Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

668 students|Okaloosa
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shalimar Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
Im grateful to Mr Williams for the opportunity to have learned with the amazing faculty and staff at Shalimar. I wish Mrs Mc Sparren the best as she takes over as Principal; she is going to do great things as well. Your child will thrive at Shalimar!

Shalimar Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
I was blessed to be a Title I Math aide for a year at Shalimar. I worked with Mrs Ryan, Mrs Goodwin, Mrs Gallaway, Mrs Barksdale, and Mrs Brown. They were all wonderful, caring teachers who provided their students with many different learning opportunities.


Shalimar Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
The teachers and staff care about your children! They are professionals and dedicated to learning themselves!

Shalimar Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a teacher
I can attest to the fact that the school counselor did not say the learning disability didn't matter. What was told to the parent was that our county does not recognize dyslexia for ESE services but that other avenues would be followed to allow for the best learning envirnoment for the student. Shalimar has excellent staff and students. Learning and student needs are a top priority at Shalimar.

Shalimar Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
We are a military family who transferred from North Carolina. I have never been so disappointed in a school program. My son is in the 3rd grade and unfortunately he suffers with dyslexia which makes academics difficult for him. The teachers and the counselors ONLY concern is the FCAT testing. They teach taking a test rather than actual learning skills. Then when your child has a hard time with the FCAT they fail them. I was actually told by the counselor my son's learning disability didn't matter. FCAT is what matters. I have a daughter graduating from college with honors, another in her 2nd year of college (Dean's list) and two in high school (one in AP classes the other in early college). We have been in four different states and never once have I had such a hard time with a school program. And yes, one of my daughters actually had a hard time in school with reading when she was younger. The school (Fort Meade) helped her not made her feel stupid. Now she is on the Dean's list at Medical College of Virginia. Amazing what a good school program can do.


Shalimar Elementary School 1

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
My son has attended kindegarten and is now in the middle of his 1st grade year at Shalimar. He test above average in every metric, an extremely smart child. Even still this year his 1st grade teacher is dreadful. She has no patience and is swift to give out zero's and F's to first graders without offering assistance. 1st graders as we all know are age 6-7 and very active. This teacher is unable to handle the class and very rude to the children, raises her voice and rarely smiles (which goes a long way with kids). Because of this I am pulling my son from her classroom and this school and enrolling him into a different school. I am heart broken that my child had to experience such awful teaching but we will overcome this.

Shalimar Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
The teachers, the parents and the administration make this school the best place to have my son for his education. Love this school!

Shalimar Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
I love Shalimar because it really operates more as a family than a school. We have wonderful parent support and our teacher's are dedicated to seeing each child succeed. I travel 45 minutes every morning and afternoon to have the honor of working here and I would not change it if I could. I love this school and it's people!


Shalimar Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers and support staff. Mrs. Lightborne is a wonderful teacher and both our kids liked the school. We have 1 now in the school and we are happy with his education.

Shalimar Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a teacher
Shalimar Elementary is an excellent place to grow and learn. Teachers are caring, inviting, and inspiring. Each one of them goes the extra mile to give a child what is needed. There is a family atmosphere. We take care of each other and call on the expertise of colleagues in a problem solving environment. Students love to come to school. They look forward to all the activities like Science Lab where hands on is the only way to fly and Computer Lab where they practice Essential Skills, Harcourt Math and FCAT Explorer besides preparing for special projects. There's also a parent based Art in Action program. Once a month a team of parents brings all classes to the Art room for a special lesson. Our art is displayed at the County Art Show and throughout our school. Our music department causes toes to tap, bells to ring and our hearts soar with the music developed there. Children perform on stage for the school and their parents in our annual Talent Show. Five of our students have gone on to the City Talent show competition. We love our Coach who also gets our hearts pounding with the Miler club, station activities, loads of smiles and hugs. Shalimar is a very warm place!

Nearby schools

Shalimar Elementary School
1350 Joe Martin Circle, Shalimar, FL  32579
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (850) 833-4339
Last modified Shalimar Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top