Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine School At Palmer Ranch

Charter | PK-8 | 565 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 18 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

The school is run poorly due to leadership. Once they opened their daycare to accommodate the principals new baby everything went downhill. Teachers were permitted to talk poorly about students with zero repercussions. In order to have my son removed from a hostile teachers classroom I had to call in the board of directors who ordered him moved into a new classroom that day. My child that is gifted was branded a trouble maker and treated as such. I pulled both of my children from this school. They were behind in multiple subjects changing schools yet they were on honor roll there. When your only full time gifted teacher leaves that tells you something about this shameful school and it's principal . If you want your children to have a healthy encouraging environment where they actually learn go elsewhere your needs will not be met here! It's amazing this school has an A rating with poor test scores and subpar teachers. They have minimal funding and any child with an IEP will not have their needs met. Enjoy donating tons of money and time to a school that will leave your child behind academically and hurt them emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

My 5 year old son has been suspended from Kindergarten twice this year!! We have spent over 10K in early education at ISPR only for them to turn their backs on him. They just don't have the resources to handle difficult situations. I am very disappointed and do not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

This is the start of our 3rd year with ISPR and I must say that each year I am more pleasantly surprised than the last. The teachers, administration and staff are friendly, caring and easily approachable. My children's teachers have been enthusiastic and top notch and any concerns have been quickly addressed and overcome. If it takes a village to raise a child, I am happy to have Imagine as my village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2014

If I could give a zero star rating I would. High staff turnover is an understatement. At the end of the 13/14 school year, a 3rd grade teacher was fired for consecutively producing low FCAT scores. She is being brought back as a 2nd grade teacher for 2014/2015. Staff for the current year is roughly 50% new to the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2014

We had high hopes for this school and gave it a real chance...4 yrs worth of chances. Unfortunately they have a principal that is completely unprofessional...lacks leadership and knowlwdge in running a school and the poor teachers teach in fear. Most of the staff have left for much better teaching positions in they weren't fired. The school has no budget...which means no cleaning services that are adequate.....the air conditioning never works and please....do go and look at tbe playground......it is deplorable at best. It is such a shame that our county allows this school to remain open!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

Private school setting with caring quality teachers. No wonder Cambridge University is looking at it for an Ace program school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

surprise! whenever there is bad publicity in the community a few "good" reviews pop up on this website. So transparent.. recently in the local news for applying for a 15 year charter extension, when the local school board said, "not so fast, we want a closer look" so many families and staff have given up and left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I have have 3 children at this school and they have had such great experiences, in sports, theatrical performances and academic achievement. They have gone on to regional science fair & state sports competitions. All 3 children are very happy at the school and we are happy with all the communication and great community feel with all the great events and performances. Go Long Horns!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

This is an amazing school. The teachers and faculty are caring and compassionate. They all strive to not only give the children an A++ Education, but they also teach the children morals and values!! These things are so often over looked in today's educational environment. The school is large enough to have all the resources they need, but small enough to cater to each child and family. I really feel as if I am getting a private school educational experience for free here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

So not be fooled by suposed awards and school grade. This school lacks professional administration, consistency and professionalism! Too bad I can't give it zero stars...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My children love ISPR. They are academically challenged and love their teachers. The principal strives to address any problem areas right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Its alot of fun and it strives to teach all of the arts while also installing good work habits into young children's minds.


Posted July 16, 2013

It is a false facade, don't be fooled...At one time Imagine was an amazing school, but the past 3 years it has fallen apart and the priorities were tossed out the window. The administration is unfortunately the worst and the teachers are tossed out constantly, fluctuating like yesterdays trash!!! I'm talking, really talented individuals who we WERE really blessed to have had.... The education has rapidly declined with the VERY high turnover, anyone who has a positive comment obviously hasn't been there long enough nor involved enough. There is no one to complain to or even seek assistance, notice there is no place for a parent comment on the website... Monthly board meetings are a joke and seriously the school has a huge deficit...several hundred thousand....no technology, poor materials, and again....NO TEACHERS who want to stay...resumes are all out there! This school is run by FEAR, from administration who will just dispose of any in a second....including students if parents are disliked!!! This school needs to close the doors and start over!!! Please, from another parent, take my advice, any school is better than this one...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

My daughter has thrived in the three years she has been at Imagine School at Palmer Ranch. She has been nurtured & supported by the teachers & administration and made to feel part of something special. She has ben a peer mentor to younger students, participated in Speech and Debate class & played on the sports teams, to name just a few. The smaller community has allowed her to have more attention from her teachers and to get extra attention. Rather than feeling like she was thrown to the wolves in other middle schools, she has felt safe and happy.The teachers genuinely care and know the kids. The principal has been at every event I have ever attended and knows the students by name. The school is still new and growing, but has accomplished a great deal on less than 4 years. Teachers have moved, had babies & been let go for poor performance in the past year and that should not be construed as a bad thing. Teachers & parents also sit on task forces & participate in decision making at Imagine, so to say that no one has a say at the school is misleading. I am thankful that our family has had the choice to enroll our daughter at this school and would definitely recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

to continue on my review the kids at Imagine do not have text books, teachers are having to go to the website to get print out of the work needed because the text books they are using are extremely out dated.. Teachers leave the school because they are unhappy with the principal and the circus she is running.. one teacher left because things would continue to happen among students and she was not allowed by the principal to report it, they are expected to brush it under the rug to make the school look good. Also with the parent and students surveys those are a complete joke because no changes ever come out of that.. there is one teacher that threatend their class with tracking card marks if the kids were honest with what they thought of the school because she didnt want anyone to make the school look bad.. i guess that is one teacher who is very affraid of the principal..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Academically challenging with emphasis on character building. Friendly and caring staff. My child moved to this school and is very happy and reaching her potential. The teachers go out of their way to offer extra help if needed. I volunteer when I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

I had great hopes for this charter school but will be pulling my kids out at the end of the year. The teachers are great, but the administration is horrible and the principal is the worst. Absolutely unprofessional and worse than that doesnt know how to run a school only a nursery that she put in place for herself. She is demeaning to staff, parents and kids. The teacher turnover is 40%! The ESE department is a mess! Many complaints with the local county school board. Another case of a struggling Imagine School, to bad. And by the way, the lights are off all the time during lunch, how cruel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

Excellent teachers, Strong principal/school leadership, and challenging academic programs. Imagine School at Palmer Ranch has all three features. I have volunteered at the school regularly and I see nothing but all staff striving for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Do not be duped by the tour. Your child will receive a substandard education here. They will also eat lunch with the lights out most of the time. If you go to leadership with a problem you will be told it is only you having this problem. My child has been bullied and although they have a zero bullying policy it is still happening. The students get yelled out a lot, you can hear it in the hallway. The school is also very dirty and there is no technology. The fields for P.E. are filled with fireants, we are leaving next year. My children have suffered enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2012

My child has attended Imagine for 2 years. I, myself, have a master's in education. My objective as a parent is to have my child in a school environment that inspires learning and focuses on the individual needs of children. Her education is not something I take lightly. My child was moved from an "A" school as I felt she was part of a large group of cattle being herded around. It was nonstop focus on worksheets simply training children to take tests. Her education was impersonal and lacked meaningful activities. I do not feel that way here. Within a week of her move to Imagine, the principal saw me at school, walked up, and said, "We are so happy to have ____ here." Her teacher even met with me prior to my child's first day to discuss my concerns. She meant something. It spoke volumes. In addition, bullying is something this school does not take lightly. Children must adhere to behavioral contracts whereas regular public schools have many limitations regarding poor behavior. There are high expectations of students and parents as it should be when it comes to a child's education. It takes a village to raise a child, not just parents, not just teachers. You get that village here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 22%
Two or more races 5%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 55%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Female 45%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%41%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ALISA WRIGHT
Fax number
  • (941) 923-1124

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6220 McIntosh Road
Sarasota, FL 34238
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 257-1124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Prew Academy
Sarasota, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT