Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Goldsboro Elementary Magnet

Public | PK-5 | 653 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

It was my sons choice in the middle of 3rd grade to go to this school and he loves it. The teachers are awesome. I get an e-mail every week with spelling words and what will be covered ( 5h grade). Three are so many dedicated teachers - the clubs/activities he is in or has been in are robotics, SECME, running, chess, patrol boy, news crew, and I am sure i missed a couple. He does not want to leave to go to middle school. His grades and FCAT test scores have improved each year. The advanced curriculm is fantastic. His favorite teacher Mr Finkle is a math teacher this would not have happened 3 years ago at Heathrow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Goldsboro is a fantastic school in many ways!!! The teachers and support staff are THE BEST, the diversity of students represents the USA not just the local neighborhood where the students live, seeing how and where other children live has expanded my children's reality and has better prepared them for their future, the special services for kids with special needs are so valued. We have 3 boys at the school and our daughter will also attend starting in 2015. We drive 25 minutes 1-way so our kids can attend and our kids love going to school everyday!!!! Goldsboro and its students would really put any additional funds so great use.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Goldsboro Elementary Magnet School in Sanford, Florida is a magnet school for science, technology and math. Students from around Seminole County Florida apply to attend. From the PTA to the safety patrol, involvement is awesome. Students recite and live the GEMS STARS pledge daily: Stay Safe, Think Before you Act, Accept Responsibility, Respect everyone and everything, Strive for Success. The morning announcements keep everyone informed and fit! There are many clubs to participate in: Fit Club, Lego Robotics, Garden Club, Odyssey of the Mind, SEME, Goldsboro Sound.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Goldsboro Elementary is an Amazing place to go to school! My child enjoys participating in the many extra activities the school has to offer such as Fitness Club, Lego Club, Odyssey of the Mind, Chorus and many more! The teachers are caring and the leadership of the school is as well. This school focuses on teaching students to be well rounded and the school even has a working student garden where classes sprout, grow and harvest their own vegetables! Mrs. Hess, the Science Lab teacher, heads up Fitness Club and the student garden. We have an "A" rated neighborhood school but drive our child 20 minutes each way twice a day so he can attend Goldsboro. The PTA is outstanding as well. A committed group of parents who work for the good of the school, teachers and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

This school is awesome. We have great talented teachers, dedicated staff, outstanding administration. We have great clubs, good grades & awesome kids. I love my kids' school. They love to go to school & they are passion about their school & their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

Math and Science Magnet school Excellent teachers, and an excellent front office staff. Ms. Garcia and Mrs. Green are so caring and thoughtful. Grade K was very hard for my daughter due to separation anxiety and they did everything possible to smooth the transition from 1/2 day preK to full time school. This year as a first grader she is like an old pro. Ms. Buffington is "the best teacher ever" according to my daughter. This is my son's 5th year at Goldsboro. He loves the school too. He speaks so highly about the staff there, esp. his favorite teacher, Mr. Finkle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

THIS SCHOOL STRIVES FOR SUCCESS IN ALL THEIR STUDENTS. I JUST WISH MORE SCHOOLS WOULD SHOW THIS TYPE OF APPRECIATION. THE SCHOOL DISCIPLINE IS AWESOME THE BEHAVOIRAL SPECIALIST HAS THE SCHOOL LOCKED CAN'T NOTHING GET BYPASS MR. COREY YOUR AWESOME. THE INVOLVEMENT THE SCHOOL ENDURES THROUGHOUT TO KEEP THE PARENTS , STUDENTS, AND TEACHERS TO INTERACT WITH EACH OTHER IS AWESOME
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

This year is the first time both of our children are attending Goldsboro Elementary Magnet School (GO GEMS!). We are very happy with both of our kids' teachers..they are kind, observant, disciplined yet fair, and intelligent people. You can tell that they really want to be there and enjoy their work. The parents at this school are very involved and the overall feeling we get from the school is that your kids are safe and cared for and that their education is a top priority at GEMS. We love our school and the staff at Goldsboro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My grand daughter Mounica Suresh Kumar from India, Tamil Nadu is studying in your school Her all activities are good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

I first want to say that this school has by far exceeded my expectations. Their attention to the success of each and every student is amazing. The front desk is staffed by Ms. Garciga who is exactly the type of person you want to have as your first impression. She is not only excellent at her job but does it in a way that shows her compassion for the students and parents. The principals are great as well. Just sitting back and watching their interactions with students helps you as a parent to feel at ease knowing that your children are in good hands. Now, I would like to talk about Ms. McNeal. She is a kindergarten angel. She is the most amazing educator. She not only teaches the children the tools necessary to be successful but does it in a way that makes each child feel loved, cared about, and very special. Each every morning when I drop my son off at GEMS, I feel that he is being well cared for by people who love what they do and who have his best interest in mind. Thank you GEMS staff for making this 1st time experience one that we will never forget!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

Goldsboro is a fantastic school, one of the best in the state. There is a long waiting list for this school, and we are so glad our child got in. As a math & science magnet, students have access to unique space, science and technology enrichment activities. But it is not just for science whiz kids - the language arts are also top notch and I've been impressed by the literacy teachers. Goldsboro recently won the 2011 Reading Leadership Team of the Year for the whole state of Florida. They set high expectations for students and challenge them to do their best. My child is happy and excited about school. Choosing Goldsboro was the best decision. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

GEMS has a tremendous staff and faculty. The PTA is very involved. The emphasis on math, science and technology is incredible, but the arts aren't left out either. The student body has an inclusive, friendly vibe. The campus is very secured - the staff is well versed on keeping it that way. We are so glad to have chosen and been accepted by GEMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The teachers, curriculum, parents, and the students ROCK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Great teachers and curriculum. GEMS has resources to teach the high performing children as well as all others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My son has had a great experience at Goldsboro. They are a NASA Explorer school and truly committed to Math and Science Education. The faculty and adminstration are committed to the success of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Goldsboro teachers/staff are passionate about the childrens education and safety---well being. The school is very considerate to the parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

I have never seen teachers so enthusiastic about teaching kids. You can tell that they really care about the students and about giving these kids a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Goldsboro elem. Allows my grandson to have a fullfilled education by some excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

It is just a really good school. He has great teachers and has had since kindergarten. My two eldest kids attended this school as well and I definitely see the improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I love this school my son went there K-5 and is a gifted student. I have two other sons also attending. I love that they don't push cursive writing since it's now obsolete, however I would love to have them learn to type. The school administration and teachers are the best. I highly recommend Ms. Bemiller and Ms. M. Brown.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 32%
White 31%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 12%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. KEATON SCHREINER
Fax number
  • (407) 320-5896

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 West 20th Street
Sanford, FL 32771
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-5850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





1st Choice Academy
Sanford, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT