Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Daytona Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 799 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Great school, great communication and a pleasure to be at. I was so happy with the school when my two girls went there, that I applied for a position in the office. Go Dragons!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2009

The dedication of the teachers and other staff is wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

All of the teachers, admin, and staff are very pleasant and helpful! GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

I actually moved out of the whole school district. I seen too many kids including my own going thru school not learning anything. they believe they are a daycare and the parents are supposed to be the teachers. But dont speak your mind they are a very tight click.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

This is a great school with bright teachers and students


Posted October 31, 2007

One of the best schools in the area!! I keep hearing how over crowded the school is--that is far from true---great teachers--The building is Brand new--they have no portables!!...My son has gone there for 6 years-and my daughter 4 years now..I do miss Mr.Butler-----The only thing is I wish they had more extracurricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I am a current student at South Daytona Elementary School. I have been at this school for going on my eighth year by the end of fifth grade. I started the head start program a year early, not knowing that my birthday fell five days after the cut off date for kindergarten. Well, whatever! This school rocks! I highly recommend all the teachers I've had to anyone!! The school has changed a lot since head start. Remolding is in progress.There are three new 'wings' to the school, and the rest is being remolded. There will be NO portable classrooms on the campus by the end of the year. Teachers are great! Dr. Burhans is Great. And special area isn't so special to me, but I defiantly learn a lot!I wish they had sixth
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

My son went to this school for first and second grade. He was in the ESE program and his second grade teacher told us 3 days before school was out that she was not passing him to third grade. We pulled him out because he was going to have her for his second grade teacher again. When I called the new principal and left a message about my problem and asked for a return call, well lets just say 2 years later and I am still waiting on a return call! I am so glad we pulled him out because he is doing so much better at his new school. It is very inconvenient to have to deal with the transportation issue but his education is definitely worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

My son, now going into 5th grade, went to this school in 1st, 2nd, and the beginning of 4th grade. All the teachers he had were excellent and the school was great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

This was a good school for my sister when she attended. The only thing that I didn't like was that there were no musical instruments taught. They had chorus class, but that was the extent of their music instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Very overcrowded school, but it has great teachers. The buildings are also in need of updating. There is also a disipline problem at this school. The old principal was good and I am not sure about the new one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

Academics are average for state...not challenging enough for my child in grade 1, too much homework in lower grade levels without enough variation (for my child). Introductory music fun and interesting. Art program instilled creativity and interest. Sports was lacking in variety...focus was clearly on coordination and running; not enough facilities to account for inclement weather ie.all are outdoors (no gymnasium/auditorium) High level parent involvement utilized at this school. Not enough room for all the kids...lots of portables in use...the school will be under expansion construction this year, and a new principal will assume the lead of the school. Higher level of socioeconomically disadvantaged students attend school from local as well as commuted students for higher ethnic mix. Fast-food quality cafeteria menu; too many sweet treats during class time; unhealthy foods served for free breakfast for week of FCATs (donuts?!) Too much tv/video as media choice in classes such as physical education...nothing physical about a couch potato.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

School is overpopulated (set up for 600 and has about 1000 kids). Last count, there was about seven classes just for one grade, but classrooms were still crowded. Large class size makes it easy for child to get lost in the shuffle, especially if they need additional help. Asked for help every year that my son was there and it took a change of schools to make it happen. Even a PTA member of this school, said under the circumstances, changing schools was the best thing I could have done for my kids and now I know that is true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

This school is wonderful! It has quality teachers with music, art, and PE. The parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 8% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%56%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Carolyn Burhans
Fax number
  • (386) 756-7191

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Elizabeth Pl
South Daytona, FL 32119
Phone: (386) 756-7180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Warner Christian Academy
South Daytona, FL


The Chase Academy
Daytona Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT