Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seffner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 725 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

Awesome school. My daughter had a great teacher and a great experience here. The only drawback is the pick up line :).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

The best school ever I If I could go back to school that is where I would like to go
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

Extremely happy with the school and feel it is a safe, nurturing environment. Teachers are good. Overall we feel like it is a good place for elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

We are very happy with Seffner Elementary. School has high parent involvement which is a plus! Everyone we meet has been kind and helpful. This is our 1st year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

This is my daughters first year at this school. We have been very happy with everything. Her teachers are amazing. Everyone has been very nice and very helpful. We have met the principal. She is very accessible and very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

My child has had nothing but disappointments, bullying and teachers behaving badly at this school. The Assistant Principal acts as if she cares, but does not follow through with what she says she will do. It s awful, children are already mean to each other, then when you add in bullying from your own teacher....it just becomes ridiculous. It s sad to say it, but I think this school could benefit some much needed improvements, which they probably will never make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Homework during FCAT week? Really??? Give them a break!! Aren't they under enough stress? "No homework" is the only relaxing perk to this week and its taken away from them?? You should be ashamed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I am a concerned grandparent in regards to my daughter. What are your guidelines regardinging parents being bullied by the principal. Is it acceptable to act condensending towards a parent in front of other parents on school grounds; and or to send threatening letters regarding parental rights? Is this your way of helping parents who need an guidance. To me, this is an over stepping boundaries and BULLING and to consider yourself above the bulling laws set place.


Posted March 3, 2011

This is my daughter's 1st year at this school. She loves it and so do we. Her teacher Ms. Morris is awesome. They have many activities to get the kids interested in participating. Great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My granddaughter is in the 3rd grade at Seffner and I could not be happier. Her teacher this year is hands down the best from day one. I can not say enough good things about the administration. The principal is wonderful and very 'hands on' and the assistant principal is the best I have ever seen. The level of compassion and the quick response the both small and not so small issues rivals any in this district. Thank You Mrs Whitworth and Mrs Brooks for all of your hard work. And to the staff and the PTA....you are better than good...you are REALLY GOOD! GO MUSTANGS...... S.M.I.L.E. Debra
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Both my children have attended Seffner elementary for the past 5 years and I have nothing but good things to say. My son was in ESE for four of those years but now thanks to excellent teaching skills he is in all regular classes this year and continues to strive. My daughter has had the same wonderful treatment. Whenever I have had any questions both the teachers and staff have been there to help me and give their upmost attention to me. I am so thankful for Seffner's teachers and staff that I just can't say enough about them. Thanks:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

My 3 yr old goes to a special program for autism and its my first year here and so far i love the staff the teachers and principal. Evryone here are just overall fantastic. I would recomend this school 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

This is my son's 2nd year attending Seffner elem. The principle is a nice lady and I appreciate her, but my problem is w/ the ladies in the main office they always seem to ignore me when I walk in the door, I always have to ask them for assistance they never acknowledge the fact that I'm there waiting to be helped. I also think that maybe this school should get the kids a little more active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

I have a very mixed review to give. I have 2 children who have attended Seffner elementary. My son is an ESE student who had fabulous teachers for the first three years. Mrs. Lewis, his first grade teacher is the epitomy of a perfect teacher. In fourth grade he had such poor teaching, that he became emotionally distressed. I had to pull him from public school and home school him for the remainder of the school year. This year I will be driving 45 minutes in morning traffic for a decent education. Perhaps a bad apple, but his homeroom teacher was also unsympathetic and deriding. However, my daughter who still goes to seffner and has had no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Seffner is the best school ever.My kids have gone there for 12 years now (2 children) they have impressive teachers.a wonderful office administration.The best principal and vice principal.For the past 12 years i have been stunned by teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2007

My daughter was involved in a serious tramuatic event. The principle and the guidance counselor worked hand in hand to save her from becoming disinterested in school. Everything the adminstration does is for the students and I appreciate that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

I looooove this school. The teachers are great as well as the staff. My son was diagnosed with ADHD about 2 years ago. The teachers and staff immediately met with me and worked with me on a plan to keep him focused on his behavior and academics. The principle is very involved with everything that goes on in the school. All are very positive with both my sons attending this school. I can't say enough about the school. I give this school very high marks. It's the best school so far for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We have removed our son from Seffner Elementary School and their ESC Program, and transferred him to another school under the McKay Scholarship Program. The school he transferred to has 2 boys there who were in his ESC class year at Seffner. Therefore that means that we are not the only parents no happy with the ESC program. Our son was unhappy so we put him in another school where he would be happy, and the people at the new school already know how to handle someone with Aspergers Syndrome. We are thankful for the McKay Scholarship giving us a choice. We were told of a disciple problem by the principle--in front of our son; something else we didn't understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

This school has a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2005

My children have gone to this school for 3 years now and until now I have had great teachers. Not sure what happened in the fourth grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 28%
Black 13%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%67%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

109 Cactus Road
Seffner, FL 33584
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bay Life Academy
Seffner, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT