Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jennings Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 868 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

schol is an utter joke my daughter has been assaulted by students and teachers..and the deputy there is a joke..is hillsborough county for real??...they punish the students for sticking up for themselves t the bully...i feel s bad for any student that attends that school..needs to be shut down if there isnt any capable staff...armwood is the same way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

this school needs to be shut down. yes there are bullys yes the teachers and everyone else employed at the school need to start caring aobut the children. maybe they are so bad because you dont take the time to to listen to them. students get picked on by teachers to. nobody cares. i had high hopes for the new principle but so far still the same. uniforms ? for what? that doesnt fix anything. no one takes time to undersand the students that are misbehaving. the students that are doing what they can dont deserve to be in a school like this, they deserve a chance at a good education. the bullys usually bully because something is wrong, take the time to talk to them punishing them alone does not fix anything they just get a day or two off school like a vacation then they lose even more lessons that they need. this school needs kindness understanding to all the children. they dont care about these kids. they are clearly there for a paycheck alone or they cant get a job elsewhere. classes are spaced out far apart so when they show up late because they had to walk so far they get in trouble. i agree they need to have rules but some of them are ridiculous making the kids rebellious.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2013

I would love to say what a great place this is but I would be lying. I work at Jennings and have seen this place just go from bad to worse. There is a new principal in place who is trying to make changes (and hopefully that will happen). It's really a terrible working environment and teacher turnover is very high. As long as teacher pay is tied to student acheivement on tests this school will be awful. I would encourage parents to check into charter schools. There are many that do not charge tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

worst school on the planet. drugs, guns, gangs, fights, bullies. nobody cares about anyone in that school or whatever you want to call it. why is the county/state not doing anything? i cant get my child out of the school because of where we live. my child has gone down hill quick. us parents that care about our children should be able to send them some place else. we cant afford private school. our hands are tied and our child is lost. the school changed my child for the worse. everything about it is more than really bad. please somebody step up and do something or help us that want our children out get them into another school. the only good reviews are the students that are out of control now and like the school because of the lack of adults doing their job!!!!!! please help our children and fix this huge problem, somebody please.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

i am or if you are reading this was a student at Jennings. as of now i am in the 6th grade......and this school is a little less than awful. there are only a few teachers who actually let you learn and it makes me mad because im in advanced honors. so heres how it breaks down : geography-the teacher has no qualifications and makes us do book work because she has no idea about any related with geography. the science teacher is pretty good but people dis respect him the 2 reading teachers are also,and the math teacher is mediocre.


Posted August 22, 2011

i am going to that skool its my first time but till now its great!! speacilly how they said NO UNIFORMS thats awsome i used to be in folsome too. :D


Posted March 28, 2011

My daughter attends Jennings, and I hate it. I have met some descent teachers and they ran as soon as the new school opened in Seffner. The front office people have horrible manners. The asst principal is as well. She is brings her ghetto attitude to the school./ What do you expect when the staff members act like that, the kids think that is Ok. I'm glad it is my daughters last year. Hopefully she will be able to make it thru highschool. Worried because of the lack of education. What middle school student never gets homework???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Jennings Middle School, Seffner, FL - Parents, beware..this is probably one of the worst schools in the area in regards to disciplinary problems such as bullying and violent behavior. Do not enroll your children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I think this school is awesome becuase it's not to far from my house and their are excellent teachers their but bad students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

This is a terrible school,I will never let my kids go to again, the teachers don't care about the kids. They just want them out of thier hair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

My grandson has attended this school for the past two years. This school's lack of displine, concern for students being bullied,picked on,insulted is unacceptable. From the top (principal) on downward, the lack of resolving any issue without totally blaming the victim is not heard of. I can only hope this year will be his last of ever having to attend this so-called school.


Posted December 31, 2008

im a student at jennings and i think this is the school is horible because i have had problems with bullies,bathrooms and food.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2008

no school is perfect, but my kids loved it and learn form it and that is all that is necessary at a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

This is the worse school I have ever seen to be such a brand new school. The students run the teachers and the teachers curse at the students. The teachers are impatient and lack the skills to handle difficult children. Everytime I go up to this school people stare in my face until I tell them what I need. Never in my life.. This is what my tax dollars pay for???? And notice all the positive comments are by STUDENTS that run a muck in school all day. Of course they love the shcool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

My son transfered from Pasco county during the winter break, and has had nothing but problems since arriving. He's already had several bully problems, and the staff seems to inept to get out of their own way. I am transferring him, and will just have to make the drive so my son can get an education in peace. This school is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

This school is awesome! I always have fun at this school but the rumors I've heard about it are horrible. I've heard that theree are fights every day and that is not true. Most of them are over stupid stuff too. This school is known for tough people (fights), but most of us are good students. Some of the teachers are really strict , that's their job! They have to teach us dicsipline or we will grow up to be useless.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

I am a student at jennings middle school.I dont agree with some of the other parents, jennings is pretty cool.Like all the teachers send home progress reports at least every month.I think this school is awesome!!Some teachers are a great support on whats happening in life. (Ms. Diaz and Mrs. Ferrel)The only thing I do have a problem with is the rest rooms people (as in students) dont take a good care of them...The janitors are good hard working people (Paco!) but how can they clean after so many people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

this school has some great opportunities. and I have grown to love it. I am a 8th grader at this school now, I will definitely miss it. the school year is coming to an end, I feel as though this school is being portrayed as a ''MAD HOUSE''. and honestly its not. yes we have our days, our fights, our ''DISRUPTIONS'', But what school dosen't? you tell me because, at any school that I have been too there was always at least, one problem. no school is perfect and, this school is far from perfect. but at the end of the year you can ask any student there, they had a wonderful time. and there are wonderful memories also. well take this from my stand point ''the student'' it is not as bad as it seems. all we want is some attention.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2007

This is a pretty good school and the principal is great and so is the other staff at Jennings
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 16, 2005

In general, I have not seen a great deal of parental involvement in this school. Moreover, I have been disappointed with administrative functions (make sure you review your child's schedule - they scheduled my child to take a class he/she had already taken).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
21%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

268 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 23%
Hispanic 25% 29%
White 25% 42%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Joann Johnson
Fax number
  • (813) 740-4579

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8799 Williams Rd
Seffner, FL 33584
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 740-4575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Florida College Academy
Temple Terrace, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT