Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

672 students|Sarasota
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brentwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a teacher
All staff work together to build strong relationships and celebrate community of caring values. All teachers and staff work together to encourage empathy and integrity for all students.

Brentwood Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a teacher
The amazing dedication that the staff brings to school everyday to meet the needs of all students is incredible.


Brentwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a teacher
Brentwood Elementary School has amazing teachers and administrators who care deeply about their students and school. They are constantly working together to improve upon best practices to benefit students, families and the community!

Brentwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in 3rd grade and has gone to Brentwood since first grade. The teachers are great, she is doing very good so far, I don't have any complaints. I like very much their run club program because it teaches young children to be active and exercise. Very happy with this school, the teachers she has had so far have been always helpful and have answered all my questions every time.

Brentwood Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Mouhot was my daughter's teacher last year, she is an amazing teacher, she really cares about her class, always encouraging them to improve in a positive way. She is an A+ teacher. My daughter loves her.


Brentwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a community member
I went to Brentwood all throughout my elementary school career and I honestly don't understand why so many of the reviews are negative. The teachers were kind and always willing to help. In my class, each student had one-on-one time with the teacher and worked at their own pace. Another thing I must commend Brentwood for is its absolute focus on academics and relationship building. There was Mad Science that came in to teach fifth graders about science in a fun way. Brentwood brought in SPARCC to teach students about healthy relationships. Something that everyone should know is that the communication and involvement of parents in this school goes far beyond what any other school could offer. In moving off to middle school, my parents continually commented on the lack of response from teachers and administration when they requested conferences or discussions, but this was never a problem at Brentwood. No parent or child went ignored. I attended this school not long ago, and as I constantly get updates from current students, I can assure you that my information is current. I feel that the issue is that it PARENTS are reviewing. Perhaps we should ask the kids who actually go there.

Brentwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
I am honestly shocked at some of the negative comments posted about this school. My child has been there for 3 years and loves it! I will admit that we had issues with a teacher that was quickly resolved and the administration that supposedly "doesn't care" (as posted by another parent) is simply b.s. The staff there could not have been more concerned about the issues I brought tho their attention and they were very quick to find resolution. How anyone can say that this school and their staff doesn't care is beyond me. However, I am a VERY involved parent. I take the time to ask questions, send notes to the teacher and participate in activities when I can. Yes, it makes a difference. Communication is EVERYTHING. That goes for staff, parents and children. My experiences have not been perfect, nor did I ever expect them to be. But, the point is, this IS a great school and I'm glad that my child goes there.

Brentwood Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Terrible experience here. The administration is not professional nor do they appear to have a child's best interest at heart. We moved from out of state and I pulled my son two weeks after being in this school. Extremely disorganized, violated confidentiality putting my child at risk, and were not apologetic. My child learned nothing in those two weeks either.


Brentwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
HORRENDOUS!! This is our second yr at Brentwood & it has been a nightmare to say the least. The administrators are not involved & the teachers basically do whatever they want. Our second teacher of the year thinks it is okay to make children sit with their heads down on their desk (consecutive days) as punishment for loosing recess..tells the children if they want a drink of water they need to being a water bottle (there is a water fountain in the classroom!) yes, she tells them "no" to getting a drink at the fountain. These are 6 & 7 yr olds mind you. (She was just arrested for DUI, I really would like to know just what is in her 'water bottle' she keeps with her.) & the best one yet- my child was taken to the area for car riders bc her grandpa called & said he would be picking her up. my child does NOT EVEN have a grandfather living in FL !! No one else is even Authorized for pick up. Not that it matters, obviously. I have yet to receive an explanation,phone call, or apology for this latest fiasco. There is no follow up at this school. It is a disorganized mess ! Save yourself the heartache & STRESS, stay away !!! Seriously.

Brentwood Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
My daughter finally arrived at this school after dealing with registration issues due to registar everyone was aware that we were moving out of state for a few weeks prior to arriving in Florida and it was still chaos the teachers aren't friendly and willing to help if you care about your childrens future do not send them HERE??

Nearby schools

Brentwood Elementary School
2500 Vinson Avenue, Sarasota, FL  34232
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (941) 361-6230
Last modified Brentwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top