Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phillippi Shores Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 727 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

Phillippi Shores Elementary School I am not very impressed with this school. I have a second and fifth grader. I feel teachers and school staff don't worry much about kids' grades and how to help those who need extra help. I think they are more worried about kids running in the halls than the academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

Phillippi Shores Elementary My daughter and son go to this school. My son's grades are not the best. I know that teachers are not obligated to worry about "one" student only, but I feel that the school should have tutors available for the kids that need it. I spoke to the principal about having extra help for kids and she said that kids received help with their homework at the after school program and she said to go to some church in the neighborhood. I think the school should do more to try to help kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

Our daughter attended kindergarten, first and 1/2 of second grade. We moved due to my husband's new employment. It took a month and a half and several calls to Phillippi Shores for her new school in New Mexico to receive her records. Her new teacher showed me the folder containing four pages. There were NO test scores nor the records for kindergarten and first grade years. The principal, Allison Foster, is not concerned with students whose parents have to work and cannot be a part of the PTA. If you are not one of the PTA you are lower than dirt under her feet. Most of the teachers and staff are the rudest people we have ever had to deal with. I do not feel that the School Board is very concerend with dealing with complaints or concerns about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

This school is awesome, and as far as the dismissal process it is one of the safestin the county,,I have 2 children that go here now and one who is in 7th grade who went here and have had nothing but the best teachers and principals who care..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Best public elementary school in sarasota! Teachers are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I am not a big fan f this school. This is the first year for the principal and she does not seem to have a good handle on the teachers and policies. There is a dangerous situation with the cars and student pick up policy. My daughters teacher is unorganized and the classroom is chaotic. I am hoping for a better year next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

My son goes to this school, and we love it, his teacher Mrs Saunders is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Phillippi is a wonderful school with wonderful teachers and a wonderful principal! Parent support is the best I've seen. The IB experience is proving to be extremely beneficial to my son. He loves Phillippi as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

Phillippi Shores Elementary has been a terrific experience. She is in her second year of violin class and wants to take chorus next year. Her classroom teachers have been the best. Parent involvement is encouraged, active PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

I think Phillippi Shores is a terrific school, my daughter is in the advanced second grade class of Ms. Calabrese. I think Ms. Calabrese is a great teacher and a very good asset to my daughters education. My daughter would like to be more involved in music class, not sure when u have choir for elem students? The academics at Phillippi are also very good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We have been very happy witj Phillippi Shores. My daughter is in the first grade and her class retio is 1:14! We are very impressed with the International Baccalaureate Prgram they are working towards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

I think this school offers a great education in a caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Phillippi Shores will begin the process of becoming an IB school in 2005-2006. It has a very experienced principal who is overseeing the building of the new school, teachers who have been there for years amd a full time gifted program. I highly recommend Phillippi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2003

Phillippi Shores has great parental involvement. Every teacher invovled in my son's education has been exceptionally excellent! They really care about the students. They have a wonderful full-time gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 15%
Black 9%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 159%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 39%41%61%
Master's degree 61%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4747 South Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34231
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 361-6424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT