Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 644 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

I am honestly shocked at some of the negative comments posted about this school. My child has been there for 3 years and loves it! I will admit that we had issues with a teacher that was quickly resolved and the administration that supposedly "doesn't care" (as posted by another parent) is simply b.s. The staff there could not have been more concerned about the issues I brought tho their attention and they were very quick to find resolution. How anyone can say that this school and their staff doesn't care is beyond me. However, I am a VERY involved parent. I take the time to ask questions, send notes to the teacher and participate in activities when I can. Yes, it makes a difference. Communication is EVERYTHING. That goes for staff, parents and children. My experiences have not been perfect, nor did I ever expect them to be. But, the point is, this IS a great school and I'm glad that my child goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

Terrible experience here. The administration is not professional nor do they appear to have a child's best interest at heart. We moved from out of state and I pulled my son two weeks after being in this school. Extremely disorganized, violated confidentiality putting my child at risk, and were not apologetic. My child learned nothing in those two weeks either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

HORRENDOUS!! This is our second yr at Brentwood & it has been a nightmare to say the least. The administrators are not involved & the teachers basically do whatever they want. Our second teacher of the year thinks it is okay to make children sit with their heads down on their desk (consecutive days) as punishment for loosing recess..tells the children if they want a drink of water they need to being a water bottle (there is a water fountain in the classroom!) yes, she tells them "no" to getting a drink at the fountain. These are 6 & 7 yr olds mind you. (She was just arrested for DUI, I really would like to know just what is in her 'water bottle' she keeps with her.) & the best one yet- my child was taken to the area for car riders bc her grandpa called & said he would be picking her up. my child does NOT EVEN have a grandfather living in FL !! No one else is even Authorized for pick up. Not that it matters, obviously. I have yet to receive an explanation,phone call, or apology for this latest fiasco. There is no follow up at this school. It is a disorganized mess ! Save yourself the heartache & STRESS, stay away !!! Seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

My daughter finally arrived at this school after dealing with registration issues due to registar everyone was aware that we were moving out of state for a few weeks prior to arriving in Florida and it was still chaos the teachers aren't friendly and willing to help if you care about your childrens future do not send them HERE??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

Brentwood is a hidden treasure. The administration is nothing less than outstanding and has been known for years as being some of the strongest administration in the county. All of the teachers and professionals that I have met are extremely skilled, professional and willing to do what it takes to meet kids' needs. They have strong clusters for both special needs students and advanced placement with wonderful therapists to meet students' therapeutic PT/ST/OT needs. My daughter has special needs and I feel very supported in addressing her needs. Students in the advanced classes are also blessed with some extraordinary gifted/advanced teachers. They even have an incredible hip hop program for a specials class and running club after school. Brentwood is all about supporting the "whole child" and meeting each child's needs. This is why we love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

This is an amazing school. Teachers and staff are always warm and welcoming to the children. My son loves his school. Keep up the good work Brentwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I don't know what happened during those years that the negative reviews have been posted here... but, my daughter attended last school year (1st grade) and will be attending again this year. My husband and I LOVE Brentwood. We think the family and community involvement and the PTO are A+++! As a matter of fact, that's WHY we love this school SO much. Her 1st grade teacher was always available by phone or conference if we had ANY questions or concerns, and the other staff we had contact with were always more than willing to answer any questions, or find out answers if they did not know off hand. We love the fact that they have the B.A.D program (Brentwood Active Dads) and my husband and daughter can have those one-on-one times to be involved with the school together. Our daughter only received one "B" last year during the very first semester, the rest all "A's". I think Brentwood is doing an excellent job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2012

My daughter attends this school and the teacher refuses to answer any of her questions when it comes to her academics. Report card comes home and my daughter is failing classes, the teacher was well aware of this and never had any contact with us about it. Not a phone call one was received, after previously conferencing with the teacher in the beginning of the year, she assured us that she would keep in contact with us on our daughters progress, but it has been a 1-way street, our attempts to find information and her neglect to answer. Staff at this school are not considerate, do not show any concern over the children who attend and have no respect for the parents. I am not happy with this school, or their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

In recent years Brentwood elementary school has embraced community involvement. The relationship between parents has been encouraged with an open campus and following office check-in the ability to visit students and pick them up from their classroom. This has fostered parent-teacher interaction, parent-parent interaction, student-student interaction. This year these bonds are being severed one by one, isolating all. If just the Principles were forcing this, at least the parent-teacher relationships would remain strong. However, the Principles are disseminating information through teachers. Most teachers don t like this as it makes them seem like the bad guy and forces a wedge between parents and teachers. What is the next wave for the dismemberment of the feeling of community? Well you can certainly minimize the possibility that connectivity develop between students by making the lunch room silent. Yes, that is being kicked around by Brentwood Elementary Schools current Principle. Whoopee!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

This school is horrible and we are pulling our child out after less than 2 weeks. My son's teacher has ZERO interest in making him a better student, even though he's in the advanced Kindergarten class. My son used to love school and doing school work, and in less than 2 weeks under this 'teacher', my son now hates school and refuses to do his homework. There is ZERO involvement in the PTO. Child safety is also a ZERO. I was told that the children would be escorted from the school bus to the class room. I got to school before my son's bus and found him walking to class alone! After complaining to the principal, I went to school the next day and saw my son sitting on a bench for 15 minutes while a group of teacher/escorts chatted away. Keep your child away from Brentwood!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Brentwood is so very active in teaching our children and grandchildren not only the learning basics but the morals ones also! It takes a village to raise children, always has and always will!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I grew up here in Sarasota and my sister and brother and I went to Brentwood. Now my own children go, and it has gotten so much better over the years. The teachers really care about the kids and take extra steps to help them in any way they can. This school has so much going for it, and I would recommend this school to any elementary aged child and there family they will love it. To me and my family Brntwood is an A+ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

Brentwood Elementary has a terrific aspect of school spirit. Every Friday the kids wear Brentwood t-shirts. Regularly there are events put together to raise money for the school, which may be running for laps, etc. The children are an essential focal point of raising money for the school and I feel the involvement gives the students a true sense of bieng a part of the whole. The teachers at Brentwood are very caring and experienced. I would recommend this school to anyone seeking as close to a private school education through a public school as you can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

The teachers at Brentwood are completely dedicated to each child. I have been able to rest assure for three years that my daughter was getting the most out of her day at school. I was constantly informed of her progress on no less than a weekly basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Brentwood is one of the best public elementary schools in Sarasota County. The principal is outstanding and inspires leadership among the teachers. It also has one of the lowest teacher turnover rates because it's such a great place to work. Students are made to feel welcome and special. My eldest son was there from 1st through 5th grade several years ago and now my youngest son is working his way through the ranks. I feel very lucky to be districted for Brentwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2003

I would like to see in elementary schools have foreign language since children of this age could really grasp the language easier and remember than in middle and/or high school this is a first on hand challenge for them they could help with other students coming into the schools they are learning the english language.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 56%
Hispanic 26%
Black 9%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 194%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 211%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 38%41%61%
Master's degree 60%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN WEIDA
Fax number
  • (941) 361-6381

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Vinson Avenue
Sarasota, FL 34232
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 361-6230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT