Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,565 students|Seminole
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sanford Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 12, 2015
- a community member
GEMS gives a math worksheet every night, you will most likely have a project due over the week end

Sanford Middle School 4

Posted December 12, 2015
- a community member
Sanford MIddle is a great stem magnet. I have heard reports of a few "intense arguments" through my first year here but so far I havent been on the wrong end of anything. If you can get into the Aeronautics class it is the best, the teacher is a B-52 pilot and you get to fly plane simulators. The reason I rate it 4 stars is that sometimes the kids there I'm surprised they made it to 7th/8th grade. All they do is mess around at lunch and do nothing. There are also kids I am surprised aren't in high school. Some of the 8th graders are like 6 feet tall I swear. Other than that, the school is very well maintained and cool! ADVICE IF YOU GO HERE: Try to avoid getting to the Building 2 stairwell by the media center late. It gets really bad if you do. -- Don't mess around with the 8th graders. Seriously. -- Get to class quickly. --


Sanford Middle School 1

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
The students that are from India and or from Asia have taken over the gifted program and the stem program. (See photos at the school website of the robotics team, chess team, math team etc). Too many staff members have given up on educating the students that live in-zone (a historically African American neighborhood), but they are very good about holiday food drives for them and providing free school supplies and back packs for the in-zone kids. At Sanford Middle students get away with violence against other students, reason being that the administration does not want an "official" record of violence at the school (due to the numbers that would have to reported to the school district). If your child is gifted and talented and you happen to live out of zone and If you are not from India and or Asia, consider sending your child to the gifted program at the school you are zoned for - you may not want to have your child travel far every day to attend this school (unless of course you happen to be from India and or you are Asian and then your child will probably fit right in).

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Challenging curriculum, exciting electives, teachers who care, Sanford Middle has it all. My son is in the magnet/pre Ib program and is loving it. We are zoned for a great middle school but so glad we chose SMS!

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
We are zoned for Markham middle but were lucky enough to be selected to attend Sanford. I am very impressed with the teaching staff. The IB program is exceptional. The teachers are very knowledgeable and passionate about the subjects they teach. I can see this through my son's eagerness to attend school. The teachers make the subjects interesting and fun. My son has learned so much in less than a year. I'm very impressed with the courses offered


Sanford Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school for kids that have prospects in life. Especially the I. B Program. If a child want to become great in life, this is the starting point. Parents are also involved in d school activities. The teachers are amazing! They prepare kids for the real world and encouraes them to stay focus. Sometimes I think its too much for them but with Parents support and encouragement they always come out the best. You will never regret SMS. They have a Great Team.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a community member
I am a student of SMS. This is really a great school especially the programes ,It looks too much for us student some times but the teachers make it fun for us and with the encouragement of our parents and all the staff of SMS we always succeed . I would like to thank the government, the principal and all staff of SMS for the support in providing school supplies, books and quality teachers and encouraging school enviroment to beautify our life's for this beautiful nation.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a community member
I am a student here at sanford middle and despite being in an uncomfortable neighborhood, its a great school. their science electives are great, i have had 3 high school courses, and the teachers are great (99% of the time) my only problem is the deans are too worried about catching bad kids that they sometimes will make false accusations against innocent ones but it normally turns out fine in the end but it should not worry you. this school should definitely stand out if your in seminole county. mellenium milwee and south seminole may be great but sanford is the best.


Sanford Middle School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a community member
Awesome school, great programs! The teachers really want the students to succeed, and work with them! I had a lot of fun when i was there, and i learned a lot more then i would have at another school.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
This is an excellent school with rigorous programs. Excellent teachers and very good web based communication tools like black board which includes course information, homework help, course materials in various formats like power point, various web links etc. My 6th grade daughter, with little motivation, works on her own. The entire school management rewards students frequently on quarterly basis to motivate achieving students to do even better. Great pre-IB programs and useful real life electives. I rate this school A+ !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sanford Middle School
1700 South French Avenue, Sanford, FL  32771
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (407) 320-6150
Last modified Sanford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top