Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fruit Cove Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1327 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

I would rate the teachers a 5. My child is about to graduate, and all but two of his teachers have been stellar. He love s most of his teachers, and they've impacted him positively. He had two teachers even attend some important milestone celebrations in his life. He has been challenged academically, no doubt. The teachers are very caring and do a great job. The only complaints are the majority of the students and parents do not care for the dean. He could use more caring tactics with the kids and their parents. Also, the principal does not engage with the students and parents. But, all-in-all, it's the teachers who matter, and they are a 5! Creekside, here we come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

Two of my children have attended FCMS. As a military family, my children have attended numerous schools in the past. I would say that FCMS is the top. Although the size of the school is large, individual attention is given to each child and communication is great! I have seen by 8th grader flourish from starting in 6th grade at the school. They also are sensitive to the military kids needs. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

After reading this last post, I was compelled to set the record stright. My child attended this school for approximately a year, and was continuously bullied. In addition to being bullied, was denied restroom privileges while suffering from a medical condition. Teachers denied my child the use of a restroom although instructed by the pediatrician to use the restroom as needed, and was provided a note to show the teachers. Some of the teachers disregarded the note, and would only let my child use the restroom based on their terms. Cooperation with the school was limited, and everytime a request was made to speak with the principal, the principal made excuses not to be available. I realized that complaining to the district was ineffective, and ultimately elected to withdraw my child from this school, since they could not provide my child a safe learning envirnment. In response to the last post, it doesn't matter which quadrant of the county the school is located, it's the people that operate it that makes the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

This is an excellent school in an elite academic school district. For anyone moving to the Jacksonville area, this is absolutely the only school district you should even consider. I have read some of the comments by so-called parents and I have to challenge the validity of those comments. EIther these parents have problem children or these rants and ratings are by the teens themselves. All schools located in the NW quadrant of St. Johns County are among some of the most elite academic schools in the entire United States. Trust me, I have lived in this area since my daughter started elementary school and she is now a sophomore at Creekside High School. If you want your child to experience an education on par with the best private school education but without the tuition or cost, you'll definitely want to live in the NW quadrant of St. Johns County and send your kids to the local public school, FCMS being one of them. The academic success of this region is due to great teachers and administrators, high expectations from the students, and significant parent involvement. You'd be hard pressed to find a better education in the public school system anywhere in America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

This is a horrible school, it has ineffective administration, and discriminates against minorities. This is based on my experience as a parent, I get a lecture when I raise issues or concerns in the areas of education, and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

This used to be a great school. The teachers were engaged with the students (there are still many great teacher but just wait until the new k-8 school opens in Durbin and you will see a mass exodus) and administrators actually cared about each student ensuring they were appropriately challenged. The administrators that have been brought in the last couple of years do not seem concerned about the students but rather are focused on school ratings and FCAT scores so they can maximize their bonuses and advancement opportunities. Ratings and scores are important when used appropriately however they are indicators, not an end in themselves. This school, with the current administration, is turning into a cold mechanical institution where teacher/student relationships are dismissed and the joy of learning is being replaced with fear of failure if not scoring high enough on the standardized tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

Im going to be new at this school in 7th grade because my schoo last year was horrible. I would love this one to be nice and hopefully be some nice kids. :( Wish me luck.


Posted September 26, 2011

After reading some of the most recent previous posts, I would say they are all valid. Not everyone is horrible, there are some kind and caring souls at this school; also some wonderful teachers. with high academic expectations. That said, the school is more similar to a military base than to school. Dress code does seem to be up there on the top of the list, sometimes to the point of ridiculousness! The principle is more concern about policy than individual students, many times policy is in direct opposition of what is good for a particular student. Students are classified by FCAT scores (Yes, really) and as a parent you have NO flexibility to undo a poor placement decision. If you have a child who desires to up the any and try a higher level class, sorry you are already pigeon holed. More parents need to speak up about poor policy. Most parents are too busy earning a living and leave the school in charge of decisions pertaining to their children. Also, everything costs money and lots of it! Not exactly equality in education if you've recently lost a job or don't earn the big bucks. Free after school activities are non-existent and even band class comes with a fee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

This is my child's 8th grade year and he is really looking forward to it. 6th grade was a difficult year of transition, but slowly things improved. Middle school is not a time for parents to unplug - you still need to watch and intervene when necessary. Should you have to, I have found the staff to be very caring. Not everybody - that's not realistic. There are a lot of good people working at FCMS and a lot of good kids, too. Hang in there and ask for help when you need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

over the last couple of years, I have lost faith in the principal, deans, and teachers at FCMS. This school like others in the state is struggling with the new budget cuts, and I think it affects morale. The school now lacks enthusiasm for learning and extracurricular activities. I am actually relieved that this is the last year and my last child to attend FCMS. Looking forward to more involvement by my student and me once he hits high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

This school is very fake. I've had a friend go through depression and drop out because of harrasment. She went to the dean and the students who where bulling her only got a warning and the harrasment continued. She eventualy dropped out and is now in depression. She was going to go to creekside but now she's not because the people of fruit cove. The staff cares more about dress code than the actual students safty and feelings. I've had friends who where being harrased and they got in trouble for nothing and the people who where harrasing them didn't get in any sort of trouble. Not to mention, the teachers are crazy (most of them, not all) all they care about is the school LOOKING good. Once you see the true colors of this school you see how fake it is. I'm in 8th grade and counting down to the days until I can get outta here and praying my friend will come out of depression and go to creekside (although unlikly) Thanks fruit cove, thanks for making the worst middle school expirance for me and my friends......


Posted April 25, 2010

My experiences at FCMS have not been great. Most of the teachers are great but some are horrible, uncaring. I believe the principle is very unfair, also doesn't know whats going on in the school. My daughter is in 8th grade and glad its her last year at FCMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I find that the use of technology is abysmally poor. While teachers and parents are asked to communicate via email, I hardly get any responses to my emails from the teachers. Further, there is no consistency in the use of learning tools amongst various teachers in the same grade. For example, while one science teacher is meticulous in providing online assignments and links to various informative sites for students to visit and learn and practice for FCAT, other science teacher for the same grade is oblivious of the very existence os such resources. Overall a good school. If your child has special needs, then you have to advocate hard to get what you want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Fruit Cove Middle (Go Flyers!!!) For my sixth grade year was pretty good. I liked most my teachers (Advanced) and didn't 'dread' going to school. The principle is very stict about the dress code. Very. So if you are new to the school, make sure everything is within dress code. After school activities are so much fun, I just wish there was more variety. The dances were boring unless you were an eighth grader (They had themes and decorations). I'm going into my seventh grade year and looking forword to cheering at the games!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

Awesome school worthy of anything very clean and I feel safe when I'm at school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

This school is clean and provides me comfortability for it being my first year. The teachers challenge quite enough. I'm in advanced classes now and i'm debating on whether to take AP classes?!. Anyone have any ideas about them?
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

My daughter used to struggle with math and reading, and over the course of 2 years, she is now in adavnced courses for both, due to the outstanding teachers and after-school help sessions. Fruit Cove is a great school and any parent shouldn't give sending their child there a second thought!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Some teachers do not adequetly prpare students for highschool, while others tend to overwork their puplils. Not all classes are entirely efficient or beneficial, though others prepare student for real-life problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

I recently went to a meeting and heard the new principal speak of his ideas and plans for the school...I think he has the right idea. I loved the previous principal, but I think the new one is on target. I am sure there were adjustments during his first year, give me a break, the man is human! But, I think if people would talk with him and inquire about what is going on and see the research instead of going be the experience they had with 1 or 2 teachers, they would have a different attitude and opinion. The nice thing is that there are parents trying to get involved and staff trying to work together with that. I had a few years between one child going to high school and the other child starting middle school, and I'm impressed with the changes, I feel more welcomed participating than before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

Some teachers do not prepare the sutdents well for high school. They spoon feed the test info instead of teaching mote taking and test preparation. They just want the students to get easy A's. There are a few outstanding teachers who not only teach the material, but also do an excellent job of preparing students in high school. Hopefully your child will get these teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

415 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

390 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

454 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

449 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

444 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

449 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

460 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 83%
Hispanic 7%
Asian 5%
Black 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. STEVE C MCCORMICK
Fax number
  • (904) 547-7885

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3180 Race Track Road
Saint Johns, FL 32259
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 547-7880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Promise Land Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Liberty Pines Academy
Saint Johns, FL




St Joseph Catholic School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT