Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seminole High School

Public | 9-12 | 2128 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

Since Dr. Brittain became principal a couple years ago, he has done an EXCELLENT job at improving this school...night and day since the previous principal. I have 2 daughters that go there and we are all thrilled with SHS. Dr. Brittain is an outstanding leader and we are fortunate to have him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

Seminole high School is a great school. My daughter used to go there and had a wonderful experience. The teachers are very helpful and care for the students. There is also after school tutoring offered by the teachers to help give students individual attention and get that one on one time with the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

Seminole High School is terrible! In this school students care less about there grades and more about who is dating who. Walking through these halls is no joy. There are people making out, fighting, and being loud. Judgement is a huge issue here. Sad to say, I have not met a real person at this school either. The people are fake, and intimidating each other all the time. Other than that everyone is talking about drama, or how terrible this school is, a teacher is, or there day. It is very negative, and unhealthy for everyone. From the faculty and other teachers you get to here there drama too. The faculty favorites there students also. And back to the students.. they put drugs in there lockers, girls kiss the mirrors with lipstick in the bathroom, etc. The school smells. Terrible. There is no spirit, every has there guards up at this school. And when your not there for the drama, you get to know about it through social networking sites. It's hard to see that the guys copy each other, and so do the girls. The lack of individuality is sad. For the cliques and friends, I recommend people outside of Seminole. Seminole is great for the college programs they offer, and there principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2010

This school is so good. I can't believe just how great it is. My child learned a lot in a few short years. If this school was a party, i would be joining it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

My daughter is currently atttending Seminole High School. It is by far the best high school in the southern part of Pinellas County. The principal and guidance are very dedicated and are constantly working to improve student performance. The teachers at SHS are top notch, particularly the math department. We consider ourselves truly blessed to have our daughter learning math from teachers of this callibur.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Seminole High School was named the 124th best high school in the country according to Newsweek Magazine this year (2009).It is an amazing school with a music program that is one of the tops in the nation. I have had 2 children graduate from this school and go on to college. The principal and teachers are always so proud to be there and the students know what an honor it is to attend this school. Community involvement is amazing also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I was a Student at Seminole for a Semester and Loved it! The Band program was awesome! I Was pulled out by my mother because she didn't think it has a good flow of population.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

I am an alumni of Seminole High School and would like to thank a few of the teachers there. The school overall was like any normal highschool, you have your trouble makers, and your cliques at any public school, but any young teenager looking to fit in somewhere, definately will at seminole high school, from a there show choir to band, to drama and math clubs, IB program as well as health academy. Mr. Maguire is the greatest Choir director ever, He cares for all his students and considers each and everyone as a child of his. I would reccomend Seminole High School to your teenager as a school of choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2008

I graduated from Seminole High School in the year 2007 and I must say the school is probably one of the top high schools in the state with the majority of teachers who actually care about your piece of mind and a principal who is constantly involved. I would recommend this school to any student. It was a great experience and because of this school I got excepted into a major university in Florida (University of South Florida in Tampa).
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

I am very confused about the parent who says she is never notified if her child misses classes at Seminole. My phone has a message on it the very same day that my son misses telling me he was not in school. That is an automated thing and if she is not getting the message, she needs to see who is erasing it. Students at Seminole High are expected to excel academically. If a student is disruptive to that, then the teachers are going to react. If you check the latest FCAT scores, you will see that Seminole far exceeds the state average in every category. Children who go to Seminole to learn are going to have a great experience and will leave there with a much greater chance to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

Overall, I believe this is a good school. There are some amazing teachers but there are others who care very little for the student. If you are placed in a class with a poor teacher, the administration will give you the run around and do little to nothing to resolve the problem. They are more concerned about protecting the teacher over the welfare of the student. If you find yourself in this situation, go directly to the School Board. Don't waste time trying to go throught the 'proper' channels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

My daughter has been going to school now for 2 years and is graduating this year. They still have not transferred her credits from her old school so we don't know what her GPA is. The counselors are slow at what they do and don't give the students correct information about what they need to take to get into college like 2 years of foreign language to get into a tech school. The programs are good and some of the teachers are good, but I'm not at all impressed with the school itself. They obviously do not enforce the dress code either as you have these girls walking around half dressed and boys with pants around their butts. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I think Seminole High is a great school. It is a safe school and the teachers care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

This school does not feel responsible for assisting the students or communicating with parents. They feel your child should be responsable for themself and if they have any issues there solution is to send them to Oak Park or Bayside. They are unwilling to help. If you have a well adjusted teen with no academic or social issues they will be okay at any school, but not at Seminole. If your child does not go to class they dont even call and let you know until they have missed 8 days or more. Again its not there job! It is up to your child to get help. Even when they are aware of issues they still don't do ANYTHING to help, its not there problem! As I was told there are many kids who would love to be here and if your child is struggling they dont want them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2005

As a gradute, I know I may be a little biased. BUt remember high school isn't always easy and I had my share of rough spots. I cannot rave enough about the colorguard/winterguard programs, the marching band and the art department. they have helped shape who I am today, a well adjusted reponsible soon- to be Graphic Design gradute. Any student would be lucky to have spent the time in these programs that I have.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2005

Seminole teachers truly care about the kids and the quality of their learning experience. Mr. Misenti is very involved with all students which is exceptional. The sports program is above the rest and the coaches are dedicated and excite the athletes they coach. Overall, Seminole is a very good experience for any high school student and affords a very well-rounded school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

Wonderful school: Large enough to offer choice classes, but not too large where your child would be 'lost.'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2005

I have served as a volunteer and board member of the PTSA since 1999. I have found the leadership and faculty to be of the utmost integrity and without a doubt, student achievement is their main concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

While this school has very solid academics and an excellent sports program, my daughter's experience there has been mostly negative, due to mostly to cliqueish, egotistical student body. You can't judge everyone obviously, but there is definitely some money in the school, which has developed several 'Mean Girl' type attitudes. My child has been witness to horrific fights and ridicule both to her and to other students. My son is going to another high school because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

I think is a good school . Some of the staff need updating on how to handle young adults. The student parking is dangerous, but all in all I am glad she is at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

563 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

526 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

526 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

491 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

509 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
72%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Hispanic 7%
Black 5%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 86%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%60%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. THOMAS J BRITTAIN
Fax number
  • (727) 547-7503

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8401 131st Street
Seminole, FL 33776
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 547-7536

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



LiFT Academy
Seminole, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT