Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lopez Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 484 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2012

I have been happy with Lopez but if you child needs speech services you might has not even waste your time with the schools speech program...it is awful! The classroom teachers we have had are great including the gifted teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

Hi, My kids went to Lopez and many of the teachers are great. Unfortunately they have very bad gifted teacher and I had to pull out my kids because she was sending lots of inappropriate emails (Youtube clips and jokes with pictures) to my child without my permission. I reported to administration with proof of emails but they chose to do nothing about it. She helps the administration more than teaching kids (kids missed more than 50% class as gifted students since it is pull out program). I volunteered there a lot and was member of PTA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2010

I Love Lopez Elementary, I live in another city and have access to some of the "finest schools in the county" But drive my children to Lopez every morning and pick them up every afternoon because I believe it is the finest. I always said my children win the teacher lottery every year, but now I know it is because every one of them is great. I'm saddened that this is the final year for my 5th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

To start I would like to say that Lopez Elementary School is a committed and extraordinary place where children not only learned but they are encouraged, praised and disciplined. Their academic program is great and revised periodically. They have a wonderful chorus and Lopez is a fine arts attractor school. Parents are very involved with the school's activities and for my family is a blessing that my children are in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

Lopez is an awesome school! Mr. Dahma is a real principal. I needed him on a few issues with my son and Mr. Dahma response and solutions were more than reasonable. Mr. Dahma has been all over the school and always put the kids as priority, even above teachers. The staff at the office is just great with Kids and parents. Mrs. Davis (math) made my daughter understand how math is important in life. Ms. Greenockle in 5th grade made my son wanting to go to school everyday. Way to go Lopez. I recommend Lopez to every parent who s their child education is priority. Way to go Lopez!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

Lopez is an awesome school! We moved to Seffner in 2000 because we wanted our children to go to Lopez. It has a GREAT reputation and through the years has proven to remain the best. My oldest son moved on to middle school this year.My youngest son is now in first grade.I've been a PTA board member from the beginning. In kindergarten my oldest son learned sign language and my youngest son learned how to play the violin .The school has a computer lab available and several attractor programs including but not limited to power point,animation,and bookwriting.Thanks to parental involvement of fundraising the PTA has been able to contribute to funding for a covered walkway,playground and a sound system ,just to name a few.Lopez also has a family fun day in the spring .Last year over 300 people attended. Every year gets better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My oldest son goes to Lopez. He is in the 1st grade and this is the second year there for him. He enjoys his classes and is always eager to join any extracurricular activities they have available. I also went to Lopez when it first opened and was happy to find there are still teachers there from when I went. Great PTA and small community togetherness. But as always, you get what you give so your happiness depends on your willingness to help. They have a great music and art program. And they also have an exceptional center located next door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

My son started school at Lopez Elem. this year and is in Kindergarten. The school is great. The Staff are wonderful and very friendly. They want what is best for my son, and that means everything to me. I can't say enough about how happy I am that he is going to Lopez Elem. He has the greatest teacher, Mrs. Thompson. I don't know how she does it, but she is the best. She goes above and beyond the call of duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 25%
Black 12%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%67%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MICHAEL ENGLE
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8005

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 North Kingsway Road
Seffner, FL 33584
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bay Life Academy
Seffner, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT