Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Switzerland Point Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1268 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

This school used to be the gifted cluster site, and still claims to be though they have absolutely no gifted education whatsoever. As per another parent's post, teachers no longer teach, but only hand out test packets and tests, and students are expected to teach themselves, and prepare themselves for the daily tests that comprise their grades entirely. It's a punitive environment for children, and not conducive to learning or the love of learning. It's difficult to discern which are school, district, state or Federal policies, but the end result is children suffer, and their education is destroyed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Before 2009 when my older child was a student here, the school had a different principal and most of the teachers were awesome. Under the current principal, the quality of the school has really gone down and many of the really good teachers have left the school. The quality of education is really bad now and there is no parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

First, the question should ask "with learning and/OR attention issues" as a larger percentage of children do NOT have attention problems with learning disabilities. LD is under SLD, attention is under OHI. They are separate issues, not one and the same. Second, our entire district has NO program, NO expertise, NO research-proven (OG-based) reading instructional programs for dyslexia. They quote every single myth on dyslexia. They push identified intellectually gifted dyslexic children out of advanced classrooms, and refuse instructional interventions year after year claiming the 2E dyslexic child is "grade level." NO teachers are trained in either twice-exceptional student needs and characteristics, or dyslexia. The district has NO plan for these children, in order to help them thrive, reach their potential or even survive. Teachers think they only need to teach average children, for test scores, and many have no interest is making any effort for the dyslexic child. The entire state of Florida ignores both twice-exceptional children (Zero provision for them) and dyslexic children, has NO expertise, NO FAPE, and districts are free to violate IDEA with no repercussions.


Posted November 4, 2012

Switzerland Point Middle School is an excellent school. We have 14 years experience with three youth who have attended. Our two oldest were well prepared for their high school experience. Our youngest is enjoying his middle school years and is growing academically. The teachers and leadership are excellent and dedicated to student progress and learning. We continued to be very impressed with St. John's County Schools. I know some folks had issues with academic changes in the system but our 14 years have seen continued improvement in an already excellent system. I am sure the school will continue to progress and develop. Some programs like the band program are well supported by parents even though the county has cut funding. All in all the school is one of the best. Education in general needs to continually evolve to promote individual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

I really strongly do not like this school. The teachers here do not know how to teach at all!!!!! I am failing my classes because they don't teach the academics they have us copy their lesson plans basicly and figure it out from there. This is my first year (8th grade) here and I wish I was back at my old school. And if I had a kid, I no offense wouldn't send them to this school. I'm not happy with the school, needs better teachers that connect with their students and teach right .


Posted September 15, 2012

I am a parent and would agree with the post by the 8th grade student. Most of the teachers do not teach at all. They give the children learning goals and ask them to teach themselves. Their homework looks as if it comes right out of a teachers lesson plans. Very strange, the students are lost and have no idea how to approach this type of work. Once you are in an advanced class..... good luck moving to anything else! And even the principal will not aid in moving a child out of this. Especially, 8th grade advanced science ....no moving out of that! Teachers need to go back to the basics and TEACH these children not expect them to teach themselves!! I am not happy with teachers or teaching style at all!!!!!! very unimpressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Almost the same as the 2nd newest review, I thought this school was good first but once I came, I saw how bad the education is.


Posted July 14, 2012

My son started in this school under one principle and the environment was excellent. The teachers would communicate with the parents and the parents were welcome always. By the time he left in 8th grade he has under a different principle the school felt like a jail they never wanted parents in to see what was going on and the education dropped like a brick. He was in the gifted/pre-ap program which was very hard to get into. Now they will let anybody into it and it is not even hard. Would never send the rest of my children to this school under this leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Very limited academic programs: This once had a gifted program until 2009, when the gifted program was eliminated in favor of an FCAT general ed program that no longer serves the gifted student needs, and no longer allows for acceleration, creativity or flexible teaching. General Ed advanced placement is the only offering, and it is watered down to focus on rote grade level mastery. FCAT now rules, which is very sad. It was a wonderful district, very child-centered, and families moved here for the gifted program and the excellent academics, until the steep decline that began with dismantling the gifted program and quickly plummeted in 2009. Some teachers are good, some are not, but if you have a gifted child, this school is a shell of its former glory, as is this district. The principal believes gifted children should be "mainstreamed" to "raise the bar" for "high achievers" even though that's contrary to research for both segments. All is focused on rote learning for standard grade level tests and school scores. It's the age of the FCAT standard ed "achiever." If you're looking for strong academics, this school/ district is now focused on rote minimum grade level academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Awesome teachers, students, and continues to have a motivating learning environment!


Posted May 17, 2010

Great school administration and great teachers. What more can I say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

I think the staff and teacher are very professional and they care about the each student and their education. I know my kids teachers come in early and help the kids on her time and that is special. This is how the kids know they care about them. You can know everything but if kids know you don't care it is for not. So good on you Swiss Point Great going on a Job well done. Dad of a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Excellent school! I've witnessed a lot of changes over the past 6 years and I have to say that this current Administration is wonderful and are backed up by amazing teachers who really care about their students success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

The PACE program for gifted & talented students has been wonderful because of the teachers - math and science in particular. Strong academics and safe environment. Would love to see the fine arts kicked back up a notch, but something is better than nothing. We've had 2 students at SPMS over the past 5 years and are very satisfied with the education provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It a very dirty school with cockroackes, otherwise its ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

This has been a great school for my child and children of my friends. Very proud to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My oldest son has had a great time in Middle School and his brother will be attending in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

what a great school!! The teachers are so welcoming to parents. They keep the communication wide open. Thats hard to find. The staff in the office is just as great. They greet you with a smile and really enjoy being there. They care about our kids and it shows. I feel good about my childs safety there as well. The teachers care about the childrens grades and go all out to make sure they get the help they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Wonderful teachers who really care about the students! Wonderful advanced program, that really challenges the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

I love working at Switzerland Point. The students are wonderful! You cannot beat the support teachers get from parents and administration! Swiss Pt is the BEST!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

365 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

445 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

406 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

402 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

302 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Asian 6%
Black 6%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LISA KUNZE
Fax number
  • (904) 547-8645

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

777 Greenbriar Road
Saint Johns, FL 32259
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-8650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Johns Grammar School
Jacksonville, FL





Berean Christian Academy
Fleming Island, FL


R. C. Bannerman Learning Center
Green Cove Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT