Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bauder Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 781 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2013

We come from CT and we are so happy with Bauder! their open classrooms are new to us and my daughter loves it! The teachers are amazing and not only love what they do but they do it well! I highly recommend this school to any one who wants their child to get an incredible start to their long years of education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

The school has completely gone down hill with the new principal. My son has been bullied for two years there and it took me going to the board to get the problem resolved. Teachers used to be enthusiastic about teaching and now they don't care. The teachers try but there are major problems with the administration. I had one son go there for 3 years and my youngest son has been there for four years. Can't wait to move to get my son out of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

Our son is going into 4th grade and after 5 years at Bauder, I can't say enough good things about the teachers, staff and administration. They work hard to give each student exactly what they need from those who need additional help and support to those who need an extra challenge. The level of communication between school and home is really exceptional. With daily in-classroom notes from the teachers, regular newsletters, calendars and notices, as well as online access to student data and frequent mass-phone messages from the Principal we always know what's going on. They are helping us create a life-long learner and our son truly enjoys going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

The attention given to each student is second to none. The teachers are wonderful and take the time to learn about each individual student and focus on their needs. The communication with the parents is excellent if you want to be involved. Daily behavior and scholastic updates are provided via a student journal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

Great teachers, they try hard to give your kids what they need. Horrible administration! Especially the assistant principal, it seems she has a tendency to give advise where advise should not be given. We pulled our kids out of this school this year and they are much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Bauder Elementary is dedicated to science and nature, through the efforts of science teacher Dale Jenrette. They've hosted my traveling astronomy/planetarium program twice, and hold an annual science fair for the students and their parents, with dinner and telescope viewings of the planets afterwards! Three cheers for Bauder!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Both my children attended Bauder (one throu 3rd & one thru 1st) we think it is a great school; the best in Pinellas county. The teaching staff is very personable and very excited to teach the children and to have parents help out when they are able. There is no grief given if you can only volunteer once a week, month or once in a while; they love parent involvement! Yes, most all academics seem to revolve around the FCAT, but that is the fault of the FL government not the school system; there is so much pressure on the schools to score well. My husband was a H.S. admin. in Pinellas county and it was all the district cared about (he didn t like it either). My daughter took the 3rd grade FCAT this past year and she and her classmates were nervous but all 3rd graders passed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

We just moved here from Ohio over the summer, so my 5th and 2nd grader just started this year. So far, we are extremely happy with this school. At first we were a little concerned about the open style classrooms, but the teachers are so great there, that my kids are doing great, even with the adjustment of our move. The teachers work closely with the parents, and they as well as the school, work together as a team with the parents and really allow parents to play an active role in the school. We couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

Music and art offered once a week for about an 45 minutes. Have several afterschool music programs but not sure if they will be available next year because the music teacher who has run the programs for years just retired. Parent involvement is outstanding. Volunteers put in 20 - 25 thousand hours total almost every year. Teachers are excellent, and the school scores well each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

I was surprised to read the comment made by the parent previously - and obviously disagree. Unfortunately, she is not that involved in her student's education because she got many 'facts' incorrect. Bauder has DOES have an arts program -with Music and Art classes held weekly and an opportunity for band/orchestra/choral classes as well. That is already MORE than the average elementary school, with music and art practically eliminated. The Physical Education classes DO have covered areas for play - two in fact (that are outside) and often use the Forum or Multipupose room for activities as well. As for a formal gymnasium, no, they do not - but is there an elementary school in Pinellas County WITH one?? Definitely not in Seminole. I have grown up in Seminole, attending Bauder myself, and cannot say how impressed I am with the staff there. Is there a stress on the FCAT? yes...but that's not the fault of the teachers, it is the state and federal government. The teachers work incredibly hard and long hours for minimal pay. They have huge hearts and only want the best for their students. Parents, remember...Bauder's area of speciality is Science. They have a great hands on education for their students, not to mention a science teacher with his PhD. So if a specific area of speciality (like arts/music) is extremely important to you, then remember...you now have a choice and can pick a different school. I would highly recommend Bauder to any family looking for a great school for their child.


Posted September 9, 2003

Bauder has little or no arts programs other than 30 minutes with a piece of yellowed newsprint. They spend so much time on the fcat, which they did not do well on this year because the kids are so bored or stressed at not being kids or having fun learning, that the entire curriculum is math and reading and both of my children have not had any social studies, history, geography or any other instruction to make the day non monotonous. The staff stresses the children beyond belief around fcat that my own have trouble sleeping for weeks. My oldest is now in fourth grade and only now is beginning to receive limited social studies and history instruction. There is no gymnasium or area out of the sun for sports or PE or even dramatic arts. My children both do well in school. Do they like going? Are they inspired by Bauder? Absolutely not! We have put in for the choice program to move my children to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%60%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top FCAT Scores for District 2007 (2007)
  • 90-90-90 Award for High Achievement (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40am
School end time
  • 2:40pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lisa A Bultmann
Fax number
  • (727) 547-4564

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • High parent involvement - over 22,000 volunteer hours logged last year
More from this school
  • Surrounded by Seminole Middle, Seminole High, and Sem. Vocational Experienced staff with little turn over Open space environment for 780 students
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Seminole Middle
Madeira Beach Middle
Largo Middle
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12755 86th Ave
Seminole, FL 33776
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 547-7829

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


LiFT Academy
Seminole, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT