Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gulf Gate Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 709 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Gulf Gate is "family" when I came here 16 years ago as a parent I was welcomed with open arms and it has been a part of my life ever since. I've been a parent, volunteer and staff member so I've seen pretty much every aspect of GGE. Teachers/staff come and they don't leave because we support one another through the good and the bad. Students who attended here come back to volunteer when they leave, and as they get older and start their own families they return as parents. It is a pleasant place to attend school and work, we follow class size amendment so our classrooms are not too large, we have a wonderful PTA but we can always use more active members. The building is only 13 years old with bright primary colors; it is a closed in school with no portables and it is right in a neighborhood so lots of children ride their bikes and walk. We love to show off so make arrangements for a tour or call and ask questions about enrolling requirements.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2014

Gulf Gate is a wonderful neighborhood school in the beautiful city of Sarasota. It has its growing challenges as do most schools in today's economic and politically volitile climate. The teachers work very hard and go above and beyond to do what's best for kids even though the stress of performance based pay and starndardized testing can be draining. The parents are just as supportive, those who are able, and participate regularly in many of our fundraising activities. The majority of the stakeholders at Gulf Gate do their best to put children's well-being first and as a result it remains a school with a great reputation in the area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2014

Gulf Gate is a beautiful neighborhood school with lots to offer its students. All the teachers work diligently to ensure that all children are learning to their full potential. The administration cares whole heartedly about the teachers and most especially the children and their families that are a part of our wonderful school community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2014

I have worked at Gulf Gate School for 10 years and am so very proud to be part of this school. I would rate it as a 5 star school as the faculty goes above and beyond for their students, the Administration is outstanding and the students are happy to be there. I wish every parent could see the daily structure of learning that happens at Gulf Gate. I love how involved our teachers and parents are with the ever changing advances in education. Many of our parents volunteer in our classrooms on a regular basis. I love that our Administration takes the time to visit classrooms on a daily basis. I believe Gulf Gate Elementary gives our students the chance to learn and grow both educationally and emotionally and I would highly recommend our school to anyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2014

The moment I walked into Gulf Gate as an intern, I knew it was special. I always say it's like a second home to me. I was hired a few years ago and have loved every moment I've spent here. The principal, teachers and support staff are amazing and often go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our "kids" are taken care of. Gulf Gate is an amazing neighborhood school that I would highly recommend to anyone!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2014

I have worked at this school for many years and have enjoyed every minute of it. My daughter attended k through 5 here and had a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. The principal, support staff and teachers are an incredible group to work with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2014

I am so impressed with my daughter's elementary school! She loves her teacher, whom proves to be knowledgeable and nurturing at the same time! The principal is amazing..she knows every child who walks through that door and seems very supportive of her staff. I would recommend anyone in this area who has any elementary age children to look into going to this school! I couldn't have asked for a better education for my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Robin is the most amazing principal! Her involvement & love for these children is magical!!! I love this school & so do my children. This is the kind of school I wish I wouldve went to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

The parents are very involved in the day to day activities. The teachers and administrators are easily accessable and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My children attended Gulf Gate Elem. and it was a great starting foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

After attending Kindergarten and 1st grade out of the country, my son was behind in reading, he attended Gulf Gate for grade 2 and is getting the help he needs to improve his reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

Excellent school! Robin Hagood is a phenomenal principal and she has a staff of incredible teachers!Love the enthusiasm of everyone who helps to make this one of the best elementary schools in Sarasot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

My son has attended Gulf Gate for 2 years and we love it! The teachers and principal are great, and there is tons of parent involvement. My only complaint is the 'science' instruction, which consists of a 45 minute class, once every 6 days, and usually involves a non-educational movie (like Land Before Time) instead of any science-related curriculum. Luckily my son's teacher makes up for this in the classroom with extra science. Overall, we love Gulf Gate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

My son has been a student at Gulf gate for almost two years, and we all love it. His teachers go above and beyond, and our daughter is starting kindergarden next fall. We look forward to both children being in such a great neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

Fantastic school! Great family environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2007

This school has impressed me from day one. We started in kindergarten in 2006 and have been pleasantly surprised by the caring staff, awesome academic curriculum and high parent involvement. The principal always has a genuine smile and greets all the kids. My children have been expose to art, music, technology and P.E., as well as interesting academic subjects. I am looking forward to many more great years at Gulf Gate Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Great school! My children love Gulf Gate. The principal Mrs. Hagood is wonderful and takes an interest in all of the children at the school. The teachers are great too! I highly recommend Gulf Gate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Both of my children are attending Gulf Gate. Gulf Gate is a school that cares about its students. Each child is provided computer classes en speacials. Great school, highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2005

This school appears to have a high level of parent involvement and is located in a well to do area of Sarasota. Not many parents use the bus system but prefer to drop off and pick up kids. Teachers appears caring, knowledgeable and well qualified. Our son was in the first grade here and had a very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

Gulf Gate is a wonderful school that promotes teamwork and learning by doing. My son is very happy and enjoys going to school everday. I love his school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 22% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 3% 23%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%41%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 S Lockwood Ridge Rd
Sarasota, FL 34231
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 361-6499

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Waldorf Sarasota
Sarasota, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT