Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seminole High School

Public | PK, 9 | 3067 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

Let me first start off by saying this is my alma mater. and though I now go to USF I am forever a Seminole at heart. I graduated in 2012 from the Health Academy with my CNA license. This school is fantastic. What I love most is how it is practically in the heart of Sanford. Here you find people from all walks of life (not to mention different cities) which, in my opinion, rounds one out and makes them more understanding to those who are more/less fortunate than them. Going back to the education, the health academy is the best thing I could have done. Everything covered will help you if you go into something health related in college and studying the word parts will continue to help you learn words of all sorts. Not to mention the health teachers are amazing (I had Mrs.Miller, Mrs. Harper and Mrs. Bryan)! As for the other teachers you will have some good, some bad, and some you just don't know what to think. All in all Seminole High School is a fantastic school to build character and, of course, to get a great education. GO NOLES!


Posted March 18, 2014

Hello! I am a senior at this school amd have attended SHS for all four years. Not once have I felt in danger because of the "area" and yes the buildings may be old but the school in itself is very old. I was pleased with the school, the teachers... everybody and am proud to say that I will graduate from this lovely school in may of 2014. :)


Posted March 13, 2014

It is a great school, with many students, in every school there are bad people, but in a High School that has over 3500 students it is one of the high schools with smartest kids in Florida. The academic team always wins, the band is great, new buildings, mostly great teachers, a lot of electives from swimming, to 3Dart, to auto repair, to dancing, also 2 great award winning magnet programs: Health Academy and IB, also a lot of school spirit and huge campus.


Posted February 6, 2013

I currently go to Seminole and I am in the health academy program in all honors classes. Overall the program is good, but I was not happy with the school in general. The area is pretty bad and the buildings are just kind of run down and not very well kept. Also, the athletics are not good at all, with the exception of the dance team. The teachers that I have are good, but the environment of the school is just something you can't look past. I am definitely not going there next year!


Posted November 1, 2012

Our son graduated from Seminole last year. He had been in the IB program, hoever, thank goodness we took him out. He told us that kids in the program were so stressed out they used drugs to relax. This is a big price to pay for education. Our son was bullied on a daily basis and when we contacted the school administration they did try to help. Unfortunately, when a student turns in another student for bullying it only makes that situation worse. My advice, find another school. I wish we had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

There is a certain type of bond that we, the students at seminole have with the school. A bond that no one can break. Seminole is our heart and our soul. The academics at seminole high are outstanding 10/10! Amazing teachers in standard, honors, advanced placement, and IB. These teachers know how to build strong relationships with us students and teach us with great understanding. If you wish to finish off the last 4 years of your child's grade school life here, you have made the right choice. I hope my review influenced some curious wanderers of the internet.


Posted July 28, 2011

i dont really understand why parents send there students to seminole, im going there now and im scared everyday because of how dangerous the students are i highly told the princabal but he did nothing. please what ever you do, do not send your student here you will regret it!! i mean to describe the life at seminole the students walk all over the staff and have broken every rule they have, violence is everywhere you look.


Posted March 10, 2011

this school is not the best. I am a sophmore at seminole and in the honors program. none of the teachers can control there classroom and the adminastration only cares about you if your in the IB or health program. The security is poor and so is the adminastration. I've actually been looking into dif. schools because i'm over seminole.


Posted September 30, 2010

I am a student in the Academy of Health Careers at SHS. The Academy is, I think, the best program Seminole has to offer. The teachers are caring and extremely well trained. They seem to go out of their way to make the students feel welcome and cared about. The principal is always present around the campus and that fact, along with strong administration, makes the school safe. With AP and honors classes, along with the IB program, Seminole has the best, and some of the most challenging, academics in the county. The extracurricular activities are outstanding as well. I am a member of the Band and the school's weight lifting team.


Posted October 6, 2009

The teachers are tougher. Parent involvement (e-mail). The school provides healthier lunch's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I love Seminole High for the opportunities it provides to my children, Both of my children, one a senior and one a sophmore this year are in the IB program at Seminole HIgh. It is a very challenging and rewarding program with well trained, wonderful, caring and supportive teachers and counselors. Thumbs up to Seminole High and all it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Seminole High school has opened many doors for me through the IB program. I am a senior at Seminole and participate on their lacrosse team. The IB teaching staff have been so helpful and informative in the 4 years I have attended Seminole. We also happen to be the 2008-2009 High School Football State Champs! GO NOLES!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

Go Noles! I am not only a parent of soon-to-be 3 graduates of Seminole and 1 getting ready to enter the Academy of Health Careers next year, but I am also a 1985 graduate from Seminole. Seminole was a great school there, with an undeserving reputation, but is a much, much better school now. Finally, after so many years of being neglected by the School Board, Seminole gained what it always deserved...recognition for its great education, great diversity, great extra curricular activities, great teachers and great leadership. For so many years schools in the north end of Seminole County have been neglected due to the 'location.' Because of the desegregation law suit imposed on Seminole county several years ago, these schools have been given the attention and resources they so well-deserved years ago. Academy of Health Careers is the way to go. Mrs. Maguire is the best. Go Noles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Seminole High is a very diversified school with excellent programs (IB & Health Academy). Seminole County, FL has made wise choices with regards to administration which makes this the best 'academic' county in FL. Go 'Noles!!! Go 'Noles!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

i love it; it has a great enviorment to the whole campus
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

I have a daughter in the IB who will be a senior, and I have a son who is in the Health Academy. I am also a Alumni of Seminole High I love this school and with teh direction of Walt Griffin at Millineium Middle and then to SHS and now over sees all the Secondary Schools for Seminole County this county will blossom. It already teh best in Central Florida but I would like to see it teh best in Florida. For anyone new to the school or been in Seminole district their whole lifes my suggestion is get involved in extra curricluar activities. There is something for everyone. THIS SCHOOL IS GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

My son is a freshman at Seminole in the IB Program. He loves the program and says what he loves is that the school has many traditions that are carried out year to year. I find him to have increased motivation and drive since starting here. The school had a mandatory summer class that helped him to define his goals and learn organizational and study skills. I would suggest that if you are considering sending your child here, that you encourage them to attend either the IB Program or the Health Academy. Like any school this one has its share of kids who are not motivated and who are a disruptive element. My son is a member of the Pride of the Tribe, Marching Seminoles and is loving every minute of it. The School's population has a welcome diversity allowing the kids and parents to learn about one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

Seminole High School is probably the best high school in seminole county. It has gone from a D school to a B in only two years. I am currently enrolled and I enjoy going to school. I have been in both IB and honors level classes and recive a great education. My teachers are smart, witty, fun, and not at all rude. The kids there are great there is always something fun going on. The school offers a ton of extracurricular actvities. I am in 5 after school activities, including The Pide of the Tribe Marching Seminoles. Take my word this school rocks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

I am a former graduate of Seminole high school and I am filled with Noles Pride. In response to the comments made about our performing arts dept, we are the best in Seminole County. But what these commentators don't understand is we sing and excel in choral and popular music. All schools in Seminole county audition for Disney's Candlelight Processional and Seminole high school is always given the most accolades and the most shows. Not to mention the fact that our teachers are overwhelmed with jobs offers from other schools because they want the legacy in the dance and choral programs that Seminole has. But our teachers will never leave Seminole because it is where their hearts are. The thing all these outsiders fail to realize is that Seminole has the same issues other schools face; however, what we have that they don't is the undeniable pride in every Nole.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2007

Since 2003 the FCAT scores have steadily climbed in all areas. It is a safe and diverse school filled with caring teachers. Hard work is required of all students.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

799 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Black 23%
Hispanic 20%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 168%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 78%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%53%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star School Award (2007)
  • Top 1/2 of 1% in the nation by Newsweek Magazine (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:10am
School end time
  • 2:10pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. CONNIE COLLINS
Fax number
  • (407) 320-5024

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2701 Ridgewood Avenue
Sanford, FL 32773
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-5050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT