Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Trail Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1479 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2008

So far so good. I just enrolled my son in this school in January. I feel that this is an excellent school. Great environment for students. The teachers are great and seem to really care about the students. Communication is the key. The students seem to all get along and the no fighting/bullying tolerance is Great. This should be enforced at all of our schools. Great Job Silver Trail
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

This middle have goten stricter. The New Homework policy, where they don't accept Zeros isn't so good. Why? Because basically If you don't do your homework you end up getting a pre-detention and if this contines on, you end up getting a detention and we all make mistake, However it could just be the teacher. The school doesn't seem safe to me, there still bad eggs out there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2007

This middle school should be the model for all others. The principal is excellent, the teachers really care,and parents are always welcome to participate. All students can excel in this school. There are programs for every interest and level of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

Overall, this school is excellent, starting with the principal's leadership and zero tolerance policy. Very safe environment. As with any school, some teachers are excellent, while others are just okay. This school does an excellent job with transitioning young children from elementary school and helping them become independent and responsible young adults. There will always be bad apples, but the majority of the kids are exemplary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Good School with excellent use of technology. However some students are not learning as much because the teachers cannot keep control of other students. This school has new and current textbooks available - 2 sets which is very convienient.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2006

Great schools. Principals care, teachers care, and it is a very safe environment. Highly reccomended.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2005

Efficient, professional staff, exceptional curriculum. Well organized and very safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2005

Very oraganized good school. Small class sizes. Very few disturbances, principal runs school well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 23, 2005

Silver Trail Middle School is an extremely good school, which balances just about every aspect your child deserevs to learn in a well-structured, clean, environment. Thanks to drastic changes made in the 04-05 year, Mr. Jones [who has since gone to work at Perry Middle], and the principal/staff cleaned up Silver Trail dramatically. Crime/fights have significantly lowered, test scores have improved, and the sense of pride and dignity you feel when you enter and leave 8th grade is great. Besides being an 'A' school, this school really makes you feel like home. The environment is clean, safe, and disciplines your child while allowing them to have a sense of freedom as well, to be open to new decisions and choices. The teacher's are great, and the school provides plenty of programs. The PTA is also extremely good. Overall, STMS is a safe, well-structured, 'A' school which your child will enjoy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2005

Very good school that emphasises discipline a lot! it is pretty hard to join the sports teams considering that there are so many students. Just a shout out to my teacher mr. Keough, who helped me with his cb's to get a perfect score on the reading fcat!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2005

Very disappointed ... pulled my son out and put him into a private school. No communication from teachers ... call on last day of grading period that he was failing, after I'd asked the teachers to communicate with me as a caring parent. Pretty environment, terrible academics. In the private school my son is now learning what he should have learned 3 years ago! Postive comment: band is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Two MAJOR changes at this school since 2004: 1)New principal 2)school population,decreased to 1600 students after a boundary change. 'Band Rules'here, starting in 6th grade. Several electives have disappeared, including Chorus. Currently students' only chance at Art is for 1/2 year in 7th grade. There are a good number of extracurriculars. The downside - lots of students try out for way too few slots. Many high-achieving students come here from the 3 feeder elementaries. Basic academics are pretty solid and school has some very hard-working teachers. But there is no advisory system and little staff guidance for most students. Parent involvement is given lip service, but input seems less welcome under current admin., and many phone calls aren't returned. Written communications TO parents has started to improve. Building is one-story, eliminating stairway-type discipline problems. Overall security is good. No lockers and no rolling backpacks mean students carry heavy loads daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

Good school...To overcrowed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

I'm very impressed with this school, it just seems to be getting better and better. There is a new principle now, he seems very promising according to his reputation. I am very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

6th graders have to be in portables. School is overcrowded and now will send a large part of the students to another old school which consists of portable only. I am very unhappy because I made a decision to move to an area that belongs to Silver Trails and they failed to tell me that my son would have to go to the OO Middle for the following year. On another hand, I have never seen a school before that lacks on physical education and sports. I am still not sure about what is the objective/mission of this school. They seem too concerned about FCAT and not concerned about education and improving the level of learning at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

My daughter has been attending Silver Trail since 6th grade. She is now in 8th grade, she belongs to the Junior Honor Society, has a grade average of 3.89, and her and I love Silver Trail! She attended very expensive private schools from kindergarten to 5th grade and there is no doubt in my mind that Silver Trail is far superior than any of the private schools that she attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

My son just started 6th grade, I was very worried about the transition into middle school. He has Tourette Syndrome and I was worried that the kids would be picking on him alot. He hasn't complained at all about problems with the kids. The staff has been great, he's in the GEM math class and doing really well. He got a's and b's on his first report care and has lots of friends. He really likes it there, he comes home in a good mood and when he talks about school, he sounds excited (he never admits to liking school at all). He loves his teachers and so do we, they are very caring and understanding and work to help and get to know the children. I was going to send him to private school, but I'm glad I didn't. He's doing great, we are happy and so are we. I would recommend this school to anyone thinking about moving into the area, and I was really concerned, I grew up in a small town with small schools but they manage to teach our children even with the unfortunate overcrowding we have (the price we pay to live here and I wouldn't live anywhere else!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

My child enjoys attending this school. Sure we would appreciate smaller class sizes but our over-populated community doesn't allow it. I think the FCAT scores reflect how well the teachers perform. We are an 'A' rated school. I'm a proud parent of a SilverTrail student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This is a fantastic school! My daughter is in the 8th grade and not only does she learn, she also has fun! I resent the below average grade the teachers recieved, how can you explain the above average scores on the FCAT this year and last year?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

My son attended Silver trail Middle school two years ago. For us as well as our son it was the worst school he has ever attended, in fact when it was time for High School, We decided to enroll our son in a private school, due to the quality and bad experience he had at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

460 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

519 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

353 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

493 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

490 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

490 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

537 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
White 32%
Black 12%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. STEPHEN FRAZIER
Fax number
  • (754) 323-4385

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18300 Sheridan Street
Southwest Ranches, FL 33331
Phone: (754) 323-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Academy B
Pembroke Pines, FL


Franklin Academy A
Pembroke Pines, FL


Montessori Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Apple Tree Montessori School
Southwest Ranches, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT