Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 9-12|Public district
1,872 students|Pinellas
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northeast High School 5

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful academies to choice from, technology and finance. For kids who need more help the AVID program is one of the best in the country. Great administration and that starts from the principal. My daughter is finishing up her freshman year and we are very pleased. She is in all honors and AP classes so the kids in her classes are academically driven. It is a large school but if your child is driven the administration and teachers are all there to support your child.

Northeast High School 4

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
This school has two incredible academies to choose from, the Information Technology and the Finance programs, and I am fortunate my daughter has been in the Information Technology program and is about to start her junior year. The school has great resources and really will help out with any parent questions, as long as you just ask. My daughter is excelling in her academics and fortunately has a vast array of courses to keep her interest. She's found great friends in the band, and your child can succeed if they want to. If they aren't interested in focusing and trying, then you'll get nothing more than a generic education no matter where you go. The shear size of the school means that if your child shows no drive, they are not going to coddled. If your student shows a great deal of effort, the teachers and staff will gladly help your child excel.


Northeast High School 3

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
My child is a freshman at NEHI, having come from a private school. As an educator who sometimes taught as a substitute at her private school, Northeast seems no less mediocre than anything else in the existential hum-drum of St. Petersburg. During orientation, the guidance counselors were perceptive, the teachers were receptive, and the leaders were thoughtful and approachable. My child has a the opportunity to experience being a part of a major theatrical production, and has surprising, developed friendships with some solidly good middle-class kids -- there are some there! There are good programs there, and I am pleased that my child is in one of the Institutes. Academics? Not so great, as I hear it, but about what one would expect. Parental 'involvement' there seems to about volunteering -- direct questions to one math teacher via email and voice mail, has brought no response.

Northeast High School 4

Posted January 01, 2009
- a student
High school is high school you can't expect to have this perfect school. Bad things will come from everywhere, but I really do love northeast some of the teachers don't care as much as others, but some are great and will help you find a path to the future, may I reccomend the AVID program if you are needing any help or extra support it is for you, they help you find scholor ships and everything, im not attended in it anymore, though it was helpful to many students. The 4x4 is the best and I know the schools going to have a horrible time next year getting used to that, and rushing our classes now. Northeast is actually really strict, more to freshmans than others, such as dress code, and fights on campus get caught immeadity. We have cameras everywhere.. I can't say anything too bad (:

Northeast High School
no rating

Posted December 30, 2008
- a parent
I have a senior and a sophomore at Northeast. They are happy at Nehi, and both are excelling academically. Northeast has a very diverse student body and lots of programs, sports, and clubs to choose from. If your child works hard and studies, he or she will get a great education. If your child is a slacker, unfortunately he or she will find some company at Nehi as well.


Northeast High School 5

Posted November 15, 2008
- a student
This school has made great strides in helping teachers in the classroom through best and guided practices. The principal has given a voice to both teachers and students in the development of a holistic learning environment, conducive to success

Northeast High School 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
Northeast has great academies and great fundimental programs.

Northeast High School 1

Posted April 14, 2008
- a teacher
It starts from the top. The reason this school gets such low marks and has a terrible reputation isn't because the teachers don't care about the kids or because they don't know how to teach or even because the kids can be more difficult. It's because the administration -from the principle to the assistant principles try their hardest to make this a hostile work environment. It's no secret that they like to flex their muscles and feel the power that they have but the problem is that it is always the to determent of the school environment. Most teachers (if not with the 'in' group) are constantly haggled by the admins which interferes with daily school life - and the students are the ones who ultimately pay the price. If I could give this school a negative rating I would.


Northeast High School 2

Posted February 12, 2008
- a student
Because of a new magnet program building up there--the Todd Center, there has been more challenges in my classes. Plus the 4x4 class schedule system is wonderful! The Math and Science teachers are the best.

Northeast High School 1

Posted October 15, 2007
- a student
The leadership and overall help of the staff/administration is pathetic. I would strongly suggest not attending this school for your child's sake, the students are not taken seriously. My personal recommendation do not attend this school.

Nearby schools

Northeast High School
5500 16th Street North, Saint Petersburg, FL  33703
(727) 570-3138
Last modified Northeast High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top