Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Haven School of Basics Plus

Public | K-5 | 583 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

THE DIVERSITY LEVELS FOR BAYHAVEN NEED TO BE UPDATED. BECAUSE OF THE COMMUNITY AROUND THE SCHOOL PLEASE REVISE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

We have had a wonderful experience at Bay Haven the past 3 years and look forward to more great years at the school. The teachers are all very dedicated and caring- easily accessible by phone or email after hours. The new principal brings a contagious enthusiasm that I believe will boost parent involvement. While Bay Haven does not have a full-time gifted program, the gifted (and advanced) students are placed in a separate class at each grade level with strong teachers (who have their gifted endorsement). So there is differentiation such that the students can move at the appropriate pace- even within the non-accelerated classes. The parents are required to be involved, and most of them are happy to be involved. It is so nice to walk on campus every day and see so many familiar faces- it truly is a family feel. My husband attended Bay Haven 25+ years ago, so we also have that familial connection. The historic building is just beautiful! I love the connection to old Sarasota/ John Ringling. So many reasons why we chose to send our kids to Bay Haven and why we will continue there for the next few years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Bay Haven is a great school. The teachers and staff are caring and concerned for the students academic needs as well as personal welfare. Parents are always welcomed to input their concerns and needs. Communication is very strong at Bay Haven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Bay Haven is a great school, and we are very excited about the new principal and school year...this one is going to be the best year yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I love Bay Haven! The teachers and staff are truly amazing! Not only are they there to provide an exceptal education, they are there to ensure that each child has a wonderful elemtary school experience! Lots of happiness and since of family surround this school! My children have been truly blessed to be a part of it, and so have I!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I love Bay Haven School of Basics Plus!!! We had the best time there learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I love Bay Haven. The school is focused on teaching all kids. Parents are held accountable for their child's preparedness. As a teacher in Sarasota County I see how valuable a tool it is when parents have to be involved in the school. Most public schools are not that lucky. Furthermore, I love that the schools demographics reflect the community we live in. No one group is over or under represented. I have found the staff approachable, open to input, caring, and committed to my child's education. The principal has been nothing but helpful to us. I cannot say enough great things about the school. The before and after school programs are outstanding. The staff that runs them are loving and observant. When my son was in Kindergarden he was moved to another teacher's class due to a student situation. The Principal ensured that my son was placed with a fantastic teacher who help my little guy out. In first grade his teacher tutored my son after school. Mind you, this was on the teachers own free time. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I love Bay Haven School because of its desire to treat and teach all children the same despite individual obstacles. They are a truly concerned school from the principal, counselors and teachers. They are involved in the latest technology and sustainability. They fight hard to keep their library open as well as their spanish, arts and music classes alive. The PTO is very active and supportive fund raising ensuring all children to be able to attend the educational field trips. Most importantly, they bring issues to the forefront and implement plans to come to win-win situation for all parties involved. Thus, ultimately providing growth in the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

One of the oldest and the best elementary school in the area, reminds me of the elementary wchool I attended when I was a child in Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Posted December 9, 2008

I put my son's name on the waiting list when he was just 2 years old and was lucky enough to be the last kindergarten student admitted. That was just over 5 years ago. He's in 5th grade now and I am very sad to think about leaving this school (he will begin his middle school career in the fall of '09). What I love most about this school is the contract the parents and students must sign which holds both to standards of proper behavior and dress, required volunteer time, etc. If either fails to live up to the contract, the child can be dismissed from the school and sent back to their districted school. This, in my opinion, makes the school better than private school because it keeps the troubled kids out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

It would be difficult to identify any one characteristic that makes BayHaven so dynamic, as there are multiple factors. Worth mentioning: history of the school/architecture and green friendly campus with innovative projects and activities; accomplished faculty and helpful/caring staff; what appears to be a Montessori approach to math/ science with out of the class activities that keep the students involved and excelling (Over 200 projects in the ScienceFair this year); and last but not least a really dedicated group of families that do more than their fair share. I put my son on the waiting list at 4 days old. He is now 7/2nd grade and excels on so many levels. He feels safe, loved and respected. I am extremely proud to be a BH parent and am reminded regularly that even the smallest involvement I have on the campus is contributing to the success of the school. Extremely rewarding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

We love it at Bay Haven and would not have chosen anywhere else. I rushed to get my daughter on the list- she is now entering second grade and is a straight A student doing math and reading on a level higher than other kids at elemetary schools in Sarasota. Teachers are amazing, parents are amazing and so is the entire staff including ESE resources- Go Mrs. Gold and Mrs Brown and of course, Miss Funnybones!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

My daughter attended another school prior to finally being able to attend Bayhaven. She has almost completed here first year as a first grader. As stated from other parents, her reading skills are outstanding as she has increased rapidly in her vocabulary and interest in the academics and even math. There is no doubt they are a safe environment and parent/teacher involvement is a constant. She receives arts, music, science, Spanish and fun activities to enhance her academic program. We are extremely happy a position became available. I cannot believe my daughter's transformation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

My daughter loves this school and I love the fact that they read, read, read. Awesome teachers and school. Great with parent involvement and teachers let you know how your student is doing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Bay Haven is a great school. The principal, teachers, staff, parents and children are outstanding. My daughter by the end of kindergarten was reading chapter book and words I didn't even know she knew. I would recommend this school to everyone. Get your children on the waiting list right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

our daughter has been at this school for 5 years it has been the greatest experience we have had, the parent involvement is great. also The teachers are the best. I would recommend this school highly to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

In review of the kindergarten program at Bay Haven, I can only express how inpressed I am with the progress of 5 and 6 year old children reading difficult words and understanding the majority of the things they are reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

Fabulous school - great programs - teachers and administration are outstanding with the students. Focuses on all around child wellness - highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

Bay Haven is an amazing school with the most experienced, caring staff you could have. The children are wonderful and know what is expected of them, the teachers are super and the PTO is spectacular! We could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

A private school education at public school cost. Sign your kids up now if you want to be involved and informed. Wonderful Gifted Resource and ESE programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Black 20% 23%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%41%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901 W Tamiami Cir
Sarasota, FL 34234
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 359-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Access To Education
Sarasota, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT