Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Osceola Fundamental High School

Public | 9-12 | 1761 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter was there for the last semester of the 2012-13 school year and is now in her senior year. She is thriving there, and happy. Seminole was a HORRIBLE environment that did nothing to foster her drive, movitation to succeed, or education. I'm thrilled with Osceola, the teachers, the parent involvement that is required, the dress code, etc. It's the closest thing I've found to that "private school" environment that her and I were both accustomed to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

I really like the Fundamental program overall. We've been in it for 3 years (between Osceola and Clearwater Fundamental for middle school), and I think it really keeps the kids in line with expectations of responsible, and respectful behavior. Osceola High School is a friendly environment, good teachers (not great), and I feel very safe sending my daughter there. Considering she is a top straight A student, she is not challenged as much as she could be. Teachers stick with typical curriculum and don't think outside the norm, and do not require the kids to as much as I'd like. That said, not sure what school would do that outside St. Pete Collegiate High School which is a much more challenging program and not the usual high school experience. Osceola used to have good drama, but unless they make some changes, it will not be good in the future. The principal is average, nothing special, and I'm not impressed. Other than that - no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

OFHS is much better than other area schools. There are an abundance of great teachers in all subject areas and the coursework is challenging, but fair most of the time. Plenty of AP courses are offered. There are pretty much no disciplinary problems whatsoever. It is a very safe environment, and welcoming for the most part as well. The only aspect keeping it from being a 5 star, excellent school is administration. The principal cares, but isn't as strong a leader as is needed. The assistant principals are rude occasionally and aren't consistent with disciplinary measures-they pick favorites. The guidance counselors are the worst of the staff. They don't seem to care and have lost all passion for their jobs. They constantly miss deadlines, don't respond to meeting requests, and get frustrated at any requests. Almost every office staff member gets constantly irritated with students and is unnecessarily rude. For reference, I am a 4.0 unweighted/4.7weighted GPA student who has attended for 4 years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2010

It is the only Fundamental high school in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

Yes this school is fundemental, but it does not prepare the students for life after the 'fundemental experience'. As a dual enrolled student (meaning instead of taking all four classes at Osceola, I take two and the other two are actual college classes at SPC), this school is the complete opposite of college. The teachers can't teach i ntheir own way due to the guidelines. The principal does not care one bit about the students. Yes, when the parents are there, she is a great and caring person. However, once they leave, she is stuck in her office, does not handle disciplinary problems or anything. I was talking to her once, asking a question, and she just up and walked away in the middle of my sentence without a word. There are awesome teachers there, but literally, if you forget a pencil, that's a demerit. Homework not signed? There's another.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2009

As an alumni of Osceola I have mixed feelings about the quality of the school. I think it's an average school. The great teachers there are what make it anything but terrible. Osceola had some great educators, and I feel honored to be taught by some of them. However, i feel the fundamental program is not good. Sure it may make students do well on tests, it may even make the school seem like a good place. But it is not preparing students for the future. It teaches complete reliance on teachers and parents; telling students to never ever think for themselves. It's punishments are too harsh for minor transgressions (Missed a homework? One step to getting kicked out of school). And, it doesn't let teachers teach in their own style, imparting the knowledge students need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2009

The teachers are wonderful but extra curricular activities are poor. Communications to parents are about sports activites and little else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

This school is safe... to a fault. Grades are improving due to the fundamental program because the parents are essentially doing all the work. Students spend more time sitting around in class while teachers stamp homework and pass out demerits for not having pencils than they do actually learning. This school will not prepare your child for the real world, because it does not allow them to develop the independence and personal responsibility that is needed to survive alone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

OHS is a melting pot school filled with students from various areas of pinellas county and many with cultural backgrounds. With this there is going to be problems but in the end it is a better experience for the students because they learn how to deal and work with other students of different cultural backgrounds. The administration is the weak point of the high school unfortunatly. Although it has improved greatly with the new Principle most of the administrators are looking out for their own personal gains and not what is best for the school or the students. The sports programs are very well coached but the school, in the recent years has lost a lot of the athletes because it has become a fundamental school. OHS probably has one of the best high school football coaches in the state of Florida, George Palmer. Too bad he doesn't run the school!


Posted October 23, 2007

My child is in the fundamental program, not our choice but grandfathered in, figured it would be just as good as any and close to home. Alot of the students 'grandfathered' in do not care for some of the rules. As a parent I think it is a good school and will only get better. The feedback I get from my child is not that great about the teachers but its funny how they describe a teacher and then we meet them and we get a completely different impression. But some of the teachers left an expression on me that they are not interested in the fundamental program and they let some of the rules slide, which is okay by me as long as my child is learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

Unless your child is a honors student this school is not suited to help other students that may be lacking in learning. I have 2 children in this school. One has no problems, the other is a slow learner and they promise to help and never follow through. They will fall between the cracks unless you stay onto of things daily!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

I've had 5 children graduate from Osceola High School and each has had a good experience. All were honor's students; one earned the National Merit Finalist Scholarship during her time at Osceola. I appreciate that 'serious' students (and my kids were certainly not perfect) have AP opportunities. We have also enjoyed the many extra curricular activities. Since Osceola is a smaller high school, each of my kids was a'starter' in various sports. I am not sure that would have been the case at a larger school. Same was true for a son who tried drama as a junior. He had lead parts in his senior year. I do not like the current 4 X 4 schedule. I see much less homework and much more empty school time. Challenging coursework at Osceola permitted a solid college preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

It was always told that OHS was a quality experience. For myself, I believe that is true.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 22, 2005

Academic Programs at Osceola High are great they teach give one on one help and are truly concerned with the students achievenment. Art programs are great kids consider them extremely relaxing! The music programs are lacking a lot! The music teacher is not one to be complimented, while taking guitar my child was not taught or even spoken to on how to complete the work and lessons in this class. There should definietly be a new guitar and band teacher ... it would greatly benefit the school as well as the students! Parent involvement at Osceloa High is not very popular most parents are way to busy with other things and their jobs. They probably want to help but there is also not enough parent notification about when they could help with events and such.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

430 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

441 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

432 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

419 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

385 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Hispanic 8%
Black 5%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 96%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%60%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MICHAEL C BOHNET
Fax number
  • (727) 545-6412

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9751 98th Street North
Seminole, FL 33777
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 547-7717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Keswick Christian School
St. Petersburg, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT