Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Armwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 1735 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

I am supposed to be a senior this year.im a straight A and B student.i was having oroblems at home so i moved in with my boyfriend for years now.i wanted to attend armwood for a better education and for the nursing classes they allow you to take.i went to orentation with my mother and signed up and registered.i picked my classes and my mom.had to sign papers of course and a caregives asadative saying i live with my boyfriend i had everything i needed and what they told me to gather up so i can attend school there.i came in for a meeting with the principle and he was really rude to us and told me i could not fisnish school there just because i live wirh my boyfriend after everything.with my records and grades and everything right in.front of him he just wanted us out of his office pretty much.i called hillsborough county school board and they couldnt believe it.its not right for students that want a education and have tried so hard to get one and a principle of all people wont allow you to finish your last year and get one?


Posted June 20, 2012

This school may have been good a few years back but it is horrible now. My granddaughter went there for 6 months & was bullied by some of the student from day 1. It continued and I went to principle & counselor, no results. Had to take her out and put her in Fla. Virtual Home school. She has brought all her grades up dramatically but she misses interacting with other students. I am putting her in Brandon High. Heard it is a better school. I hope so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

This School Is A Awesome School. I Went There in 1985- 1987. The Staff & Teacher's Were All Awesome. And I Am Very,Very Proud I Went To Armwood. We Had To Wait Awhile Because It Wasn't Built All The Way At The Time. But When They Got Done Building This School. It Was Awesome To Compared To Brandon High & King High.. The Teacher's There At The Time Would Help The Student's If The Needed Help. My Children Went To Central High School In Hernando County In 2009 That's Where I Live Now. And These Teacher's Wouldn't Help My Daughter's At All. And I Told Them They Need Be A Teacher Because All They Did Was Push My Kid's Away When They Needed Help. I Also Was In Chorus And I Was In ROTC I Was In The Colored Guard And Also The Drill Team. The Rotc Up Here Is No Good At Central High.There Were To Men That Had The Passion For Us Student's When It Came To ROTC. We Had The Best Team Back Then For ROTC. And As Far I Am Concern I Wouldn't Have Went To Any Other School But Armwood High. Sincerally, Diania PS. 1987 RULES!!


Posted October 6, 2009

I went to Armwood High School and graduated with honors. Armwood is one of those small town, tight knit, all-American schools you see on tv, or summer movie. It really is a wonderful place to learn, and it showed me that sometimes the strangest teachers really DID have a method to their madness. I learned so much more than proper grammar and dates in history. The teachers at Armwood helped me through my awkward adolescence, gave advice on how to cope with a sick mother, an old-fashioned grandmother, and an absent father. They allowed me to 'let it all out' in a safe environment and if it weren't for them, I would still be lost. I made some of my best friends at Armwood, and I thank God everyday for such a wonderful four years with such amazing people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

this school always does it big, and I think that the school is just downright awesome! Also, the school is beast mode when it comes to just about any type of sport there is, and that's what makes the school great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2008

I have to say this school is the best Ive been to. Im a sophmore and I think its only flaw is how the spending is done and how we dont have a dedicated webmaster.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2008

I am a parent of a sophomore at Armwood. My child's World History teacher and Spanish teacher are fantastic. However, the administration is not supportive. FCAT must really run this school because they lack in electives. Drama is cut; there is only one foreign language offered; and, the band director is leaving. Something is definitely wrong. Who is making these decisions. The current 07-08 administration is ruining Armwood High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I was a student and my experience was fantastic. The curriculum is very good and teachers very well prepared.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

Armwood high school Is one of the best schools in Florida. Students who are serious about learning and all that have so many opportunities to become what ever they want, but in technological fields, they lack because Armwood is basically an agricultural school, not like Tampa Bay Tech.. and the sports programs are the best! I use to play football, but then I found a better interest for wrestling, and i am . But yea, every sport makes you feel like you're part of one big family.. its great. Some teachers show favoritism and get a little too social, but still, they are great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Great school. Great football program. My daughter attends AHS and they have an excellent staff. Very involved parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

I graduated in May of 05 and like my overall experience. The sport programs are awesome but the music program is really lacking in leadership. There are a wide variety of academic programs which touch almost every subject in High School curriculum but the teachers are very inclined to show favoritism. I recommend this school highly because the pros out weigh the cons.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2006

Armwood is a great school! I graduated May of 2004. Exceptional academic programs. So many extracurricular activities to choose from and so many awesome teachers. I just wish I could go back I also worked for Armwood High school last year. I miss it. Everyone is so nice and everyone cares about everyone. Armwood is one big happy family.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2005

The academic competition is the stiffest I've seen. I've been to Hillsborough, Blake and, Middleton's Magnet Program. Having a good school depends largely on the level of commitment the students there have and overall the level of professionalism of these kids is amazing. Now keep in mind that I can only speak about the Honors and AP classes the regular classes can be abysmal at any school but the AP and honors calsses are great and a lot of teachers here have been teaching here for over 20 years! They like it here and they stay. The art program is okay but if your primarily interested in art I suggest you go to Blake High school's magnet program same with music and the sports and extracurriculars are there if you want them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2005

This school is really good. My daughter graduated in May of 2003. She wasn't much of a person to like school or get involved, but after her first semester at Armwood, she enjoyed it and got involved. The teachers are great there and so are the extracurricular activities. She keeps in touch with several of her teachers from Armwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

Great school, should allow more rights to students yet should be stricker in some areas.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2005

I have been very pleased with Armwood HS. After being in the technology internship, my son went on to become a Plumbers Apprentice. For his age he is making a good wage. My daughter is in the Academy of Finance, she did her internship this summer and earned $10.00 per hour. I was very pleased. She has completed the 200 hours needed to graduate and gained a great deal of practical knowledge. I recommend Armwood to anyone's children who wish to advance in the world today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

Ok shcool a variety of kids, D school though...but good sports teams.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2005

I think that armwood high school is a school where students can learn in class but there are racial issues, violence control problems, it is overcrowded, staff is very partial to favoritism, I do not recommend this school to any parent who is thinking of enrolling there kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2004

AHS is the best! they offer a wider range of classes to perpair students for collage, for ex. theres a medical class that one could take and end it with their CNA! and it they're dual enrolled they can go to a choice of Tech schools FREE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2004

I have four sons and they have been attending Armwood High since 1993. My first son graduated in 1997, 2nd in 2000, my 3rd son will graduate this May, 2004, then my youngest will graduate in 2006. I've have a wonderful experience with this school for the most part. I believe the school was at it's best under the direction of the last principle. My childrens' intelligence ranges from genius to average. This school was a guiding force for all of them. I must say that the academics challenged them all. One last thing. Mr. Crow, you are a true saint!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

482 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

406 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

425 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
21%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 37%
Black 33%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 68%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%67%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MARK WEST
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8048

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12000 U.S. 92
Seffner, FL 33584
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT