Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

328 students|Walton
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bay Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
New principal this year and what a difference!! The staff is inspired and morale has completely changed. I really like the new principal is changing things to emphasize previously neglected topics and give kids a more well rounded education. It's just the start and I can't wait to see what a great principal, staff, teachers and parents can accomplish.

Bay Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
honework is optional. Both teachers and principal acknowledge that homework statistically does little to help kids learn. Parent involvement seems more key and is highly encouraged.


Bay Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Hoping to see more development of programs for high achieving kids. Ms. Spencer's first year has had many issues long neglected. I hope with this great start, more wonderful things will be to come!

Bay Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
kudos to Meredith Spence for bringing back the morale and pride in this school! Parents and staff were academically achieving, but miserable. It's amazing what a little leadership can do! We are so looking forward to growing what you have started Meredith!!

Bay Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
School does not tolerate bullying (even passive bullying). Kudos to teachers for not simply letting "kids be kids"


Bay Elementary School 2

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
This school has great parent involvement, some great teachers but very poor administration. Administration actively discourages parental involvement and does not return calls nor address any concerns. There are NO before or after school activities or clubs - not one. No plays, robotics, science fairs, student programs - nothing. There is almost no art or science taught. Communication is poor (just look at the always empty online school calendar) and the front office is unpleasant and unhappy, uninspired by the lack of leadership. It's a shame the elected county school superintendent refuses to address these issues after parents have overwhelmingly voiced their disapproval. She also will not return calls or address issues.

Bay Elementary School 2

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
We have had children in this school the past 5-6 years and overall have been disappointed with the leadership and the attitude of the teachers. More and more teachers just seem to have a closed door policy to parents, are miserable with their principal and discouraged with their sole purpose of "teaching the test". There has been very little opportunity for our children to be creative and challenged in the classroom. Minimal artwork comes home from the teacher and the only discussion of music was surrounding the Christmas concert. The building is run down and filled to capacity. Some classrooms are in outdoor trailers with few windows. There is only one ESE teacher working out of what appears to be a closet. The only positive aspect to this school is the strong PTA and parent volunteers. Their participation and efforts have really stepped up and rallied the troops to make a better learning environment for the kids.

Bay Elementary School 1

Posted June 29, 2013
- a parent
Don't send your children here they won't like it!! It was fine at first but the the staff got meaner and the office staff hate on certain children and the way they teach is wrong. I would much rather my kid go to a different school. Like another one of the reviews said the pronclibles both don't really care. It is sad just sad.thogh I do like the janitors and other teachers but some are a disappointment


Bay Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
Great School! Great Teachers! I have been very happy with my daughter s advancement in the subject matter she has been learning. Everyone is very nice and inviting.

Bay Elementary School 1

Posted November 20, 2011
- a parent
The appeal of the tranquil little school house nestled back in an established community is what my family fell for when moving to the area. The first two years a Bay were great for my children and me. I always felt welcomed and felt great about leaving my children each day. Sadly, the teachers that gave me this welcoming and safe feeling are no longer at Bay. New administration is the cause of almost 50% of the teaching staff to no longer be at Bay. This caused us to move our children to another school. The picturesque little school house still exists, but the building is not what makes a great school, great leadership and great teachers do...Bay does still have some great teachers, but the leadership is questionable. We are now at Butler another local public school. The administration at this school makes me happy and the teachers make my kids.

Nearby schools

Bay Elementary School
118 Gilmore Road, Santa Rosa Beach, FL  32459
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (850) 622-5050
Last modified Bay Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top