Julington Creek Elementary School 1

Posted December 22, 2013
- a parent
In response to the prior review, this parent is speaking strictly regarding the gifted program. Your child's academic experience within the general student population at JCE won't be anywhere close to this stellar.

Julington Creek Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2013
- a parent
I have read so many reviews admonishing this school based upon their focus on the FCAT that I am compelled to respond. This is a great school, and among the best you'll find in Northeast Florida (we moved from Duval county and our kids have attended 3 elementary schools in the last 5 years). My kids are challenged each day with assignments way outside the FCAT realm. They are reading 200-page books with written questions to check understanding, diving into history by reading biographies, and giving oral reports based on interviewing military veterans to create posters to honor them on Veteran's Day. They are tasked with doing science experiments at home, including using recycled items to create a boat with some form of propulsion. These kinds of tasks are fertilizing little minds to help them grow in their understanding of the world around them, to fuel their curiosity, and to equip them to be critical thinkers. The goal is to do well on the FCAT, but I have found that it is balanced with the mission of educating our children. Florida has tied financial penalties and rewards based upon test results, so it will always be important, but at Julington Creek it isn't the MOST important.


Julington Creek Elementary School 3

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
First the pros: 1) some really good, caring teachers/staff who actually do their jobs; 2) the asst. principal is smart and hardworking; 3) the resource teachers (art, music, computer) are passionate & it shows; 4) high parental involvement = mostly decent kids & higher levels of achievement. Now the cons: 1) Adm. & PTO are both VERY political; 2) parental involvement seems to be waning in recent years; 3) some teachers are burnt out,/unconcerned/otherwise mediocre; 3) agree w/others, the principal blows off parental concerns. It's still better than a lot of schools out there, but for St. Johns County, probably average.

Julington Creek Elementary School 3

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
We moved from another state and my daughter has attended a few different schools. I was looking for someplace to settle in and found the high ratings for this school. It is only the beginning of the year and I am so disappointed already. They may have good test scores but all they do is teach for the test. The teacher nearly said as much during curriculum night. Their transportation is a nightmare. I have had a safety concern and went to the principal and transportation with no results. I've made sure to put everything in writing to leave a paper trail. The principal couldn't even pull the correct information out of my letter to provide to the transportation dept. Good thing he is not taking the FCAT this year. Our teach admitted to barely knowing how to send email let alone update her webpage. She voiced multiple times how busy she is with her own life and my daughter reports her taking cell phone calls frequently during class. This may be a dream school for some who have nothing to compare it to. However, I am most disappointed and may even move in the middle of the year if I am able to find something better. Poor resource classes as well.

Julington Creek Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointing. Several poor teachers and the administration turns a blind eye despite complaints from multiple sources. They don't care about the children or their eduction. Their only focus is the FCAT scores. They are more concerned about teaching to the test instead of teaching them what they actually need to be successful. Unfortunately, the children lose out on a quality education while the administration wastes time playing games or just completely ignoring the issues. The administration is very political - they tell you what you want to hear but don't actually do anything to help the children. Nothing but excuses and poor attitudes. Pathetic that they call themselves educators and advocates for children when all they are truely concerned about is their own hidden agendas. Sad that this is supposed to be one of the top schools in the area. Highly recommend looking anywhere but here.


Julington Creek Elementary School 1

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Admin is EXTREMELY political. This school works very well until you dare to have a problem. And may God be with you if you do have a problem. Not only will your problem go unresolved, everyone from teachers to admin not involved in your issue will know about it. I agree with the reviewer who said the principal is a poor problem-solver. Not only is he a poor problem-solver, he is very unprofessional in the way he handles problems. If you are one of their 'favorite' parents, your child will get all the best teachers (You need only look through the yearbook to see this unfortunate pattern.) But if you are not, your child will get the scraps. If you are someone who can smile when there is a problem and pretend it isn't an issue, then this is the perfect school for you. If you are a fierce advocate for your child, I strongly suggest you go elsewhere.

Julington Creek Elementary School 3

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Disappointing first year. Fifth grade teachers make it very clear that they do not want parent involvement. Administration does not follow through. Cafeteria workers are harsh. PE teacher sarcastic and music teacher shrill. I agree with posts that topics are rushed through and not given proper attention when a child needs extra help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Julington Creek Elementary School
2316 Race Track Road, Saint Johns, FL  32259
(904) 547-7980
Last modified Julington Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Julington Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews.