Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology

Public | 9-12 | 612 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

Poor. Terribly poor. First and foremost. My daughter went here and it ruined her life. The teachers are just as troublemaking as the students. They don't like you for no reason ! and my daughter is a nice and decent girl, but the students could not stand her, BUT god be with them. God knows and sees my daughter was here for an education, and they eventually lead her to drop out, I hope class of 2011, is satisfied. The only teacher to give recognition is Mr. Bandali. I recommend you run! and run very very far when approaching this "highschool".


Posted April 25, 2014

Worst! School I have attended. Did not help my future. I DON'T know what everyone is talking about because I went there in 2007 and it was a terrible experience. If it worked for you that is terrific. No one liked me for no apparent reason, all races, all shapes and sizes, and you wear uniforms there, might as well you go to a school that doesn't wear uniforms, unlike this with too much troublemaking students. I would like you all to know you did well, but there is a god watching! In case you haven't noticed. One more note, there is no BPA, so you need to stop! It's nonsense. Also, you were too young to have so much hatred.


Posted January 31, 2014

Crooms is a rather lower-grade school than they like to flaunt themsleves. Having signed up for this place, I felt there would be an atmosphere of good technology, above that of every other school in Seminole County, and that the kids who wouldn't want to work wouldn't survive. I thought it was the perfect replacement to public school that would be better, but boy was I wrong. The school literally handholds the kids who don't want to work to doing their work so they can stay in. Even then, half the time we don't learn. Teachers either use lynda.com or a powerpoint off the internet. Some teachers even use Florida Virtual School for their teachings. The only good teachers I've had are the ones in the entertainment electives. Everyone else is either uninterested or a total jerk. Their hardware and a majority of their software is out of date. XP-made machines running 7. You have to pay $100 down for laptop replacement, but it doesn't cover things like chargers. And your students, not you, have to sign agreements to avoid detention. Overall, not the great school to that they make themselves out to be. Just a dumping ground for parents who don't want their kids attending Seminole High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2013

Best things about this school is the size and the fact that kids aren't zoned for it - which means someone (kid or parent) cares about education. Makes a difference in the over all quality of the student body. My son just graduated and they offer a lot of dual enrollment and a motivated student can graduate with some certifications and college classes that will really help them in getting a good job and getting into college. Overall the teachers were good - they do care about the students; but will also let them fail (if the kids are making bad decisions). The principal is moving to Seminole High. The sports programs could improve - but they have a decent varsity boys soccer team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

I'd end up writing 3000 characters of details to go into how this school has an illusion of magnificence. To put it short, most teachers don't teach, a few are even horrid and rather cruel. I've had a teacher who put down the entire class because one student got a question wrong, and even got involved in personal lives for no good purposes. The technology is rather behind, hardware and mostly-software-wise. We have the money to pay for the entire Adobe Master Collection CS6, all Autodesk software, etc., but the stuff for running web content is behind monthes, maybe a year in updates. The staff usually doesn't do anything to help a student who has a problem, usual response is to "deal with it." One student had a teacher who forced her into an Honors-level course when she wanted Standard, and the staff did nothing to fix it. The only plus sides are how the school has a focus on technology and certifications for getting in a good place in the IT field, be it for the computers or the entertainment. The uniform code we have is lenient. Dye your hair pink, they don't care. If you're planning to come here, come here for the IT education, not the "perfect school" of Seminole County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2010

I'm a student graduating the 2010 school year. I attended crooms for two years and winter springs high school for two years. The guidance works more with you to get into college at crooms but i feel you see and interact with the winter springs staff more. Crooms lacks the money to afford good equipment for their gym classes, its all old or passed down. The clubs aren't really there, they tend to fall apart after the first month of school. There tends to be alot of arguing with the staff of crooms. The teachers are more leant into what the students do. Personally i believe my two years spent at crooms should have been spent at winter springs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

This was a perfect school match for my son. They offer a variety of classes with small class sizes and definitely equip the students for college (or career). The teachers assist with completing the FAFSA- offer SAT prep and tutoring of Math and Reading. The principal, Dr. Collins, was awarded Principal of the Year for all of Seminole County and maintains an open door policy. 8th graders with an inclination for technology should definitely consider this an option! Class sizes are kept small, so apply early. It is a very tight knit community with an active parental involvement. 5 STARS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

awesome school. small class sizes. i want to be intechnology but changed my mind to medicene but the school still taught me many important things plus knowing how to work a computer always helps. its in a ok neighborhood but nothing really happens its just a historic part of town and may be described as ghetto but it isnt. nothing ever happens there...well at least bad things
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2009

I feel the students who are saying that this school is lacking teachers who can actually teach are wrong. The teachers here are great. You do need to be motivated to go here in order to do well and excel . But besides that the IT courses are awesome. If you come here , you will need to challenge yourself . But in the end it will pay off. Trust Me!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2009

Crooms is a pretty good place to go as far as schools go. I think the smaller school size has helped me a lot. I came here for the technology, but if you find that this is not your chosen field, you will be very disillusioned as you go along. All in all though, you will get a lot out of it if you put a lot into it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

This is a great school for kids mainly interested in Technology. The Programming and Web Design progams are on par with most colleges and university's. I've known kids who were able to get web design jobs right out of high school. While the IT areas are exceptional, the school lags behind in other areas. The English and Social Studies programs are a joke. These teachers don't care about teaching kids who only interested in computers about literature, government, or any other social science. Great school, Great Administrators, Great IT program, Sub par core classes
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

Awesome IT School, makes the best non-magnet schools in the county look pathetic. The only bad thing is the area it is in, but when you step foot inside Crooms, you enter a different world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

I say this as a student, Crooms is like a 2.5 out of 5. You need to be able to stand up for your self to go there
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

Best local school bye far,smaller class size is just whats needed. A place for your child to grow and aspire
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

The quality of Crooms has dropped greatly in the recent years. I m a 2005 graduate, the first graduating class. I have noticed my predecessors have been in a steady decline of intellectuals. I remember the days when Crooms was thought to be the 'Geek School' where intellectuals could go and seek out higher education and social surroundings that would be superior to the public schools. The school does not keep to the original standards that it had made for itself. 'Maintaining a GPA of 2.5' for example, but yet they still keep students who can't meet that standard. This sadly, is a distraction for the other students and lowers the schools scores and integrity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2006

Great high school if you are looking for a small envioronment and personal attention for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

Crooms is an excellent school for today's children. The quality of the leadership is outstanding and the faculty creates an environment for learning within the school and beyond the school itself. The young adults seem to thrive and encourage each other to reach beyond their grasp for new worlds to conquer. My son has combined his own enthusiam for learning with the solid opportunity that Crooms provides for him. Any child that does not take full advantage of the positives that Crooms has to offer has only himself or herself to blame. That child, in particular, would have the same problems at any other school. Many of today's Crooms parents are envious of the Crooms experience that there children are having. I am delighted that my son's friends gather over the summer to enlighten and enrich each other socially and educationally. Top Notch in all respects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

Crooms is the best kept secret in Seminole County! Students in the 10th grade are already earning college credits in networking and AP classes. Dr. Collins has always made herself available to meet with parents -- my son is excelling academically and socially. Students are equipped not only for IT positions but prepared for college, also. All in all, a wonderful high school for students who are computer minded and entering the IT field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

CAIT is a cut above. All parents need do is visit the school. My daughter attends the school and loves the small class sizes and the teachers who really care. If this were a private school it would cost thousands of dollars to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2004

I feel the quality of this school has dropped a significant amount. The Crooms of 2004 is a mere shadow of it s formal self in 2001. The principle is seen probably only 4-5 times in an entire school year. The teacher quality has dropped from what it was, the English teacher who made those incredible high FCAT scores possible no longer works there they have gotten rid of teachers due to the fact that they can t handle teaching. Safety and discipline, there has been arrests due to drug trafficking within the school. I say overall quality of Crooms in 2001 was a 5 and in 2004 it s a low 3. Many of the original enrolled students have left due to this.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
88%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 22%
Black 16%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 98%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEMETRIA HAYES
Fax number
  • (407) 320-5798

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 West 13th Street
Sanford, FL 32771
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-5750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

1st Choice Academy
Sanford, FL


Journeys Academy
Sanford, FL



Endeavor School
Lake Mary, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT