Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Sanford, FL
Students enrolled: 612

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted October 07, 2014
- a student
It's a technology school, which means that you must be very interested in IT before hand to appreciate what they offer here. If your are so-so in the tech scene then you should consider not going. Now if you or your child is very interested in working in IT then consider going, but make sure you go into the AA program because it gives them a lot of opportunities. I am surprised at some of the students here. I thought going in that my fellow students would be respectful and care about their education, but a lot of students are just down right troublemakers that don't do work. What's even worse is that they hold those students hands through so they don't get kicked out. Yes they boast themselves with impressive test scores and records but those are just statistics, you need to go there to know how it really is. From what I have heard is that it used to be a very good and challenging school, but I wouldn't be sure. If you are not in AP or dual-enrollment then the difficulty and challenge of classes are a joke. Even some dual-enrollment classes are a breeze too for most people too. All I say is to know what you or your child wants their career to be when they grow up before going.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted September 17, 2014
- a student
Continuation of previous review posted. Another thing that is wrong with this school is the core classes, most of them are a complete utter joke. For any real "challenge" you have to take AP, but if you know the material just take it online as the classes will just needlessly bog you down with assignment after assignment because apparently overwhelming force is the biggest challenge offered, most of the teachers just seem so uninterested and bored. But the biggest offense of the whole school is the "technology". This could easily be made into a big paper, but I will try to condense it. The technology is just terrible, but it is a public school so I can't be too harsh. The desktops are all machines obviously made to run XP/Vista but run overbloated images of Windows 7. The laptops though are the worst offender. They can be awfully nice but its so locked down you may as well not even have it, its only good for word processing or if it has specific software you need for a class. If you find any way to run programs on it, don't tell anyone because it will just spread and it will be locked. Overall though, the school isn't bad. Its just not the "best school" it flaunts itself to be.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 1

Posted May 02, 2014
- a community member
Poor. Terribly poor. First and foremost. My daughter went here and it ruined her life. The teachers are just as troublemaking as the students. They don't like you for no reason ! and my daughter is a nice and decent girl, but the students could not stand her, BUT god be with them. God knows and sees my daughter was here for an education, and they eventually lead her to drop out, I hope class of 2011, is satisfied. The only teacher to give recognition is Mr. Bandali. I recommend you run! and run very very far when approaching this "highschool".

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 1

Posted April 25, 2014
- a community member
Worst! School I have attended. Did not help my future. I DON'T know what everyone is talking about because I went there in 2007 and it was a terrible experience. If it worked for you that is terrific. No one liked me for no apparent reason, all races, all shapes and sizes, and you wear uniforms there, might as well you go to a school that doesn't wear uniforms, unlike this with too much troublemaking students. I would like you all to know you did well, but there is a god watching! In case you haven't noticed. One more note, there is no BPA, so you need to stop! It's nonsense. Also, you were too young to have so much hatred.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 2

Posted January 31, 2014
- a student
Crooms is a rather lower-grade school than they like to flaunt themsleves. Having signed up for this place, I felt there would be an atmosphere of good technology, above that of every other school in Seminole County, and that the kids who wouldn't want to work wouldn't survive. I thought it was the perfect replacement to public school that would be better, but boy was I wrong. The school literally handholds the kids who don't want to work to doing their work so they can stay in. Even then, half the time we don't learn. Teachers either use lynda.com or a powerpoint off the internet. Some teachers even use Florida Virtual School for their teachings. The only good teachers I've had are the ones in the entertainment electives. Everyone else is either uninterested or a total jerk. Their hardware and a majority of their software is out of date. XP-made machines running 7. You have to pay $100 down for laptop replacement, but it doesn't cover things like chargers. And your students, not you, have to sign agreements to avoid detention. Overall, not the great school to that they make themselves out to be. Just a dumping ground for parents who don't want their kids attending Seminole High.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 4

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
Best things about this school is the size and the fact that kids aren't zoned for it - which means someone (kid or parent) cares about education. Makes a difference in the over all quality of the student body. My son just graduated and they offer a lot of dual enrollment and a motivated student can graduate with some certifications and college classes that will really help them in getting a good job and getting into college. Overall the teachers were good - they do care about the students; but will also let them fail (if the kids are making bad decisions). The principal is moving to Seminole High. The sports programs could improve - but they have a decent varsity boys soccer team.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted May 02, 2013
- a student
I'd end up writing 3000 characters of details to go into how this school has an illusion of magnificence. To put it short, most teachers don't teach, a few are even horrid and rather cruel. I've had a teacher who put down the entire class because one student got a question wrong, and even got involved in personal lives for no good purposes. The technology is rather behind, hardware and mostly-software-wise. We have the money to pay for the entire Adobe Master Collection CS6, all Autodesk software, etc., but the stuff for running web content is behind monthes, maybe a year in updates. The staff usually doesn't do anything to help a student who has a problem, usual response is to "deal with it." One student had a teacher who forced her into an Honors-level course when she wanted Standard, and the staff did nothing to fix it. The only plus sides are how the school has a focus on technology and certifications for getting in a good place in the IT field, be it for the computers or the entertainment. The uniform code we have is lenient. Dye your hair pink, they don't care. If you're planning to come here, come here for the IT education, not the "perfect school" of Seminole County.

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 3

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
I'm a student graduating the 2010 school year. I attended crooms for two years and winter springs high school for two years. The guidance works more with you to get into college at crooms but i feel you see and interact with the winter springs staff more. Crooms lacks the money to afford good equipment for their gym classes, its all old or passed down. The clubs aren't really there, they tend to fall apart after the first month of school. There tends to be alot of arguing with the staff of crooms. The teachers are more leant into what the students do. Personally i believe my two years spent at crooms should have been spent at winter springs.


Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
This was a perfect school match for my son. They offer a variety of classes with small class sizes and definitely equip the students for college (or career). The teachers assist with completing the FAFSA- offer SAT prep and tutoring of Math and Reading. The principal, Dr. Collins, was awarded Principal of the Year for all of Seminole County and maintains an open door policy. 8th graders with an inclination for technology should definitely consider this an option! Class sizes are kept small, so apply early. It is a very tight knit community with an active parental involvement. 5 STARS!!!

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crooms Academy Of Information Technology
2200 West 13th Street, Sanford, FL  32771
(407) 320-5750
Last modified Crooms Academy Of Information Technology is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crooms Academy Of Information Technology Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top