Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sebring High School

Public | PK, 9 | 1643 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

sorry to say that school should try stopping bullied and punish the victim which is completely wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

I am new to the school this year but I am very impressed with the dedication and professionalism of the staff and teachers. They care about the students and want them all to be the best that they can be. The principal is amazing and is bringing a new standard to the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 15, 2012

the band director is absolutly terrible. she should be fired immediately because she is unprofessional and as a student i would like to learn not be treated unfairly, she seems to hate me and some others.


Posted August 20, 2012

Any parent who cares about their child's education would not let their child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

The principal falls on her sword in defense of her teachers, especially the poor ones - learning and students be damned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

I had transferred to this school from a school in New York and this so was no where on the same level as up north. There kids in my senior class who couldn't read. I mean it was completely unacceptable. I can say honestly that in the five months that I spent there I learned nothing! I had to read the textbooks and write my own notes in order to learn anything. The teachers are really bad. It was the worst school I have ever been to in my life. I was so happy to graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

I am entering my senior year at SHS, and overall I'm really pleased with the education and services that students (and parents!) recieve. I agree that there can often been a lack of attention on academics due to displaced funds for sports programs or landscape decor. I feel that SHS staff and administration are working more enthusiastically to improve the experiences of students (and not only the freshmen!!!) and I'm quite proud to say that I am a Blue Streak. This year's senior class (those who volunteered anyway) will mentor and guide the incoming freshmen to improve the change of scene and atmosphere. I feel that SHS does all it can to help students, and I don't see why we should ask anymore of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2009

As a parent of a graduating senior, I cannot wait to tell this school farewell. The staff is marginal, at best, and there is a complete and utter lack of communication between parents, staff and guidance. Despite multiple conferences and meetings, my daughters schedule was NEVER what we asked for it to be -unless you have the time to go up there every day, I recommend private school while in Highlands County. All the public schools are missing the point!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I think this school is not the best school out there. I am a former student from there. I hated it there, I had transferred from a school down south and when I had come up here I was so far ahead of everybody, it was crazy. At that school if you are not born and raised here and your family knows everybody you feel out of place and they treat u different, which is very wrong. I think that they need to do a lot of things to better the school because I came from an A school and going to a D school you could tell the difference. They need to pay attention to the students and where their needs, need to be met at. Overall this school would not be recommended from my point of view for any child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2008

This school is horrable. The teachers have to many student. The kidds don't get the attention that they need or deserve. School rating has been a d or c for years now. The school board has blind eyes to the situation at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Im a current student at SHS. I wouldnt call this school the best. I dont think our school gets alot of attention in acedemics what so ever. Sports program is pretty good. Our baseball team is one of the top in the state but, I dont think baseball doesnt make a perfect school. The music program isnt growing either. I think SHS needs to focus on things that really need attention. Not sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2007

My daughter,(formerly attended Homestead Senior), like the fact that there isn't a strict dress code, is disappointed in the 'no cell phone' and 'no mp3/ipod/cd player' rules. She informs me that the school is 'extremely boring'. I didn't recieve immediate service when enrolling her, so the process took about 2 hours. Overall, like the school but am not thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

In my daughters junior year the school had 'block' classes. Signing up for classes the following year she scheduled many hard classes. This splits up the classes into two parts. Instead because they stopped 'Blocking' (against the partents vote) this gave her all the classes at the same time. This meant homework in every subject, and less time in every class. It made it alot harder! The art department is Very good! Band got no support from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

As a former teacher and grandparent to a former honor student of Sebring High School, Sebring High has been a blessing for us both. Our granddaughter's experience there was GREAT! In fact,her foundation at SHS was invaluable during her College years at Florida Southern College (BA 2006 cum laude) My teaching experience at SHS enabled me to see first hand the quality of education that was evident and the very capable administrative leadership evident. It was my privilege to be a part of SHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

468 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 23%
Black 14%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 21%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 66%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%67%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. ELIZABETH A LINDSAY
Fax number
  • (863) 471-5507

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3514 Kenilworth Boulevard
Sebring, FL 33870
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 471-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kenilworth School
Sebring, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT