Advertisement
Advertisement

Sarasota Christian School

Private | PK-9

We are best known for academics & Christian environ.

 
 

Living in Sarasota

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

I feel Sarasota Christian take great pride in their staff and students. The staff always goes above and beyond to make sure the students feel good , and are successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

My two children have been at SCS since kindergarten, the oldest will graduate in May and the youngest will finish middle school. We love SCS and the community atmosphere. We chose SCS for their high academics and Christ centered environment. Both children have been in sports in middle and high school. Our middle schooler has particpated in Odyssey of the Mind for many years and what a great program it is. SCHS is wonderful, my son has made many friends that will last a life time, the teachers are caring Christian teachers. Students have the oppurtunity for dual enrollment classes their Jr/Sr year and graduate with college credit. Their are many activities for students like drama,sports, band and touring choir to name a few. As I reflect back on the 13 years that I have been involved with SCS there's no other school I would choose for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

We have had our two children at Sarasota Christian School since they were in kindergarten. Our oldest is now in middle school and is adjusting to this sometimes awkward time of life quite well. We attribute this to the environment at SCS. The school is very much like a community, we know our children s friends and their families. The teachers and administration are caring and encouraging. Our children are able to participate in sports and after school extra-curricular activities to keep them busy and having fun. They receive all this in a Christ centered environment. The academics at SCS are exceptional, and we look forward to our children completing their high school years and continuing on to a major university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

After transferring from Maryland, our daughter spent all her high school years at Sarasota Christian School. The Christian influence of her teachers prepared her well for West Virginia University. She quickly got plugged into Fellowship of Christian Athletes and is now on the leadership team at the university. Academically, the rigorous classes she took at SCS made the transition fairly uneventful. Most importantly she speaks highly of the caring teachers at SCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Our children have attended Sarasota Christian since kindergarten and our oldest is now in middle school. We have had the most wonderful teachers who have worked to prepare our children both academically and spiritually and the overall community feeling in that school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

SCS has a challenging curriculum with Christian teachers who love Jesus and love their students. The teachers are supportive and help children to be as successful as possible. My daughters have been at SCS for a total of 12 years and love going to school there. I am very, very happy with my choice to send my children to Sarasota Christian School. I have been affiliated with SCS for 15 years and would not have my children as well as my other family members go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2004

We couldnt be happier. We are learning above National levels, in a small, safe school. If forced to pick one word to discribe our school - integrity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Wow, Our family is learning above national grade level, and is doing it in a kind, loving Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey A. Shank
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Mennonite
Fax number
  • (941) 371-0898

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5415 Bahia Vista St
Sarasota, FL 34232
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 371-6481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT