Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Starkey Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 640 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

My grandson has been at Starkey ES since kindergarten. The teachers are caring and devoted, and it shows in the students' grades and enthusiasm. He is now attending third grade, and I look forward to good grades this year as well.


Posted August 22, 2013

Starkey is a warm caring environment for the kids to learn what they need to know at a comfortable pace, in safe and encouraging environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Starkey is a wonderful school. The Principal is hans on with the kids and parents. The teachers are caring and committed - the kids come first. My son has done so well at this school I would HIGHLY recommend this school to other parents. Love the uniforms and love the community invovlement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I am going to tell you why my children love Starkey ES. My children say Starkey is fun and they learn a lot. It has many activities that are educatioanl and activities that are community based. My children had the opportunity to attend other schools but were adamit about attending Starkey ES. I know my children are safe at Starkey and getting a good education. I like the feeling that the community is supportive of Starkey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

All three of my children have grown up at starkey elementary.. Two are still there.. One in 5th and one in Kindergarten.. My oldest daughter who is now in middle school went there since kindergarten as well and I must say it truly is a five star school... The teachers and everyone there is absolutely amazing.. I love this school and believe it is the best in pinellas county!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Starkey is the best kept secret in Pinellas County! What an awesome school- the staff is strong and committed to the families they serve. My child just finished 2nd grade at Starkey- we're blessed to be sending him onto 3rd grade with the same teacher! For us, Starkey is the ONLY school option. We love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I went to a neighboring elementary school growing up and I chose Starkey over the school I attended growing up. My son has been there for 3 years and has grown and developed by leaps and bounds. My two youngest children will also attend Starkey when they reach the age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Starkey is an excellent school. I have had 3 daughters and a brother that have gone to Starkey and they all performed exceptionally and were well prepared for middle school. The staff has always been professional and courteous. They offer many opportunities for parents to become involved in their kids' education. As a teacher myself, I would have my kids go to no other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Excellent school! Everyone staff member shows great concern and caring for every child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Starkey has given both of my children an excellent start at life. My son is in college and my daughter is in 5th grade there now. The teachers are caring, wonderful people who have always put the children first. The principal Mr. Mackenzie knows each child by name and always has an encouraging word for them. I could not ask for anything better. If you want a quality school then Starkey is it. Rated 'A' for a reason... its TOPS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I have a son in 2nd grade and I am very pleased with the progress he has had in this grade. I feel very confident that he is getting a great education at Starkey Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

The principal is highly involved with the children. He is always working with the kids, walking around the school, attending many of the school events. He and the staff are always working on making Starkey students their best! Starkey has had a high grade rating the last few years due to the efforts of their staff, administrators, and parents. I have 3 children at the school and I have never had a problem with one of their teachers. The teachers supply parents with their phone number and/ or email address for accessability. The teachers at Starkey are committed to the students and school. It is a wonderful school to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I am VERY happy with Starkey Elementary! I have a daughter who is in 2nd grade and son who will be starting kindergarten in August. I had the opportunity to volunteer quite alot when my daughter was in kindergarten...I found all the staff I encountered helpful and caring. I know that my children are well cared for and learning in fun and interesting ways when they are at school. I think this is an AWESOME school and thank God that my kids are in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Our twins are in the 5th grade and have had a fantastic experience during their 6 years at Starkey. Communications with the Principal and his awareness of everything going on at the school are tremendous. Starkey family involvement is also 'off the charts'. Numerous extracurriculars include Jogathon, concerts, band, fall carnival, auction, Battle of the Books, parades, etc. Starkey is an 'A' school and a 5-Star school that has outstanding academic programs that all parents should take the time to look into and understand. I cannot believe there is any better administration, teachers, or staff at any elementary school in Pinellas County. If my family could go back in time and do it all over again, we definitely would choose Starkey!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

I have had great issue with my childs Kindergarden teacher but I have founf the communication within the school itself to be non-existant. The Principal is not involved enough with the children and is not informed enough on what actually goes on in the school. The YMCA for the after school care is less then satisfying. The children are not supervised and are free to roam at there own free will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

I have one daughter 17 years old that graduated from Starkey and one 9 years old in 4th grade currently. Starkey has proven over the years to be the great foundation to academic success. Both of my girls were and are advanced due to the excellent love and support from Starkey staff. We have endured 10 years of illness with their father through the love and support of the staff the girls have managed to maintain emotional stability which is more important at this point than education. As for all schools forget FCAT it is a joke and does not reflect the students ability, it applies too much pressure on the student and wastes alot of valuable learning time. Back off and let the kids be kids. This is reflected in the scores of our 17 year old senior in high school, FCAT will backfire. Slow down and teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

I have to say my daughter must of had all the best teachers at starkey, she has learned so much and so fast. The principle also is wonderful he's good with the kids and better yet a very observant man. The only thing that could be better is the cleanliness, like the sidewalks and restrooms. All in all i am very happy my child goes to this school. Linda
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

This is a wonderful school. The teachers are always in contact with the parents. One teacher by the name of Mrs. Rosen does a wonderful job teaching the kindergarden class.My brothers attented Starkey. Mrs Rosen is patient kind and very into teaching the children. We need more of her to go around/ On a scale of 1-10 I rate Starkey above the scale. At the open house I was very impressed with the learning program and all of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 14%
Black 8%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%60%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AUDREY CHAFFIN
Fax number
  • (727) 545-7550

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9300 86th Avenue
Seminole, FL 33777
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 547-7841

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wellington School
Seminole, FL






Keswick Christian School
St. Petersburg, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT