Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

652 students|Seminole
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a student
rampant cheating, dishonesty, skipping lack of respect for education or honor code is displayed by students daily.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 2

Posted January 20, 2016
- a student
Crooms is a waste of time to anyone who wants a decent high school experience or an exciting education. You will find most of the teachers at Crooms to be either incompetent or mean spirited,most classes will either be extremely easy or unreasonably hard. The technology is years behind and, is almost obsolete when compared to current computers. Administration consists of bothersome troublemakers who make issues with students. Crooms lacks the heart and soul needed for a good school.Why would I want to go to a school when even the faculty doesn't care about it themselves? Dont waste your time or your freshman year.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 2

Posted August 04, 2015
- a student
Even though I had made many friends at Crooms, it was still a horrible school. The guidance counselors and staff do not care for the students at all. Unless you are getting bad grades, they will not talk to you. They will laugh at you. The staff will blame every problem you have on you. If the students work was not up to their standards, the teacher would bully the student in front of the class. I wish I had the option to leave while I was still there. The school is getting stricter and stricter about uniforms each year. They used to have many NUT days (non uniform day), but now they have none. The classes are okay. They are not the best, but they are not the worse. Some of the classes are a joke, but some are very challenging. All depends on the teacher. Most of the students would cheat on the assignments. Since every student has a laptop, everyone can google the answers, or send their documents to each other. This is how most of the students passed their classes. Unless you live next to Crooms, I would not recommend it. The 1 hour bus ride, to and from school, is not worth it. You could get better information at your zoned school, especially since most Seminole County schools now have computer classes. All Crooms cares about is their 'A Rating'.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted October 07, 2014
- a student
It's a technology school, which means that you must be very interested in IT before hand to appreciate what they offer here. If your are so-so in the tech scene then you should consider not going. Now if you or your child is very interested in working in IT then consider going, but make sure you go into the AA program because it gives them a lot of opportunities. I am surprised at some of the students here. I thought going in that my fellow students would be respectful and care about their education, but a lot of students are just down right troublemakers that don't do work. What's even worse is that they hold those students hands through so they don't get kicked out. Yes they boast themselves with impressive test scores and records but those are just statistics, you need to go there to know how it really is. From what I have heard is that it used to be a very good and challenging school, but I wouldn't be sure. If you are not in AP or dual-enrollment then the difficulty and challenge of classes are a joke. Even some dual-enrollment classes are a breeze too for most people too. All I say is to know what you or your child wants their career to be when they grow up before going.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted September 17, 2014
- a student
Continuation of previous review posted. Another thing that is wrong with this school is the core classes, most of them are a complete utter joke. For any real "challenge" you have to take AP, but if you know the material just take it online as the classes will just needlessly bog you down with assignment after assignment because apparently overwhelming force is the biggest challenge offered, most of the teachers just seem so uninterested and bored. But the biggest offense of the whole school is the "technology". This could easily be made into a big paper, but I will try to condense it. The technology is just terrible, but it is a public school so I can't be too harsh. The desktops are all machines obviously made to run XP/Vista but run overbloated images of Windows 7. The laptops though are the worst offender. They can be awfully nice but its so locked down you may as well not even have it, its only good for word processing or if it has specific software you need for a class. If you find any way to run programs on it, don't tell anyone because it will just spread and it will be locked. Overall though, the school isn't bad. Its just not the "best school" it flaunts itself to be.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 1

Posted May 02, 2014
- a community member
Poor. Terribly poor. First and foremost. My daughter went here and it ruined her life. The teachers are just as troublemaking as the students. They don't like you for no reason ! and my daughter is a nice and decent girl, but the students could not stand her, BUT god be with them. God knows and sees my daughter was here for an education, and they eventually lead her to drop out, I hope class of 2011, is satisfied. The only teacher to give recognition is Mr. Bandali. I recommend you run! and run very very far when approaching this "highschool".

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 1

Posted April 25, 2014
- a community member
Worst! School I have attended. Did not help my future. I DON'T know what everyone is talking about because I went there in 2007 and it was a terrible experience. If it worked for you that is terrific. No one liked me for no apparent reason, all races, all shapes and sizes, and you wear uniforms there, might as well you go to a school that doesn't wear uniforms, unlike this with too much troublemaking students. I would like you all to know you did well, but there is a god watching! In case you haven't noticed. One more note, there is no BPA, so you need to stop! It's nonsense. Also, you were too young to have so much hatred.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 2

Posted January 31, 2014
- a student
Crooms is a rather lower-grade school than they like to flaunt themsleves. Having signed up for this place, I felt there would be an atmosphere of good technology, above that of every other school in Seminole County, and that the kids who wouldn't want to work wouldn't survive. I thought it was the perfect replacement to public school that would be better, but boy was I wrong. The school literally handholds the kids who don't want to work to doing their work so they can stay in. Even then, half the time we don't learn. Teachers either use lynda.com or a powerpoint off the internet. Some teachers even use Florida Virtual School for their teachings. The only good teachers I've had are the ones in the entertainment electives. Everyone else is either uninterested or a total jerk. Their hardware and a majority of their software is out of date. XP-made machines running 7. You have to pay $100 down for laptop replacement, but it doesn't cover things like chargers. And your students, not you, have to sign agreements to avoid detention. Overall, not the great school to that they make themselves out to be. Just a dumping ground for parents who don't want their kids attending Seminole High.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 4

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
Best things about this school is the size and the fact that kids aren't zoned for it - which means someone (kid or parent) cares about education. Makes a difference in the over all quality of the student body. My son just graduated and they offer a lot of dual enrollment and a motivated student can graduate with some certifications and college classes that will really help them in getting a good job and getting into college. Overall the teachers were good - they do care about the students; but will also let them fail (if the kids are making bad decisions). The principal is moving to Seminole High. The sports programs could improve - but they have a decent varsity boys soccer team.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted May 02, 2013
- a student
I'd end up writing 3000 characters of details to go into how this school has an illusion of magnificence. To put it short, most teachers don't teach, a few are even horrid and rather cruel. I've had a teacher who put down the entire class because one student got a question wrong, and even got involved in personal lives for no good purposes. The technology is rather behind, hardware and mostly-software-wise. We have the money to pay for the entire Adobe Master Collection CS6, all Autodesk software, etc., but the stuff for running web content is behind monthes, maybe a year in updates. The staff usually doesn't do anything to help a student who has a problem, usual response is to "deal with it." One student had a teacher who forced her into an Honors-level course when she wanted Standard, and the staff did nothing to fix it. The only plus sides are how the school has a focus on technology and certifications for getting in a good place in the IT field, be it for the computers or the entertainment. The uniform code we have is lenient. Dye your hair pink, they don't care. If you're planning to come here, come here for the IT education, not the "perfect school" of Seminole County.

Nearby schools

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology
2200 West 13th Street, Sanford, FL  32771
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (407) 320-5750
Last modified Crooms Academy Of Information Technology is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top