Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sebastian Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

my kids class is the best,total teacher involvement. it does so much more than meeting expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Not at all happy. Have been here for a week. The office staff are rude and the student teacher ratio is is 25:1 in some if the classes. No way for a child to learn. Lunch room is like a zoo and the kids are told if They talk they have to raise their hands , therefor preventing them from using their 25 minutes to actually eat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Great focus on reading . My child's reading level improved because of the motivation to read and earn recognition for this at school. Physical activity is a priority in the day and eating healthy. They also have a great system for class management. If your child behaves they are recognized and if not logical consequences. I am happy with Sebastian Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

This school has got to be one of the worst schools in indian river county! The way the treat the kids is awful. I have never in my life seen a school like this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

This school is excellent. The teachers and staff are absolutely wonderful and my son loves it. Being new to the area, the transition was very smooth thanks to the school personnel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

We are very happy with this school. The school has been rated an a school for 5 years straight, which puts it far about the average schools in florida. We get weekly progress reports on our daughter, which makes my life incredibly easier. We're glad we moved to sebastian and put our daughter in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

This is probably one of the worst schools in the state. My child is gifted yet they refuse to challenge her. They focus more on the bad kids by rewarding them with M&Ms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Sebastian Elementary is a wonderful, welcoming school. The teachers are excellent and students are challenged to be good thinkers and problem solvers. Acting safely, being responsible and caring for selves, others and the environment are the ABCs of positive behavior that help students focus in the right direction at all times.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 13, 2005

I am very pleased with the elementary school the teacher that my child had was very caring and very thoughtful about my childs maturity I feel if it was not for her concern's my child would have had some difficulties Thank you Sebastian elementary staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I am very pleased with this school. If it has been an A school for 5 years, that should say enough about it. They inform you of your child's behavior and progress each week. Their main concern is the safety of the children, which these days, cannot be stressed enough. I am so happy my son goes to such a great school. We feel fortunate. (well, I do!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

Great school. run very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

I am not happy with this school. The principle is terrible, the policies are crazy and the behavior problems are out of control. Why are the test scores so low at this school every year. I am tired of it so we are going to private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

Sebastian Elementary is an awesome school! Mrs. Donovan, our principal, has built a team of educators that can't be beat! They all put our children's education at top priority. They are a highly qualified and very highly motativated group of individuals that are top notch! I have 3 children, all of which began at SES at the kindergarten level. One is in high school, one will go to the middle school next year, and one has 2 more years at SES. They are all great learners. They feel happy and safe and are always pushed to achieve the very best they can. This quality of education is directly reflected by their grades and accomplishments. Sebastian Elementary faculty and staff are greatly responsible for their success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

I am a parent of a former student of Sebastian Elementary student. The faculty and staff were like family members to us. Teachers would come out to see my child play ball on weekends. 2 staff members came to visit my child's friend at a hospital 100 miles away. All of our teachers were very professional and competent, but most of all they truly loved my child. Most faculty and staff have been at the school for a long time. Nice continuity contributing to the family atomosphere. We have many fond memories of Sebastian Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

I am not happy with this school. There are too many problem children disrupting the classrooms. And the teachers can t seem to get to class on time in the morning. Since so many teachers are out there are always Sub's. The subs are unqualified - especially when handling all of the problem children. The good kids are not challenged and the bad kids are allowed to do as they please. Some kids are allowed to come to school 30 minutes late in the morning and enjoy a free breakfest while the other kids will get sent to the office if they are even five minutes late. I am going to pull my child out before she falls behind or learns to be a problem child herself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

Sebastian Elementary is a deplorable school. There is absolutely no order or discipline. The 'bad' kids run the school while the good kids suffer. The lunchroom is not only a madhouse, but it's also dangerous. At my daughters kindergarten lunch table I ve seen children being choked, spit on, knocked down and kicked. Parents are welcomed to have lunch with their children but many don t because it s like feeding time at the zoo. The school put in a traffic light to control noise but only enforce it when the principle visits (maybe a few times a month). (What do they think a red light will do to stop the choking, fighting and cursing?) The principle and staff do nothing about the serious behavior problems at the school. They claim to have a positive reinforcement approach. However, violence and profanity should NEVER be tolerated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

What a shame that our tax dollars (and I pay the full amount) are not utilized to the full extent in the school system. I have found it far behind other states and Florida counties. There is very little communication with parents, unless initiated by the parent. Children are not taught self motivation. 'No child left behind' is a joke. And FCAT's are not the only thing a child needs to be proficient at. Wake up and smell the coffee Indian River. You're lost as far as accomodating special needs, assesments, basic education and are really lacking in your accountability!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Black 15%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%64%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Sebastian Boulevard
Sebastian, FL 32958
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 978-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crosstyle Academy
Sebastian, FL


Crosstyle Academy
Sebastian, FL


The River School
Roseland, FL



River School
Roseland, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT