Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sarasota Christian School 3

Posted April 08, 2016
- a student
well the elementary is fantastic but the middle school has bad teachers. almost everyone in math has a tutor many classes you don't actually learn anything and teachers flip out. the only good class is science the teacher is fantastic and it interests all the students.

Sarasota Christian School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
In elementary school there is barely homework and then all the sudden in middle school there are hours each night because the teachers don't really teach in class. Parents will be teaching their kids, especially in math - every night.


Sarasota Christian School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
There is a group of kids whose parents are friends with the administration. Those children can behave anyway they choose and they are the most entitled children you will ever see. Because that behavior isn't stopped the other children pick up on that behavior. Since removing our child and putting them in a public school our child has repeatedly said how the public kids school are so much more respectful.

Sarasota Christian School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
If the majority of the teachers show no compassion how can they teach it to children?

Sarasota Christian School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Teachers can insult your kids and be cruel to them and share private medical information about your kid to all the parents and their are no consequences. There is no accountability for the teachers or the students. The school "looks" nice, but once you are in there you see they have no control and have no idea what they are doing. Be careful because it is so much money and there are lots of folks trying to help their reputation online, but it just isn't true.


Sarasota Christian School 2

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
I attended SCS from kindergarten-6th grade and I loved the atmosphere. As the economy went down, the school became very money oriented. I had a problem with a boy who harassed me. And when we reported him the principal just blew me off, telling me I was lying. 1 year after I left one of our mutual friends told us how he was a trouble-maker in his high school years, and all his parents had to do was donate money to make the problems go away. Ridiculous. If you have money to pay away the problems this is the school for you!

Sarasota Christian School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
My two children have been at SCS since kindergarten, the oldest will graduate in May and the youngest will finish middle school. We love SCS and the community atmosphere. We chose SCS for their high academics and Christ centered environment. Both children have been in sports in middle and high school. Our middle schooler has particpated in Odyssey of the Mind for many years and what a great program it is. SCHS is wonderful, my son has made many friends that will last a life time, the teachers are caring Christian teachers. Students have the oppurtunity for dual enrollment classes their Jr/Sr year and graduate with college credit. Their are many activities for students like drama,sports, band and touring choir to name a few. As I reflect back on the 13 years that I have been involved with SCS there's no other school I would choose for my children.

Sarasota Christian School 5

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
We have had our two children at Sarasota Christian School since they were in kindergarten. Our oldest is now in middle school and is adjusting to this sometimes awkward time of life quite well. We attribute this to the environment at SCS. The school is very much like a community, we know our children s friends and their families. The teachers and administration are caring and encouraging. Our children are able to participate in sports and after school extra-curricular activities to keep them busy and having fun. They receive all this in a Christ centered environment. The academics at SCS are exceptional, and we look forward to our children completing their high school years and continuing on to a major university.


Sarasota Christian School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
After transferring from Maryland, our daughter spent all her high school years at Sarasota Christian School. The Christian influence of her teachers prepared her well for West Virginia University. She quickly got plugged into Fellowship of Christian Athletes and is now on the leadership team at the university. Academically, the rigorous classes she took at SCS made the transition fairly uneventful. Most importantly she speaks highly of the caring teachers at SCS.

Sarasota Christian School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
Our children have attended Sarasota Christian since kindergarten and our oldest is now in middle school. We have had the most wonderful teachers who have worked to prepare our children both academically and spiritually and the overall community feeling in that school is amazing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sarasota Christian School
5415 Bahia Vista Street, Sarasota, FL  34232
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (941) 371-6481
Last modified Sarasota Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top