Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Galileo School For Gifted Learning

Charter | K-5 | 223 students

Our school is best known for being innovative and student-centered
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

Our son is about to complete kindergarten at Galileo. We couldn't be more pleased and fell truly blessed to have found and have our son enrolled at Galileo. The school uses gifted learning principles (Renzulli) and does not restrict admissions to gifted students. The lottery system is an unfortunate requirement of charter schools, but their funding is controlled by the county and their space is limited. While I can sympathize with parents who feel it is unfair to admit siblings and children of staff, if you think about it, how would any alternative be better? I would encourage parents who feel excluded due to timing or any other issue to contact the school. There are supplemental lotteries that are held to keep students at every available desk. We have found the staff to be very accommodating and approachable. Galileo's results speak for themselves on paper, if you could meet the staff, teachers, and especially the kids, you would know their approach is working. Hopefully the county will take notice and not only increase Galileo's funding, but consider additional charter schools utilizing their principles. We wouldn't want Galileo itself to get too big, size changes things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

This would great if you were already part of the school system, however it's not enough/falls short. Good luck moving Seminole County with gifted children. The application is due in January and the LOTTERY is held in March, to late for those moving over the summer with gifted children. Not only are children of siblings allowed spots in the school even if not identified as gifted, but so are children of staff.


Posted April 9, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this school ! We are so grateful to the teachers, staff and leadership at Galileo. Our daughter has thrived academically and socially. The family environment and parent involvement is inspiring. We are truly one family, doing the best for our children and with their guidance and knowledge, providing the best for our children's future. This charter school is better than any public or private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

We have had such an awesome and refreshing experience at Galileo. Their project based learning has helped my children really develop a love of learning again. The teachers and staff have a genuine love for teaching and the kiddos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I feel so lucky that my child attends Galileo. Galileo is a beautiful blend of home school, public, and private school kids who parents have the same desire to have the best education for their children. I was looking for a school that believed in acceleration and differentiation, who believe in teaching deeper & boarder. Not just harder work sheets. I love that that my child has two specials a day. My child loves that SHE gets to pick what SHE wants to do after lunch...will it be Legos on Monday, crafts on Tuesday, recess on Wednesday...it's her choice. The real heart of the school is Project Learning and Creative Productivity. This is where your child gets to apply their knowledge, create & present. It will blow you away every two weeks when it repeats with a new theme. I am a parent who has been here from day one, believe me they have had their "growing pains". This is a school that listens (and requests) parent input. My voice is heard! It's amazing that Galileo scored #1 in state in FCAT their first year & second year. It just shows if you teach to learn, you will succeed and have happy learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Galileo school for gifted learning is the best school for gifted kids or any kid . They teach so kids understand the material, when they get it it isn't repeated over and over they move on and teach new things so the kids are never bored there is always new things to learn.


Posted July 29, 2013

Galileo is an amazing school! Although the school is designated as a gifted learning school, your child does not have to be gifted to attend. The teachers and staff are wonderful and have your child's best interests at heart. My child loves going to school every day and is excited to learn new things. The combination of hands-on learning and technology is just what I was looking for in an elementary school. Extra programs give the children the creative freedom they need. They strive to meet the individual needs of each child. It truly feels like a family. Parent involvement at the school is impressive, much more than I had expected. Overall it has been a great experience so far. The third year of this school is just about to begin and I'm looking forward to all of the new things that will be taking place. Proud to be a Dragon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

Galileo is a great school. However, we are extremely unpleased with the current principal, who seems to believe she can make the rules as she sees fit. The school will be much better off when she leaves and the board will be able to find someone more suitable and less interested in pressing her own personal agenda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

Every child is different--and parents have varying beliefs about education. School districts are offering parents more variety than ever. Magnet and charter school options give parents a better chance of finding the right fit for their family. We choose Galileo School in Sanford. We have very high expectations when it comes to school, especially at the elementary level. We believe strongly in a "whole child" approach to education that focuses on social, emotional, and academic development. I feel that my children aren't "lost in the shuffle" at this school and that the teachers, counselors, and administrators are truly striving to meet their individual needs. This charter school is only in its second year, so there are certainly areas that could be improved. However, this is the case with any school. My children get up excited about school each day. They have frequent opportunities to engage in hands-on learning, and they get the chance to be kids! Cooperative learning occurs often, and teachers use technology to improve instruction. While the curriculum is accelerated, I find that they aren't overloaded with too much homework, leaving time for outside interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

What a wonderful school for gifted students. But please note, being gifted is not a criteria at all. Therefore gifted children who is in serious need for gifted education can be rejected for admission to give room for average students who don't need this as much. They use a lottery for the yearly admission and a waiting list during the year with no priorities for the truly gifted children in need.


Posted October 20, 2012

So excited that my child goes here! This is a great school who believes that "teaching to the test" is not the way our children need to learn. We need to teach our children what they need to know, THEN they will be able to pass any test. This past year was the first year for this school and all of our students SOARED on the FCAT. They got first place in the county for every section of the FCAT with the exception of 2 area, one where they tied for first (so they were still first) and one where they missed first by 2 points I believe. Definitely glad that we are GALILEO DRAGONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

Some bumps along the way in year 1, but happy with the results in the classroom and committed parents to making it a success
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Asian 13%
Hispanic 12%
Black 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Female 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%53%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE NUNEZ
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Schoolwide Enrichment Model
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We welcome ALL Seminole County students to apply for enrollment. We hold a random lottery at various points throughout the year for school admissions. Our Mission: The Galileo School for Gifted Learning provides innovative, research-based education in a nurturing environment for gifted and talented students and those who want to learn in a gifted learning environment that will challenge and motivate them to pursue their passionate interests in service to others
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2251 Jitway Avenue
Sanford, FL 32771
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 249-9221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT