Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodlawn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 554 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2012

I am a student here great friends,nice teachers and an amazing extra cirectular program!And there is rarely and fights maybe once a year.


Posted October 14, 2010

The teachers are so helpful and down to earth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I have both children attending woodlawn. We have been lucky with good teachers that care and listen. The principle very active on a day to day basis. We can't compare this to a big town education availabilities, but for a small town it has been good. Ps. There is some bully activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I think woodlawn elementary is a great school for kids whho live in the sebring area. Especially if your child is not happy where he or she is right now. I think it gives the kids a challenge and my kid has made a huge difrence in his work since she switched from cracker trail elem..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I moved my kid from Lake Country Elementary in Lake Placid, FL a couple of months after school started to Woodlawn. I noticed right away a HUGE difference in my son, he went from having a hard time and have a knack for getting into trouble all the time to getting great grades, making friends and loves school again. I feel now he was not be challenged enough at Lake Country so he was bored. I highly recommend Woodlawn if u are gonna be living in the Sebring area. I am a very happy parent and could not be happier that my son is a student at Woodlawn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

My initial thoughts of this school were not good. After my child got in the school and got a great kindergarten teacher it was great. The principle and vice principle are great, funny, and love the kids. All the kindergarten teachers were nice and loved the students. We have since moved but would send my child back to Woodlawn!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

Sebring schools reveal an abysmal success rate. Moreover, given the limited range of courses offered,and prevalent grade inflation that diploma once achieved isn't worth much. Gifted and disabled children are virtually neglected with totally insufficient programs. The administration is entrenched and works on the old boy network without regard for the needs of individual children or the concerns of their parents. Parental involvement is minimal because it is so futile. Challenge this district and they threaten and intimidate you. If at all possible avoid moving here with children unless you plan to homeschool or send your child to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

After moving from Michigan, I was very dismayed about the quality of education offered to students at Woodlawn Elementary. It seemed to me as though the curriculum is several years behind Michigan systems. Instead of adjusting the curriculum for my children, the system adjusted my children back to their level. I think testing should have been completed and the children taught accordingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

I moved to Sebring totally unaware of the school system. After less than a year, I've moved again. It was that bad. I didn't find any parental involvement, no motivation, I would recommend to anyone moving to Sebring with kids don't do it unless you can afford private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

My children started the school year 03-04 in January. The whole family visited the school before they started. I wasn't thrilled to hear that they didn't have an Art program, Foreign Language class, or PE everyday. I do volunteer and am pleased to say that I get to work with and watch some really good teachers in action. I have noticed that most of the volunteers are retired people who don't have children at the school. I don't see many parents there. I wanted to join PTO but they hold most of their meetings at 2:30 (which not only do I find odd but hard to get to). The students of this school do have quite a few bad apples. Luckily my children haven't had to really deal/intereact with them. Overall I think the school is ok but what school couldn't benefit from improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 49%
Hispanic 29%
Black 19%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 27%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%67%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. MELISSA L BLACKMAN
Fax number
  • (863) 471-5446

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

817 Woodlawn Drive
Sebring, FL 33870
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 471-5444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT